We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great coffee” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Black Betty Cafe

Black Betty Cafe
Ranked #30 of 956 Restaurants in Christchurch
Cuisines: Cafe, New Zealand, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Kids, Business meetings, Large groups
Dining options: Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
New Zealand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great coffee”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

Came here two mornings in a row for breakfast - food is fabulous. We had the big breakfast, the eggs benedict, and the creamy mushrooms. Very generous portions, lovely eggs and food was piping hot, which is always a bonus!!
Coffee excellent too - would definitely recommend a visit to this cafe.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank pixiejo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    170
    81
    27
    15
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mount Maunganui
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Definitely recommend”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

We were told about this cafe by Christchurch locals we met in Akaroa.
We loved it, lovely coffee and we had a savoury scone each and they were huge and one of the best I've had. Service was good and cafe was nice and warm and cosy on a chilly morning. Was good to find a carparking place out the back of it as the road is one way so hard to get a park out that front, drive around the back and there is a pay and display.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank chrissymike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
121 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Dissapointed”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2013

Came to this cafe on our visit to Christchurch as I had read it was the place to go . On arrival very noisy all odd uncomfortable chairs , and til d we would have to wait at least half an hour for a breakfast and may be we would prefer something from the cabinet. No thanks we thought , the food was commercially generic and in interesting so opted for the mushrooms on toast as we didn't want to walk looking for somewhere else result , just mushrooms on toast. Would not recommend and will not return so many other delicious cafes in Christchurch .

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank susiepnewzealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Comox, Canada
Level Contributor
220 reviews
139 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Loved the ambience... Really loved the food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2013 via mobile

Visited the Black Betty cafe several times while in Chch. Loved breakfast, see photo of artistic bacon and eggs (tasted great). Afternoon coffee was terrific too.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank fred_cameron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“good coffee, disappointing food !”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

I ordered a big breakfast which was served with a rather cold grilled tomato and a pretty bland potato gratin and my partner ordered a salad of smoked salmon and poached egg with house dressing which was pretty disappointing as it turned out to be big heap of hydroponic salad leaves, thrown in with a few cherry tomatoes and cucumber, smoked salmon and poached egg and the dressing was not much to write about.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank changez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Black Betty Cafe also viewed

Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 

Been to Black Betty Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing