We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointed” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Peppers Clearwater Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Peppers Clearwater Resort
Ranked #20 of 148 Hotels in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Disappointed”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2012

Arrived to book in to find we had been "upgraded". Stayed in room 2023 which is very tired and in need of refurbishment. A lot of eat damage on the table and coffee cup marks everywhere. Soft furnishings are starting to show there age as well. Nothing that affects the function, it just takes the edge off the ambience.

We got settled in and decided to go for a walk at The Groynes an adjoining recreation area. Happened to meet up with a staff member in a golf cart and asked for directions. She insisted we jump in and she drop us off at the entrance. Lovely customer service like this was found through out except the restaurant.

We did book. We weren't warned beforehand about the large number of conference attendees who would also be dining. We arrived to find no table set ready for us, but were warmly welcomed and assisted with a menu. Then we felt like we had been totally forgotten. It must have been at least 30mins. Then the server appeared again with no apology or excuse at all. She assisted with a wine choice and explained a menu item. Once again a long wait ensued.

I had chosen a "Mediterranean Tian" and a very fancily named side of chips. What I got was a very small, but well dressed rocket salad, and a very small pile of par cooked and under cooked vegetables. I had to separate the uncooked onion as it was indelible, which comprised about 40% of the dish. The chips were just ordinary frozen, unseasoned chip.

When the dish was eventually collected I did mention that I was disappointed in the dish. The server later came back to say the chef was surprised at my disappointment. No suggestion of a change on the bill or an offer of another dish. A very poor dining experience overall. And now this is a part of my Christchurch story.

Room Tip: Ignore the pool and fitness centre review.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken H, Manager at Peppers Clearwater Resort, responded to this review, December 23, 2012
Kia ora

Thank you for taking the time in completing this review. All feedback is gracefully recieved as this enables us to review our operation and rectify any shortfalls that we have. The property was programmed for a refurbishment 16 months ago. Until such time that earth quake works are completed this program is now on hold. In terms of the issues you mentioned in the restaurant I apologise for these shortfallings and assure you the F&B manager is currently reviewing the operations in this area to see how best we can streamiline service here.
Once again thank you for your comments and wish you all the best for Christmas and the New Year.

Kind regards
Ken Harris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

534 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    202
    192
    84
    38
    18
See reviews for
79
293
14
101
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2012

Nice room although I must confess when I arrived I did find that trying to locate reception was tricky.. No trouble if I was a golfer the golf shop very well signed...the stairs are tricky if you have full suitcases as there is no help for bags, I wouldn't stay again, as the place was recommended as a "luxury" style accommodation , but really it wasn't close to anything and really didn't offer me anything Over and beyond a normal room... Even the lack of a dining experience, as they has some big function... Not sure about breakfasts, we didn't stay long enough to find out. I did expect more, my mistake.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Louise T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken H, Manager at Peppers Clearwater Resort, responded to this review, December 8, 2012
Kia ora

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback regarding your recent stay at Peppers Clearwater resort.
Your point regarding stair access is very valid. The location of our units "lake facing" requires the building platform to be raised.
We do provide assistance with luggage however in this case it is obvious this did not occur . Please accept my apology for this oversight.

Once again thank you for comments .

Kind regards
Ken Harris
General Manager
Peppers Clearwater.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2012

I have fallen in love with this place - stayed in Room 2020 on Saturday 1st December, arrived and was checked in professionally and quickly, as well as given a map to the room and asked if I would like to make a dinner reservation.

Arriving at the room, your actually in a terraced townhouse type building, with a garage beneath, great being able to park at your hotel room door. Everything was clean, nice to have a bath, with seperate shower, modern amenties, and a microwave/fridge/kettle. Flatscreen TV with multiple cable sport / movie options, as well as HDMI / VGA inputs if you bring your own PlayStation etc :-)

The only downsides to this resort, I found Telecom 3G Coverage poor to none at all, so had to resort to buying $40 (2x $20 500mb / 24hr) Wifi Cards (one for smartphone / one for laptop), where i'd normally setup a hotspot with my iphone. While Peppers arent responsible for cellular network coverage, I felt the wifi service laggy and at times slow - it was outsourced to SurfSpot however and payment directly to them, so they may not be aware at all of the issues.

Finally, ordered Room service, the in-room menu didnt match what the restaurant had on their systems, so was charged $27 for a steak sandwich, when I ordered a $23.50 Chicken Sandwich, had to read all the ingredients out to the restaurant from the menu, sometimes wish that restaurants would advise when things come with fries too, as I wouldn't have ordered a side bowl of fries with my sandwich if I was aware it came with them. It did take 30mins to arrive (at 9pm on a Saturday night), which I was advised, and food tasted fine however.

Probably would give this place an eight of ten, I have made a two night booking to return this coming weekend in the same lakeside view room, though am contemplating asking about paying for an upgrade to a suite or quay room.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mpayne84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken H, Manager at Peppers Clearwater Resort, responded to this review, December 8, 2012
Kia ora,

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay with us . Your comment in regards to wireless connectivity is certainy accurate . We are currently working towards the installation of a fibre optic solution which should solve this problem.



Regards
Ken Harris
General Manager
Peppers Clearwater Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

I arrived jetlagged and tired,badly in need of rest and sleep, well I got it all. I stayed in the 1 bed suites on the lake. it was quiet and peacefull. I enjoyed the spa bath on the en suite bathroom everyday. The deck is right on the water leading off the lounge and great for sundowners and relaxing.The suite is fully equiped with a kitchen and all amenities needed in the kitchen. The resort is a golf course so there is some noise mid morning with the golf course mowers doing there thing. There is the Christchurch airport just 10 mins away, this does present some noise although the sounds of all the bird life more than make up for it. The room service and its food was great. The resort does have a restaurant which was more than adequate. On the downside the internet was very slow and not much to talk about.

Room Tip: The suites on the lake with a deck are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ronaldlee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken H, Manager at Peppers Clearwater Resort, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Kia ora

Thankyou for your kind comments. We are very lucky to have a resort such as this that has endured its challenges as has the whole city over the last 24 months and still is able to offer this type of experience. Bird life, pristine trout filled lakes , it is a special place.


Kind Regards
Ken Harris
General Manager
Peppers Clearwater Resort
Christchurch.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

Stayed here as part of business conference - first time visitor to this resort/hotel. Did not get to enjoy all of the facilities but was impressed with everything we saw and certainly the conference facilities were more than adequate.

Rooms were fantastic - very comfortable bed and heat/aircon worked as needed. Very clean and spacious.

Service was friendly and checkout fast. Rate paid I thought was good value for facilities of this standard. Would definitely consider staying again as a couple or family if we were down this way.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kiwis4europe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken H, Manager at Peppers Clearwater Resort, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Kia ora

Your comments were well recieved by the entire team here and we are all pleased to hear that you were able to enjoy the faciltities and services Pepppers Clearwater has to offer.

Kind regards

Ken Harris
General Manager
Peppers Clearwater Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

We organised to have our wedding at Clearwater and definitely were not disappointed. We cannot fault this place, the staff, meals, rooms etc. This was a handy location for friends and family who travelled from out of town and a very relaxing atmosphere for those of us from Christchurch. The grounds were immaculate and service throughout the day and night were outstanding. Clearwater also have plenty of parking for all that travelled and enough rooms so that some guests who travelled could also choose to stay the night. We felt like royalty with staff checking to make sure we were all ok and didn't need anything else throughout the day. We cannot speak highly enough of this venue and staff. We will be returning at some point, maybe for our year anniversary? and will be telling others to stay/ have weddings/ conferences there as well. We have also had a lot of guests comment to us on what a fantastic venue /meal/ service etc we had and I couldn't agree more. Top marks.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tania A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken H, Manager at Peppers Clearwater Resort, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Kia ora,

Thank you for your kind comments and for allowing us to be apart of such a wonderful occassion we look foward to welcomng you back next year.

Kind Regards

Ken Harris
General Manager
Peppers Clearwater Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012

We stayed for two night in this hotel. Every thing is good in this place except- 1) rooms are quite far from main hotel and needs walking a good distance. 2) rooms are on first floor ( above garages) and not fit for senior citizen who are required to take luggage in room . 3) Hotel is far from city center and you will require taxi all the time. Even for coming out of hotel will require Taxi. This hotel is not suitable unless you are having car at your disposal,. However is a good place for GOLF

Room Tip: not a good place for tourists. If still staying without car then opt for room nearest to main hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank subhashbhargava
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken H, General Manager at Peppers Clearwater Resort, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Kia ora,

Thank you for your comments. You are quite correct; the resort is a flat level resort overlooking the surrounding lakes and golf course. With many units being lakeside, a raised building platform is necessary. These are architecturally designed to give great views. Having said this, your comments regarding stair access is valid and this needs to be considered when rooms are allocated. Our team are happy to arrange transfers between the main building and all rooms as required.

The hotel is located 14 minutes from the current city centre and 7 minutes from the airport. Taxi services are available and can be arranged on request.

We greatly appreciate your time in sharing your comments.

Regards
Ken Harris
General Manager
Peppers Clearwater Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
6.1 mi away
Heritage Christchurch
Heritage Christchurch
#7 of 148 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 604 reviews
5.6 mi away
The George Christchurch
The George Christchurch
#6 of 148 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,234 reviews
5.5 mi away
Chateau on the Park - Christchurch, a DoubleTree by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square Hotel
4.0 mi away
Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch
6.1 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
#14 of 148 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peppers Clearwater Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peppers Clearwater Resort

Property: Peppers Clearwater Resort
Address: Clearwater Ave., Harewood, Christchurch 8005, New Zealand (Formerly Outrigger Clearwater Resort)
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Christchurch
#16 Luxury Hotel in Christchurch
#28 Family Hotel in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Peppers Clearwater Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only 7 minutes from Christchurch airport, Peppers Clearwater Resort is the perfect place to gaze out over the surrounding lakes and the mountains standing tall in the background. Accommodation includes hotel rooms, suites and apartments with all the amenities expected of Peppers, while on-site activities include tennis, fly fishing, a game of golf on the championship PGA course, and walking/jogging tracks. Enjoy uncomplicated and flavoursome food prepared with passion by the award winning team at The Lake Restaurant, overlooking the lake and fairway. Dinner bookings until 9pm daily. All rooms have wireless internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, HotelsClick, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your Peppers Clearwater Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peppers Clearwater Hotel Christchurch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing