We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great breakfast spot” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Black Betty Cafe

Black Betty Cafe
Ranked #29 of 952 Restaurants in Christchurch
Cuisines: Cafe, New Zealand, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Business meetings, Families with children, Kids, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Adelaide
Level Contributor
48 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great breakfast spot”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2013 via mobile

I have visited Christchurch twice now and both times we have dined here for breakfast. Great atmosphere, service and good prices. There is always a wide selection of food in the display case and the muffins are delicious. I highly recommend trying this place, you won't be disappointed.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Melvum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    168
    81
    27
    15
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
53 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Loved the breakfast!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2013

Went to Black Betty's twice for breakfast and loved the food. I asked about the nondairy offerings and they were able to make scrambled eggs with no milk for me. The food was wonderful - part of this may be the lack of good tasting food in the US. The service was friendly and helpful. And I was able to check my email using the free wireless. My husband loved his breakfast also.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JeanneHY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent food and drinks”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

Went there once for breakfast - I absolutely loved the Chai Latte (neither too sweet nor too spicy) and the breakfast (I had salmon on bagels) was very nice too! The atmosphere is nice too!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Gina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful place and food.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013

While i was at Cpit i ended up going to black bettys pretty much every lunch time. Waiters and waitresses were always friendly, coffee was always beautiful. I usually got a bagel with cream cheese and pesto and the pesto was beautiful with fresh nuts through out it. Even the cheese sticks with the aioli were delicious. Always a great place to go to eat or drink!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Shelley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Decent breakie”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

Very impressed with breakfast and coffee here. Hard to find a decent place for breakfast in Chch these days and I will certainly be back.

Could be made better with at table service.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank chchgirl9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Black Betty Cafe also viewed

Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 

Been to Black Betty Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing