We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top notch”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Colombo in the City
Ranked #14 of 146 Hotels in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 6, 2012

More than just clean, quiet, and comfortable, though it is all those things. The rooms are nicely appointed, and the extras like fresh milk for tea and coffee are really appreciated (I wish motels in the US would offer these lovely extras!). We arrived in Christchurch in the late morning, and greatly appreciated that they were able to let us have one of our rooms right away so we could clean up after the long flight from the US. The owners are extremely nice and very helpful. Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kristen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (377)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

289 - 295 of 377 reviews

Reviewed October 25, 2012

We relied on other reviews to select this motel and were not disappointed. The rooms are beautiful with excellent quality fitout and very clean and quiet. The location is an easy walk from what is left of the CBD and to the main big park in town. The owners (husband and wife) are obliging, helpful and courteous without being obtrusive. The price is very reasonable for this standard so what more could you want. We would happily stay there again unlike our other motel in Christchurch just up the road which was awful.

Room Tip: Ask the owners for recommendation for a suitable room - they won't let you down
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RolandWorldTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2012

Nice motel, and we were glad to stay there. Having made a booking at another motel in chch months before only to arrive and find they had no record of us, we were very grateful that we could have a room here over the busy labour weekend period with no notice. The room was clean and well appointed with quality toiletries and yummy cookies (complimentary). The hosts were very helpful with directions and advice on how best to get around and attractions to see and places to eat. We would be happy to stay again. Only negatives were the reception area was quite smoky ( being non smokers we found it very smelly ) and the car parking was quite tight when full. Not much room to manoeuvre out. However, as said we would stay again as definitely a good standard and a good location!

Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2012

Most helpful customer service I've ever come across. Went out of their way to offer advice on bars and restaurants, shopping and the best way to travel around the city. Great location and rooms were spacious and comfortable.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sasha_Pearl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

We chose to stay at colombo in the city at the start of out trip to Europe. We flew into Christchurch and stayed here for the night, we cleverly chose this hotel so we could walk around town the next day before our flight, forgetting the town had been devastated by the earthquakes. It was heartbreaking to see the extent of the damage. Chch will soldier on though.
We were in the room on right hand side on corner of bottom floor. It almost seemed a budget room with our entrance not being as nice as others. Room was small (by nz and australian standards)but had everything we needed.
I do agree the hosts could be a bit more welcoming, but maybe we were a bit too young for them to connect with.
Happy with cleanliness, price etc. if you are heading to chch on holiday, unfortunately this hotel is no longer situated near many facilities, but don't hold that against them.

Room Tip: Corner room is not very welcoming
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 62Love2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

The room was a bit small and only had one bathroom with the toilet in the bathroom. But the room was so quiet and clenn. Beds a bit hard with beautiful bedding. But the ower was so helpful with driving around the city and both her recommendations for dinner and breakfast were the best.

Room Tip: Best breakfast "The Coffee House"
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lana977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2012

We stayed at Christchurch just for a night before we flew back to our home country. Initially had difficulty finding the hotel cause the GPS was directing us to roads which were closed due to the clearance works from the 2 major earthquakes. Personally I didnt feel very safe staying in christchurch after witnessing the buildings which has collapsed, especially in the city center.

Nevertheless, when we found our hotel...it was already quite late around 8pm. the reception at the hotel was still open but there wasnt anyone there. saw a note pasted on the reception door with my name and i have anticipated this after reading other reviews in tripadvisor. we did receive a call from the caretaker an hour later asking if everything was ok.

Pro
1. Lots of information provided about christchurch at the reception and in the room
2. All the basic ammenities are provided, including makeup remover pad !
3. Had a microwave, boiler and toaster - great for making a simple breakfast
4. The room was clean and well maintained
5. The owner took the initiative to compile the food delivery services available within the vicinity
6. Only took 15mins to reach the airport


Cons
1. Funny smell detected in the motel room

Room Tip: Do book in advance if you want to stay here. Motels in christchurch are in demand due to the recent...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eeklin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.5 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
#12 of 146 in Christchurch
2,027 reviews
1.3 mi away
Chateau on the Park - Christchurch, a DoubleTree by Hilton
0.8 mi away
Merivale Manor
Merivale Manor
#3 of 146 in Christchurch
673 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Heritage Christchurch
Heritage Christchurch
#7 of 146 in Christchurch
690 reviews
0.5 mi away
Quest Christchurch
Quest Christchurch
#15 of 146 in Christchurch
433 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ibis Christchurch
Ibis Christchurch
#33 of 146 in Christchurch
947 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colombo in the City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colombo in the City

Address: 863 Colombo Street | City Centre, Christchurch 8013, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Christchurch
#11 Family Hotel in Christchurch
Price Range: $98 - $123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Colombo in the City 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Colombo in the City Christchurch Motel and Apartments, Christchurch. This quiet, modern and 5 star complex is centrally situated in the Garden City. Colombo in the City is the ultimate place to stay, extremely close to Christchurch Center, the Town Hall and Casino. Only a few minutes walk to Cathedral Square the hub of this vibrant and beautiful city which offers fantastic attractions, visit our re-start shops and see the rebuild of our city plus quality restaurants and cafes You will be spoiled for choice! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Colombo in the City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colombo In The City Hotel Christchurch
Colombo In The City Christchurch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing