We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Hostel I've every stayed in!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Old Countryhouse
Certificate of Excellence
Cork, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Best Hostel I've every stayed in!”
Reviewed October 30, 2009

I stayed here for 4 nights in August 2008 whilst on a mini round the world trip. It is easily the best hostel I've every stayed in, and that's been quite a few! I had Room 8, which was just gorgeous. The bathroom was huge, there was central heating and the bed was so comfy!! The place is spotless, the kitchen a dream. The staff were fantastic. Yes, it's about a 10-15 minutes walk from the centre of Christchurch, but you'll get over it for the comfort of the place. Absolutely fantastic.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IrishLouise12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    56
    26
    8
    8
See reviews for
14
62
84
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rotterdam
1 review
Reviewed July 12, 2009

Stayed here with my girlfriend at the end of december 2008. Staff were very helpful with our luggage problems (which Qantas lost somewhere in Sydney). Kitchen was cozy and clean, just watch your head with the hanging pots & pans! Room was basic but clean. The garden/veranda is a very nice place to chill out.

Like said here before, it is a 15 mins walk to the city center. There's a bus stop just across the street, and although there were 4 busses an hour, that doesn't help much when the 2 busses leave at almost the same time (so the busses went once about every 25 mins).

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Asphyxion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2007

Good hostel with good facilities. The kitchen was well equipped and the numerous bathrooms/showers/toilets were always spotless no matter what time of day. Realy comfy double bed with nice bedding in a small basic room. Bit far from the centre but the bus stops right outside (although at $2.50 a go it makes it's not that cheap). Lots of rules made us feel like we were on a school trip but i suppose that's how they keep it nice. Would recommend.

Stayed December 2007
Helpful?
Thank Lingheadcrumple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2007

Came here for one night but just couldn't leave. The people, the hostel, the lovely dog all contributed to this place being one of those where you just don't want to leave. The facilities are great and although we initially thought that the location isn't as great because it's a little out of the city centre, we soon changed our mind because of the shops and the bus stops being just over the road and the walk into town is pleasant enough too. Most enjoyed the central heating (it was toasty warm - not a given in NZ hostels!), the good beds and the laid back and relaxing atmosphere. Can't wait to come back next year. Cheers for creating such a homely hostel for us travellers.

  • Liked — The allround 'good feel' about it.
  • Disliked — Nothing, it's perfect
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank germanchap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Mexico
Level 3 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2007

There's a lot of pluses with this place: it's EXCEPTIONALLY clean, the cleanest place I stayed in, it's got fantastic security, and the staff is nice and friendly. But for some reason, I hated it. It was sterile, the list of rules goes on forever, and it's a good distance from the center of town. They are also a little inflexible about check in times - the trains have been running late from Picton, and I was told if I didn't get there by 8pm, I was out of luck. This is weird in a backpackers - I mean, it's a late train. Would 15 mins kill anyone? The neighborhood feels slightly dodgy, too. It's warm in the winter I'm sure, but it was COLD in my room, freezing, since they don't turn the heat on until it drops way down. I shivered all night (although the bed was comfy) even with extra blankets. Not a cozy place, but if you're looking for clean.....

  • Liked — So, so clean. Spotless.
  • Disliked — It was out of the way and chilly as all get out
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank austenlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.9 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
#13 of 144 in Christchurch
1,790 reviews
0.9 mi away
Quest Christchurch
Quest Christchurch
#15 of 144 in Christchurch
404 reviews
2.3 mi away
Jailhouse Accommodation
Jailhouse Accommodation
#2 of 105 in Christchurch
488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Dorset House Backpackers
Dorset House Backpackers
#10 of 105 in Christchurch
227 reviews
0.5 mi away
Around the World Backpackers
Around the World Backpackers
#15 of 105 in Christchurch
110 reviews
1.4 mi away
YHA Christchurch
YHA Christchurch
#6 of 105 in Christchurch
195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Countryhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Countryhouse

Property: The Old Countryhouse
Address: 437 Gloucester Street, Christchurch 8062, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 105 Specialty Lodging in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Old Countryhouse 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Well loved,upmarket and Multi Award Winning Backpackers Hostel in Christchurch. We welcome guests from all over the world since 1998. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, HostelWorld and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Old Countryhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Countryhouse Hotel Christchurch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing