We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing Thai Food in Christchurch”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Thai Container

Thai Container
Ranked #21 of 966 Restaurants in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $11
Cuisines: Fast Food, Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Street Parking, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: We are a relocated restaurant from the city due to the earthquakes. After the Earthquakes we managed to start up again this time as a takeaway with outdoor seating and making great use of a 40ft container which we converted to a 40ft Kitchen, Our Chefs are still serving restaurant quality food, at takeaway prices. We have a busy little spot so wait times can average between 5-15mins for your meal , txt orders are a good way to go on a wet day ... We look forward to seeing you here. Just remember when placing feedback ..If you have had a problem let us know straight away so we can resolve it, it's hard to be given a opportunity to fix things if you don't tell us.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing Thai Food in Christchurch”
Reviewed December 31, 2013

We spent our first night in CHC after fling in from London. We were staying in a motel on Papanui Road - and having seen the reviews on here decided to get a take away from this place. It is literally a couple of shipping containers converted into a kitchen (still evidence of terrible earthquake destruction in the city). The food here was amazing - there were some wooden benches outside to sit on but we took our feast back to the room. Please, if you visit CHC, give this place a try - you won't be disappointed. One of the best Thai meals ever.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AshleyRiches
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

350 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    197
    108
    36
    8
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
193 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
“Delicious & Fast”
Reviewed December 28, 2013 via mobile

The food was excellent - almost as good as our favourite Thai restaurant back in the UK. The Chicken Satay sticks were rich and moist, the fish cakes delicately seasoned, the Chicken Massaman curry was enormous and not fatty and the ginger chicken stir-fry had so many different vegetables and flavours - all crisp and fresh. Lastly for NZ, it was surprisingly good value! We'd happily eat here again but it was on our last day before flying out.

Helpful?
1 Thank StevenC75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Amazing what comes out of a container.”
Reviewed December 28, 2013

Great tasting food!! sat on benches outside this container takeaway would recommend and would use again.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank eyam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
313 reviews
267 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
Reviewed December 14, 2013

We came into Christchurch this evening and were delighted to find out that this 'restaurant' (more of a food truck with a few outdoor umbrella'd tables) was only 2 streets away. Took out their Pad Thai, their Calamari in garlic/chilli sauce, and some spring rolls (lettuce wraps with chicken) for only NZ$32... what a great dinner! All was excellent and they cooked to order, as I don't like egg in my Pad Thai. Great Thai food!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank docnc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great food super quick”
Reviewed December 6, 2013

Initially you may feel buying food from caravans / shipping containers means the eating the food quality you get at a local fair. However, when in Christchurch you need to change your mind set. Even almost two years after the devastation the place is still very much in recovery mode and local ingenuity has delivered a new spin on pop-up shopping and eating.
So with not a little trepidation after a big day out we SMS'd our order to the Thai Container. 10 minutes later it was ready and WOW. This was seriously good take-away Thai. Not only was the food of a good quality the sizes were generous.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank LagoNexus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thai Container also viewed

Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 

Been to Thai Container? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing