We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Glad we only stayed one night” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Foley Towers

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Christchurch
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Foley Towers
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Glad we only stayed one night”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2013

The receptionist didn't believe me when I told her my address and was quite rude whilst checking us in. The kitchen was rather bare, one fridge for a lot of guests. The atmosphere was pretty disappointing. Very loud during the night and the room was a double but still quite small and with skinny curtains and a sliding glass door separating you from the outside world felt quite unsafe. Overall would not recommend this hostel.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lolcas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    37
    11
    6
    4
See reviews for
6
39
29
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Ipoh
Level Contributor
102 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

It was our first night in NZ. Staffs are friendly and helpful and the rooms are clean and tidy. Enjoy the shower time even during winter!

You can probably find some great stuffs at their free stuffs area at the backyard.
Very near to the library, 15 minutes walk to the super markets, but Subway just around the corner.

However, it was a cold night. The duvet wasn't thick enough and we don't really have a heater in the room. Else are good. We spent the night playing games and chit chatting with other backpackers in the common area and it was a good memory for my NZ journey.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bell N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

Long overdue review! Our first night in New Zealand and great start to our adventures! Greeted by a girl receptionist, long brown hair, sorry we didn't get her name. She has great taste in food and recommended us great places to eat. Thank you! And she is friendly as well! Overall our stay was pleasant and I love the big kitchen, a great way to meet other travellers!

Room Tip: Their dorms has only 3 beds so for those travelling in quads, this is a heads up! :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NoraSawyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
plo
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

we spend a night here, without sleeping, it was so noisy, party in the guarden until 2 on the morning, the hostel in close to the firemen and every time they leave they wake you up with the truck and the bell....
We try the kitchen and our feet get stuck on the floor because of the oil,and other food rest...
we had a double room, they are outdoor and if you need to go to the bathroom you have to cross the garden that is not so nice in winter

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank juju r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Foley T, Owner at Foley Towers, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Dear Juju r

I am so sorry to hear that you had such an unpleasant experience at Foley Towers last year in July 2012.

We care very much about both the quality of our guests' sleep and the cleanliness of all our facilities. Our kitchens are thoroughly cleaned twice a day and our managers do their very best to keep night time noise to a minimum.

We had a very difficult situation last winter with a group of long termers who were working in Christchurch helping with the re-build. Although from overseas they were not our typical guests and had little respect for the cleanliness or quiet at Foley Towers. We now limit the number of people staying and working in Christchurch.

We hope that should you come back to Christchurch you might try Foley Towers again and find it a good place to stay.

Kind regards,
Janet Foley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Figeac, France
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

I stayed 1 night in a 3 bed rooms at Foley on a Saturday night. The room was big enough and the bedding was great with really comfortable beds. However, there were no light bulbs in the showers, so it was really hard to shower at night. Kitchen was ok but a bit small. Unless you speak german, it's hard to talk to anyone, perhaps I was just unlucky...

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex231187
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

This hostel has several buildings around a garden. What is great to relax, having dinner or do a barbecue. The rooms were fine, a little too dark, but clean. The only downside is that many of the rooms (not all) open onto the garden and you have to go outside to use the bathroom. The two kitchens and two living rooms don't look like a hotel, are very cozy and really make the place a home away from home. The owners and staff are very friendly and you can tell they enjoy what they do. Easy parking on the street and they have a private parking too. I recommend this place for either young backpackers and travelers over.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hoihe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lissewege, Belgium
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2013

friendly staff , calm environment and very nice garden.A pity that we couldn't visit Christchurch cathedral and several other old buildings but we understand this because of the earthquake of 2011.parking before the building.

Room Tip: book rooms at the opposite of the building and garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Erwin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.5 mi away
BreakFree on Cashel
BreakFree on Cashel
#29 of 148 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,392 reviews
0.9 mi away
Dorset House Backpackers
Dorset House Backpackers
#8 of 111 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
1.9 mi away
Jailhouse Accommodation
Jailhouse Accommodation
#2 of 111 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
All Stars Inn on Bealey
All Stars Inn on Bealey
#10 of 111 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
0.9 mi away
YHA Christchurch Rolleston House
YHA Christchurch Rolleston House
#23 of 111 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
0.8 mi away
YHA Christchurch
YHA Christchurch
#5 of 111 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Foley Towers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Foley Towers

Property: Foley Towers
Address: 208 Kilmore St, Christchurch, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 111 Specialty Lodging in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
First try Foley Towers! Fabulously friendly, finest facilities and fantastic value for independent travellers - we just charge less. Gorgeous gardens. Underfloor heating, lashings of hot water, loads of space. Off-street parking and free luggage storage. Bunks in dorm rooms only. Free WiFi. Wonderful winter specials. No loud parties, no backpacker bus crowds or hard sell. Check in after 9pm by arrangement. You can usually extend your stay before 10am if you're too relaxed to move on. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Foley Towers Hotel Christchurch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing