We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good value but could be friendlier”
Review of Quality Hotel Elms

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Quality Hotel Elms
Ranked #31 of 144 Hotels in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Dunedin, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“good value but could be friendlier”
Reviewed October 18, 2010

Nice setting, set back from the road so reasonably quiet. Clean room, beds a little saggy but o.k. We got a very cheap room rate so were happy with what we got for the price.
Reception staff were very frosty did not make us feel welcome, more like a bother to be there really. Good location for airport and city centre if you have a car.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rdg5840
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    125
    54
    12
    7
See reviews for
43
89
16
62
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sibu, Malaysia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2010

this place reminds me so much of home. quiet, and friendly. it is located around 15min drives from christchurch international airport and and 10min drives to the city centre. it is very close to a big shopping mall and also, a smaller mall (merivale mall). its all within walking distance. i wont recommend it to anyone who wish to stay in town area but its a perfect for tourist who travels by own car. they do offer free car park for all the traveler. the room is clean and odorless as they dont allow smoking in their rooms. you should also try their restaurant breakfast. i love their scrambled eggs. best scramble egg i ever tasted.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bobjrjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greater London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2007

Stayed for one night as part of a Travelsphere tour in late November this year. Its about a five to ten minute bus ride from the centre of Christchurch. The rooms are clean but the location very quiet. The beds were Ok, I managed to sleep.
The restaurant is the main talking point however. There was excellent and very poor involved. The excellence was the superb food they served up. It was the best food I enjoyed on the holiday. However the restaurant was mostly empty. The reason was the 'pushy' restaurant manageress who bullied her staff (like Basil Fawlty). I ordered a bottle of wine and this manageress commented that she thought the wine was rubbish. This was very unprofessional. She also persuaded staff not to tip of the credit card but in cash. Then she pocketed all the tips herself rather than pass them onto the staff who deserved it. The hotel and restaurant were very good but not attraction customers, possible because of this individual. Suggest maybe the hotel manager considers this as the food in the restaurant is really excellent.

  • Liked — The comfort of the rooms
  • Disliked — The overbossy restaurant manageress.
  • Stayed November 2007
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JEFF H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, NZ
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2007

The hotel is nothing really outstanding but a good choice for those with a car as it's about 3km out of the city. However, it's close to the Merivale Shops and a large mall - both within walking distance. Rooms are fairly standard, but spacious and comfortable. Only one odd thing on arrival, we were given the incorrect room type. When we brought this up, the receptionist complained to us by saying "I have to work till 11pm, you know". As it was their error, wouldn't she have been better to just apologise?

  • Liked — View of alps
  • Disliked — surly receptionist
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wekiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2007

Although a bit out of town ( but Christchurch is so small and free of traffic jams that it's no real problem if you have a car), this was a quiet comfortable spotless hotel room where we happily stayed 3 nights and used the laundry facilities as well!

  • Stayed December 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Herculine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Plata, Maryland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2007

The hotel is a little far from the city center so you will need a car or a taxi to get there. They offered a free shuttle to the casino but we never used it. We had a car so the location was OK for us and it was an easy drive to the airport - a bonus.

The rooms were clean and the food in the restaraunt was good. The pillows were nice and fluffy! The double bed was a little small for two adults. A trash truck woke up up at 5:30 AM but I am a light sleeper.

We stayed for two nights and we'd stay there again.

  • Liked — The price
  • Disliked — It was a little farther from the City Center than I would have liked to have stayed
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank imakebeer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed April 8, 2005

This hotel is convenient to the airport, and a ten minute drive into town. Has parking just outside the door in their own lot. The entire hotel is non-smoking, although there are smoking areas outside. The beds in our room were VERY soft, too much so. The room was clean and spacious, ditto for the bathroom. There are several restaurants nearby to walk to if you don't want to drive into town. Not a fancy place, but clean, quiet and just a short drive or bus trip to the center of town.

  • Stayed March 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
1.4 mi away
Merivale Manor
Merivale Manor
#3 of 144 in Christchurch
612 reviews
3.2 mi away
Sudima Hotel Christchurch Airport
2.6 mi away
Ibis Christchurch
Ibis Christchurch
#36 of 144 in Christchurch
903 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Chateau on the Park - Christchurch, a DoubleTree by Hilton
2.6 mi away
Hotel 115 Christchurch
Hotel 115 Christchurch
#40 of 144 in Christchurch
369 reviews
1.6 mi away
Pavilions Hotel
Pavilions Hotel
#15 of 144 in Christchurch
589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Hotel Elms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Hotel Elms

Property: Quality Hotel Elms
Address: 456 Papanui Rd, Christchurch 8005, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#23 Luxury Hotel in Christchurch
#27 Business Hotel in Christchurch
#39 Family Hotel in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Quality Hotel Elms 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
FREE AIRPORT SHUTTLE SERVICE AND CBD DROP OFF AND PICK UPS 8am -5pm daily!! The Recently refurbished Quality Hotel Elms features unlimited free WiFi and easy access to Northlands Mall, which offers 150 shops, 2 supermarkets, a food court and cinemas. This Christchurch, New Zealand hotel is also convenient to Canterbury Museum, Horncastle Arena, Canterbury University and AMI Stadium. Guests of the Quality Hotel Elms are invited to grab a drink or a bite to eat at Sapporo Gold Restaurant and Bar, which is conveniently located on-site. There are 3 meeting rooms, with the hotel able to accommodate 250 people for banquets and conferences. All guest rooms offer a flat-screen television with cable, refrigerator, alarm clock, iron and ironing board. Some rooms feature a microwave. This is a non-smoking hotel. Guests have access to coin-operated laundry facilities and coin-operated internet kiosk. Quality Hotel Elms is within 10 minutes' drive of Christchurch Casino and Hagley Park. Christchurch Airport is 11 minutes' drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quality Hotel Elms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elms Hotel Christchurch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing