We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Beautiful resort in christchurch”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Peppers Clearwater Resort
Ranked #17 of 146 Hotels in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 6, 2012

I stayed here for one night and thought its a great bet considering most of the city center hotels are not operational at all. I had a chance to meet Andrew for a bit and the hospitality offered was fantastic. I agree that without a car it might be a bit of a hurdle to get around but very well worth if you're on self drive. Surely would return.

Room Tip: Lake side villa
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pritish27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andrewmfreak, Manager at Peppers Clearwater Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2012

Kia ora Pritish,

Thank you so much for your kind feedback, and it was lovely to meet you albeit briefly.

We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay at Peppers Clearwater Resort and I'm sure you are having a fantastic time across New Zealand right now!

It would be great to have you back again in the near future, perhaps with a little less 'work' and more time to really soak in the unique excitement and adventure that New Zealand offers.

Thank you so much for your review, and we look forward to seeing you again one day!

Regards,

Andrew M Freak
Operations Manager
Peppers Clearwater Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (686)
There are newer reviews for Peppers Clearwater Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

611 - 617 of 686 reviews

Reviewed May 5, 2012 via mobile

Wonderful spot you have there, on the night we stayed however we could not order meals at the bar when we arrived at 6.10pm and the restaurant was booked out on a Monday night!! The man behind the bar was quite rude to our group and when we asked a young waitress if we could order something from the restaurant menu and eat in the bar the restaurant manager rolled her eyes as she was being asked !!

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Goldelitex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andrewmfreak, Manager at Peppers Clearwater Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2012

Kia ora Goldelitex,

We appreciate you contacting Trip Advisor to provide feedback about your recent experience at Peppers Clearwater Resort.

Naturally I am bitterly disappointed to hear that we did not provide you with a more warm and genuine customer service experience. I would certainly welcome the opportunity to speak with you about this further. This is by no means typical of what Peppers Clearwater Resort is reknowned for and we will be addressing this feedback with our team as a matter of urgency.

We'd love to welcome you back again, and show you an improved dining experience at The Lakes Restaurant.

Our most sincere regards,

Andrew M Freak
Operations Manager
Peppers Clearwater Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2012

We were booked in here by our travel agent for 2 nights before joining a bus tour starting in christchurch. We arrived after midnight - fairly short taxi ride from the airport - and the man on duty at reception was very helpful. The room was lovely - very nicely furnished with a huge and very comfortable bed. A door opened out onto the veranda by the lake which was beautiful but there was no furniture to use out there which was disappointing as it was a beautiful day. It is quite a distance from the city and we did not have a car so were a bit isolated but we had a walk and found our way to Willowbank Wildlife Centre which took about 45 minutes (part of the way alongside a very busy road) where we spent an enjoyable few hours. Breakfast was lovely - so good to have it cooked to order rather than buffet style. We were excited to see a few All Blacks having breakfast at the next table - a lovely start to our holiday in New Zealand. The waitress at breakfast (both mornings)was absolutely lovely - pity the barman on duty in the evening wasn't quite so pleasant. We enjoyed our short stay at Peppers , it gave us a chance to recharge our batteries after 6 weeks of travelling and to catch up with the laundry, but it was long enough without transport.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AvrilScottishBorders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andrewmfreak, Manager at Peppers Clearwater Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2012

Kia ora AvrilScottishBorders,

Thank you for your very kind review of Peppers Clearwater Resort. We're the first to admit, we are quite spread out and a car is certainly beneficial when staying at our resort.

We're very happy to hear you enjoyed your room, and had such an enjoyable breakfast experience. What a nice treat to have some of the mighty All Blacks there to share the view with you!

It's great to hear you got the recharge you were hoping for and certainly, we'd love to see you again at Peppers Clearwater Resort in the future!

Safe travels,

Andrew M Freak
Operations Manager
Peppers Clearwater Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2012

Agreed, it is a nice location and hotel. Parking lots could be better maintained as well as the stairs towards the hotel room. Why than terrible rating? Well, the staff is very rude and not flexible when dealing with clients. I never stay in a Peppers again - they should act according to their own slogan 'it's all about service'. Well, it isn't: it's all about money.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andrewmfreak, Manager at Peppers Clearwater Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 23, 2012

Kia ora Mr Pieters,

We appreciate you taking the time to comment on your recent stay at Peppers Clearwater Resort.

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the overall location and feel of our resort.

I regret to hear your comments regarding your service experience, and I certainly welcome you to contact me further to discuss these concerns in more depth.

Regards,
Andrew M Freak
Operations Manager
Peppers Clearwater Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2012

The hotel is set on golf course near airport. The rooms/apartment was facing lake and had plenty of space . We chilled out after flight the food was good quality if a bit expensive. Breakfast was good and set us up for driving south.
We didn't go into Christchurch itself as it just felt as if we were being ghoulish. The warnings in room what to do in earthquake were a salutary reminder.

Room Tip: A lakeside view is a must.
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Old60timer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andrewmfreak, Manager at Peppers Clearwater Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2012

Kia ora Old60timer (I hope you don't mind me using that name),

Sincere thanks to you for writing such a kind review on our profile page.
We are extremely pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time at Peppers Clearwater Resort.
We certainly hope you can take a touch longer to explore our property a bit more on another opportunity.
We'd appreciate the chance to welcome you back!

Many thanks,

Andrew M Freak
Operations Manager
Peppers Clearwater Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2012

We checked into this hotel after a 32 hour flight from the uk allthough we arrived early the room was ready it was spacious comfortable and in a very peacefull area .I was ideal for relaxing ready for are trip around the south island it was easy to find from the airport and took about twenty minutes.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SolihullMarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andrewmfreak, Manager at Peppers Clearwater Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2012

Kia ora SolihullMarie,

Thank you so much for posting your very kind review! We are ecstatic you found Peppers Clearwater Resort to be the peaceful, relaxing setting you were looking for.

We hope to see you again soon,

Warm regards,

Andrew M Freak
Operations Manager
Peppers Clearwater Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2011

Great hotel in lovely surroundings - with many Christchurch hotels currently closed this would have to be one of the best.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WigglesChristchurch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andrewmfreak, Manager at Peppers Clearwater Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 29, 2011

Kia ora WigglesChristchurch,

Thank you so much for your lovely review of our property! We are glad you had such an enjoyable time at Peppers Clearwater Resort, and really look forward to seeing you again soon!

Warmest regards,

Andrew M Freak
Operations Manager
Peppers Clearwater Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
6.1 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
#12 of 146 in Christchurch
1,894 reviews
5.5 mi away
Chateau on the Park - Christchurch, a DoubleTree by Hilton
6.1 mi away
Heritage Christchurch
Heritage Christchurch
#7 of 146 in Christchurch
653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
The George Christchurch
The George Christchurch
#6 of 146 in Christchurch
1,344 reviews
4.9 mi away
Merivale Manor
Merivale Manor
#2 of 146 in Christchurch
634 reviews
6.1 mi away
Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peppers Clearwater Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peppers Clearwater Resort

Address: Clearwater Ave., Harewood, Christchurch 8005, New Zealand (Formerly Outrigger Clearwater Resort)
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Christchurch
#13 Luxury Hotel in Christchurch
#28 Family Hotel in Christchurch
Price Range: $107 - $270 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Peppers Clearwater Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only 7 minutes from Christchurch airport, Peppers Clearwater Resort is the perfect place to gaze out over the surrounding lakes and the mountains standing tall in the background. Accommodation includes hotel rooms, suites and apartments with all the amenities expected of Peppers, while on-site activities include tennis, fly fishing, a game of golf on the championship PGA course, and walking/jogging tracks. Enjoy uncomplicated and flavoursome food prepared with passion by the award winning team at The Lake Restaurant, overlooking the lake and fairway. Dinner bookings until 9pm daily. All rooms have wireless internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Peppers Clearwater Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peppers Clearwater Hotel Christchurch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing