We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very clean but sterile and out of the way”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Old Countryhouse
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 18, 2007

There's a lot of pluses with this place: it's EXCEPTIONALLY clean, the cleanest place I stayed in, it's got fantastic security, and the staff is nice and friendly. But for some reason, I hated it. It was sterile, the list of rules goes on forever, and it's a good distance from the center of town. They are also a little inflexible about check in times - the trains have been running late from Picton, and I was told if I didn't get there by 8pm, I was out of luck. This is weird in a backpackers - I mean, it's a late train. Would 15 mins kill anyone? The neighborhood feels slightly dodgy, too. It's warm in the winter I'm sure, but it was COLD in my room, freezing, since they don't turn the heat on until it drops way down. I shivered all night (although the bed was comfy) even with extra blankets. Not a cozy place, but if you're looking for clean.....

  • Stayed: January 2007, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank austenlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (215)
There are newer reviews for The Old Countryhouse
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

196 - 202 of 215 reviews

Reviewed May 15, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: May 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Sturmmeise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: キッチン、景色、ガーデンが最高
  • Stayed: August 2016, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank moana0819
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheOldCountryhouse, Manager at The Old Countryhouse, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2016

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2016, traveled solo
Thank Gerd v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheOldCountryhouse, Manager at The Old Countryhouse, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2016

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: March 2016, traveled solo
Thank Tim T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheOldCountryhouse, Manager at The Old Countryhouse, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2016
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2015 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2015, traveled solo
Thank Gebriel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Simon K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.9 mi away
BreakFree on Cashel
BreakFree on Cashel
#24 of 146 in Christchurch
1,911 reviews
2.3 mi away
Jailhouse Accommodation
Jailhouse Accommodation
#2 of 105 in Christchurch
494 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kiwi House
Kiwi House
#30 of 105 in Christchurch
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
YHA Christchurch
YHA Christchurch
#4 of 105 in Christchurch
201 reviews
0.5 mi away
Around the World Backpackers
Around the World Backpackers
#14 of 105 in Christchurch
115 reviews
1.5 mi away
Dorset House Backpackers
Dorset House Backpackers
#12 of 105 in Christchurch
231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Countryhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Countryhouse

Address: 437 Gloucester Street, Christchurch 8062, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 105 Specialty Lodging in Christchurch
Price Range: $23 - $66 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Old Countryhouse 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Well loved,upmarket and Multi Award Winning Backpackers Hostel in Christchurch. We welcome guests from all over the world since 1998. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Old Countryhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Countryhouse Hotel Christchurch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing