We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Meticulous - More like a Bed & Breakfast (minus the breakfast)”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Old Countryhouse
Certificate of Excellence
tallinn
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Meticulous - More like a Bed & Breakfast (minus the breakfast)”
Reviewed August 2, 2012

Stayed here on 2 occasions when passing thru Christchurch in July (before and after touring far south of S. Island). Ridiculously clean and comfortable hostel with affable staff. Its big - theres a courtyard and 3 different countryhouses to stay in all with their own kitchens and bathrooms. They have a spa and sauna which were the highlights for me as the S. Island was pretty cold when traveling there. Location is good - maybe like 20 minute walk to city and theres a grocery and Subway right across the street. Bus stop outside front door, although I had a car. It may cost a bit more than avg hostel in NZ but well worth it...you get what you pay for, and staying in smelly cramped dormitories gets old after a month on the NZ backpacker trail. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eesti_traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    56
    25
    8
    8
See reviews for
14
61
83
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2012

Reception staff lovely and very helpful. Walk to CBD is only 20mins, now more roads have opened straight through the red-zone makes it alot easier for access. There is a basic supermarket across the road, with a domino's, subway and chip shop.

The rooms are really homely, altho9ugh very basic, bed, doona, pillows, and two side tables. No bin etc. I was in House 3 and there were two dorm rooms and the 1 double. Everyone was friendly and never got too noisy. The room was clean, well heated and decorated.

The bathrooms were always clean and well stocked. I didn't venture into the hot tub/sauna, but it was well used every night even though freezing outside! Everything you neeeded in the kitchen was available, even the crockery was matching!

Room Tip: I had a double a room, at the back of the house off road, v. quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bec298
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeuwarden, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 10, 2012

I traveled for nine months and I've seen a lot of hostels. Mostly the beds were fine, but never that big, comfortable, clean and quiet as in this hostel. Mostly the kitchens were oke, but never that clean, well equipped and spacious as in this hostel. Some hostels had a pool and sauna, but never a pool and sauna like this hostel. Very luxury and for free!

The hostel consists out of three separate big wooden houses and they are full of very clean toilets and bathrooms. Nice lounges, free Wi-fi. Amazing big garden in between the houses. Makes you totally forget you're in a (destroyed) city. Also excellent travel-info and booking service of the friendly staff. It felt like 'home' and it makes you feel homesick when you leave.

Shorter version: The BEST hostel I've ever stayed at! :)

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hilde H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2012

booked an 8 person dorm, arrived to be told we had to split up 5 in one room 2 in another. when we returned home from our night out we came back to find someone sleeping in one of our beds when we told staff they said no refunds or compensation which was very rude and unproffessional, good facilities just bad service didnt get anything what we paid for.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank adam m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheOldCountryhouse, Manager at The Old Countryhouse, responded to this review, June 14, 2016
Hi there,

We are sorry you did not enjoy your experience with us, we do try to keep groups in the same room however in the busy seasons we can never fully guarantee.

We hope this did not affect your experience of Christchurch.

Kind Regards

The Old Countryhouse Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drammen, Norway
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2012

There is not so much to say about the hostel itself, everything was simple but good and it had a nice atmosphere. The staff is super helpful and friendly. They helped us to book a campervan on short term and informed us about the highlights of New Zealand. It was also great that we could buy used books there (you can also just borrow them) for a really good price. This hostel was the ideal start point for our New Zealand trip.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arns30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2012

This comfortable hostel really makes a backpacker feel at home with free wifi on arrival, comfortable beds, sauna/jacuzzi and well equipped kitchen.
Though the hostel is located a half hour walk from the city, you can hop on the bus!
The receptionists are really friendly and make you feel welcome upon arrival and the hostel is clearly well run - a very enjoyable stay!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Niamhyosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mainz, Germany
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 30, 2012

I loved this hostel because it is very clean, has a big garden and it was the first hostel with a spa pool AND sauna that was free to use for the guests.

The staff are all very friendly and helped me organize a car and pointed out some great places to see in the south island.

And then, there is Max, the gorgeous dog....

Thanks for a great stay, I will definitely recommend your hostel to all my friends.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarcF187393
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.9 mi away
BreakFree on Cashel
BreakFree on Cashel
#29 of 144 in Christchurch
1,497 reviews
0.9 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
#15 of 144 in Christchurch
1,663 reviews
2.3 mi away
Jailhouse Accommodation
Jailhouse Accommodation
#2 of 102 in Christchurch
482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Dorset House Backpackers
Dorset House Backpackers
#10 of 102 in Christchurch
220 reviews
1.4 mi away
YHA Christchurch
YHA Christchurch
#5 of 102 in Christchurch
184 reviews
0.5 mi away
Around the World Backpackers
Around the World Backpackers
#15 of 102 in Christchurch
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Countryhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Countryhouse

Property: The Old Countryhouse
Address: 437 Gloucester Street, Christchurch 8062, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 102 Specialty Lodging in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Old Countryhouse 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Well loved,upmarket and Multi Award Winning Backpackers Hostel in Christchurch. We welcome guests from all over the world since 1998. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline, HostelWorld, Agoda, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your The Old Countryhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Countryhouse Hotel Christchurch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing