We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost perfect!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Old Countryhouse
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 25, 2012

If you are looking for a cute and cozy place to stay, this is it! I would like to say that I loved this hostel!! Having stayed at many hostels after travelling all around NZ, I would rank this hostel at the top of my list.

Minus some slobs that don't pick up after themselves, the hostel was clean. If I had a problem, I went straight to the staff, and they were more than happy to help. The communal areas are always kept clean and fresh towels are laid out twice a day! They will have BBQs for the guests every once in a while, and the spa/sauna is such good quality. All of the furniture is handmade by the owner - very sturdy and the beds are comfortable - one of that cheap, metal crap that you feel is about to collapse when someone is climbing onto the top! The staff are knowledgeable about Chch, but you will need to be open minded about what Chch has to offer. This town is a great place to relax in and just enjoy the ride and do some different activities than the usual.

All in all I give this hostel a 4.5 (although not possible on here), because the only thing that is going against it, is being on the east side of the red zone. With that being said, it would be wise to keep in mind that there are not many other hostels that are much closer to the CBD, because of the earthquakes completely destroying the city center. The good news is that the red zone changes constantly. It has gotten so much smaller since May, and with Gloucester street now open (the same street the hostel is located on), it's easy to get to other parts of the city. I highly suggest you walk around the city at least once, because that's the best way to see all of the damage in the red zone for free! Don't like walking for 20-30 minutes? Ask the staff for a bus map or how to get to different areas from where you are. It's so easy, and will cost you next to nothing compared to other NZ bus systems - they would be more than happy to help!

I hope that your experience was as good as mine, because to find this little hostel was such a relief! :)

Oh! There is not a literal swimming pool, but there is one in the same area, practically across the street. If a spa/sauna is not your thing, there is something very close by! Cheers!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StearmanKiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (215)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

129 - 135 of 215 reviews

Reviewed December 24, 2012

I've spent almost 3,5 months in the Old Country House while I was working in Christchurch. Ridiculously clean and comfortable hostel with affable staff!
They have a spa and sauna, a grocery and Subway right across the street and a bus stop outside the front door,
You get what u pay for! Highly recommended!!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FledermausZand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2012 via mobile

Paid $90 for a double - the most expensive I've paid so far for a backpackers.

Pros:
Clean and spacious room.
Clean kitchen and bathroom
3 houses with slightly different function e.g one had tv lounge, the other kitchen
Suana and hot pool (small)

I must say what I was unhappy about was not so much the hostel but the people staying in the hostel. They were really noisy and inconsiderate. I had to go out and tell them to lower their volume which they didn't bother to. They didn bother to clean up the mess too. ( I probably met the same group of people as the previous reviewer)

However, I felt that the hostel could do more e.g by putting up notices to remind hostelites to lower down their volume between certain time. (which many hostels do)

Do not go for house 3, room 23 - everytime a person goes to the toilet u can hear the flush and even when that person is rolling toilet paper. The wall is that thin!

If you are looking for a party - yes. If you are looking for a good night sleep - no.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank luffygomomono
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheOldCountryhouse, Manager at The Old Countryhouse, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2016

Hi there,

We are sorry you did not enjoy your time with us, and encountered some inconsiderate guests during your stay with us.

We hope this did not taint your experience of Christchurch city.

Kind Regards

The Old Countryhouse team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2012

I stayed here for two nights in a 4-person dorm (which are co-ed). The room only had one power outlet which was underneath one of the bunkbeds, so we had to crawl over/move that person's bed to get to it, and rotate whose stuff was charging. The hostel is about a 20-30 minute walk to the non-demolition area of downtown, although there is a small grocery store, a bank and some shops, and a Subway restaurant across the street. The kitchen is fine, but the fridge was overflowing with food and smelled bad.

The first night I was there, there was a group of guys who were very, very rowdy. They were super drunk and playing loud music and games and pounding on the tables until well past quiet hours, and eventually ended up breaking a lot of glass somehow and someone got cut (we could hear this all from our rooms as we were trying to sleep). They kept shouting and singing well past midnight, and in the morning there were towels with blood on them in the bathroom. Obviously not the hostel staff's fault for bad patrons, but surely they heard the ruckus?

The next night was less eventful, but when I woke up really early (4am) to catch a cab to the airport, there was someone in the lounge watching porn with the volume turned all the way up. Definitely did not make me feel comfortable at all. Again, bad patrons aren't the hostel's fault, but it definitely influenced my trip. I would not go here again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TakeMeToTheWater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheOldCountryhouse, Manager at The Old Countryhouse, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2016

Hi there,

We are sorry you encountered some inconsiderate guests during your time with us. We are not a party hostel, and communicate with guests the they need to be respectful of others during their time here. However occasionally we can encouter guests who do not follow these rules, and we apologise that this was not the case for you.

We hope you still enjoyed your time in Christchurch.

Best Wishes

The Old Countryhouse Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

We stayed for two nights in a double room with shared bathroom for $99 a night. We arrived late at night when reception was closed. We had been provided with instructions on where to find the key and this worked out fine. The room was small and cold. Not much space to fit our suitcases so we had to climb over the bed everytime coming into and out of the room. The shared bathrooms and showers were clean and well kept. Similarly, the communal kitchen was kept clean. The hostel is located about a 30-35 min walk from the CBD in a residential area with not much around. The only place we could find to eat there was a Subway across the street. There's not much going on in the area.

We found the staff to be unhelpful and rude. They looked at us like we had two heads when we asked for a tourist map. Laughed at us when we asked how to get to the CBD and couldn't volunteer any info on what there was to do or see when we asked. When we were waiting at reception we overheard a conversation between reception and another guest. He had had $2 taken by the internet kiosk that wasn't working and was looking for a refund - no big deal you would think. The receptionist made out that it was his fault for using the kiosk in the first place and made a big deal out of giving him back $2!

The place isn't a dump but I'd be looking to stay somewhere else if I was back in Christchurch.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SF3415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2012

We were recommended to stay here and were delighted with the hostel and the service. We were delayed by several hours with our connecting flights and the staff were incredibly helpful and patient with us. They organised a shuttle bus from the airport for us to arrive late at night and we were very grateful to find a warm, clean room with a comfortable bed. We would have liked to stay longer and will definately come back.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank philMont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

This was my very first experience in a backpackers and I loved it. I was very apprehensive at first but this place is just an oasis of tranquility. The staff are super friendly and the hostel is impeccably clean. The georgeous dog Max was the added bonus to make me feel at home. Thanks a lot for a great stay.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Franzie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.9 mi away
BreakFree on Cashel
BreakFree on Cashel
#24 of 146 in Christchurch
1,969 reviews
1.1 mi away
Ibis Christchurch
Ibis Christchurch
#31 of 146 in Christchurch
938 reviews
0.9 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
#12 of 146 in Christchurch
1,949 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Jailhouse Accommodation
Jailhouse Accommodation
#2 of 107 in Christchurch
496 reviews
1.5 mi away
Dorset House Backpackers
Dorset House Backpackers
#10 of 107 in Christchurch
237 reviews
1.4 mi away
YHA Christchurch
YHA Christchurch
#5 of 107 in Christchurch
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Countryhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Countryhouse

Address: 437 Gloucester Street, Christchurch 8062, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 107 Specialty Lodging in Christchurch
Price Range: $17 - $65 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Old Countryhouse 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Well loved,upmarket and Multi Award Winning Backpackers Hostel in Christchurch. We welcome guests from all over the world since 1998. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Old Countryhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Countryhouse Hotel Christchurch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing