We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent package of modern facilities, everyday room service, very helpful staff and a great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Colombo in the City
Ranked #13 of 146 Hotels in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 21, 2011

I am very happy with this accommodation: modern, very clean, a few minutes walk to Christchurch centre, no noise, everyday room service, fresh morning milk and newspaper, no hidden costs, free parking, helpful staff, definitely a higher end motel but very reasonably priced.
I found this accommodation when browsed tripadvisor.com and booked it with booking.com.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eugene_chelsea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (387)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

342 - 348 of 387 reviews

Reviewed January 12, 2011

Unfortunately only had time to stay here for one night but it was an excellent place to stay. We stayed in a 2-bedroom apartment, which was very comfortable and everything was in excellent condition. The location is very convenient, close to the city centre and good restaurants nearby. The managers were very friendly and helpful. They even put my washing through the hotel's commercial dryer when the guest dryer wouldn't do the job properly.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Borta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2011

My wife and I stayed here for one night in December, as we were down for my company christmas party. tidy room, although it was a bit small and the spa bath was also quite small but overall it was a great place to stay. walking distance to city centre and restaurants, stumbling distance back from bars and clubs...

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mathieu888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2010

It was a great stay, very close to city center! The hosts were loveyl and always had very good advise concerning the town as well as any must-sees around the area! The rooms very clean, modern and equipped with the wirless access. I definitely enjoyed my stay and would return to the motel anytime. It really influenced my NZ-experience positively!

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank croeder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2010

We have stayed at this motel twice and have found the accomodation outstanding. The rooms are so well appointed with everything needed to make your stay enjoyable. The room decor is modern and everything seems to be new or immaculately maintained. The rooms have been amazingly clean. What we liked about the accomodation is it's proximity to the city centre and we quite easily walked to the centre of town within 10 minutes.
I could not recommend this accomodation highly enough.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rcandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2010

Colombo in the City is modern, clean, quiet and convenient to the city. Friendly owners made our stay very pleasant. the room was large and quiet with a private rear patio. The room was comfortable, spacious and modern. Highly recommend a stay here. Location is 10 minute walk from downtown centre.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank prunes72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2010

We were lucky to spend our last days in NZ in such a nice motel. Colombo in the City is worthy of the 5 stars, not only because of the excellent location, quality of the rooms and facilities but because of the friendliness, helpfulness and flexibility of the owners.

Harriet and Martti Etelavuori, Espoo Finland

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.5 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
#12 of 146 in Christchurch
2,111 reviews
1.3 mi away
Chateau on the Park - Christchurch, a DoubleTree by Hilton
0.5 mi away
Quest Christchurch
Quest Christchurch
#17 of 146 in Christchurch
454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Ibis Christchurch
Ibis Christchurch
#36 of 146 in Christchurch
974 reviews
0.7 mi away
BreakFree on Cashel
BreakFree on Cashel
#26 of 146 in Christchurch
2,275 reviews
1.3 mi away
Argyle on the Park
Argyle on the Park
#15 of 146 in Christchurch
287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colombo in the City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colombo in the City

Address: 863 Colombo Street | City Centre, Christchurch 8013, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Christchurch
#11 Family Hotel in Christchurch
Price Range: $92 - $137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Colombo in the City 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Colombo in the City Christchurch Motel and Apartments, Christchurch. This quiet, modern and 5 star complex is centrally situated in the Garden City. Colombo in the City is the ultimate place to stay, extremely close to Christchurch Center, the Town Hall and Casino. Only a few minutes walk to Cathedral Square the hub of this vibrant and beautiful city which offers fantastic attractions, visit our re-start shops and see the rebuild of our city plus quality restaurants and cafes You will be spoiled for choice! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Colombo in the City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colombo In The City Hotel Christchurch
Colombo In The City Christchurch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing