We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Whats the time?”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sudima Hotel Christchurch Airport
Ranked #21 of 144 Hotels in Christchurch
Little River, Banks Peninsula
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Whats the time?”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2014

On leaving or entrying the airport Christchurch one of the first sites you see is the sign for this hotel, with a large clock. It is rather embarrassing to see the time on the clock is continuously wrong- not a great start or finish to your trip in NZ, and especially frightening if you are to catch a flight. You would think it is a simple thing to get right- the correct time on your one piece of marketing. It does not bode well to service or punctuality.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LittleRiverCamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IftiHussain, Manager at Sudima Hotel Christchurch Airport, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thanks for your feedback.

Same as you, we too are immensely concerned about your comments subsequent to reading that our main clock at the front entrance is depicting wrong time.

The clock machine is electric powered via different channel as to hotel functions; and as you would see, our property is undergoing major redevelopment where the constructers have to shutdown the power at various intervals which is affecting the clock time.

Our engineering department has been instructed to critically look into the issue and appropriate steps are being taken (by installing a UPS power back-up) to rectify the shortfall whilst we are confident that upon your next visit to airport precinct you will see first hand that the clock time is accurate.

Guest feedback is incredibly important to us and we have seriously taken your comments into consideration as we strive to improve on each front. Please accept our apologies for the inconvenience caused to you during the event and we look forward to welcome you back to Sudima Christchurch Hotel.

Best Regards,

Milind Patil | Sudima Chc Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,692 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    399
    722
    392
    124
    55
See reviews for
297
688
164
363
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2014

Good location for early flights - walking distance
Tired decor except for inside the room, which was modern and clean
Staff were polite but not particularly quick
Restaurant is grossly over- priced, meals in the vicinity of what a very high-end restaurant would charge but for pretty basic dishes.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Bmac127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IftiHussain, Manager at Sudima Hotel Christchurch Airport, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thanks for taking time to comment on this prestigious forum.

We are glad to note that you enjoyed the in-room facilities at the hotel alongside finding us as conveniently located; just within 5 minutes walk from the airport ! Moreover, we would also like to take this opportunity to inform that we have started our $25 million redevelopment project; which will not only have a modern décor but immaculate comfy rooms, luxurious facilities and amenities once completed.

Further, our restaurant prices are in-line with the industry standards. However, you comment has been shared with our F&B services manager for further consideration.

Thanks for your patronage and we look forward to welcoming you back at Sudima Christchurch Hotel (Home Away From Home) during your next visit to the beautiful Garden City of New Zealand.

Best Regards,

Milind Patil | Sudima Chc Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
1,714 reviews
223 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 721 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2014 via mobile

I was extremely disappointed in this 'motor lodge with a restaurant'. Sure, it is close to the airport, which was extremely handy but that was tge only thing going for it.
They are undergoing significant rebuilding at the moment, I imagine they will bulldoze the current rooms - if they don't they should. Walls are paper thin (conversations and snoring) so it shouldn't take much effort to topple them over.
And the price - $180 - was very high for a poor offering.
There are better options nearby.

Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank Albywon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IftiHussain, Manager at Sudima Hotel Christchurch Airport, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Dear Albywon

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your valuable feedback.

We realise that the walls in our older rooms are thin and noise do travel through them. As you had observed, the hotel is currently undergoing a major redevelopment, whereby an older block will be replaced by a new block with 87 Executive Rooms, rest assured these new rooms have sound proofing between rooms.

I hope this will not preclude you from staying with us again, we currently have a wing that has concrete walls which are sound proofed.

Regards
Fui Ching
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
38 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2014

I have stayed twice in Sudima Airport in the last 2 months. Hotel is conveniently located - a 5 minute walk from the airport.

Rooms are ok, nice bathroom amenities. I would not stay there longer than 1 night, but if you have an early flight, I think that it is a good option.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacek_TA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IftiHussain, Manager at Sudima Hotel Christchurch Airport, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Kia Ora Jacek,

Thank you for this kind and appreciative review and we are glad to note that our bathroom amenities were to your liking; alongside finding us as conveniently located, just within 5 minutes walk from the airport !

With this encouraging note, we will continue to strive for guest service excellence and would be delighted to welcome you again to the Sudima Christchurch Hotel, should your travel brings you back to the Garden City in times ahead.

Best Regards,

Milind Patil | Sudima Chc Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2014

hair in the bed when I turned down the covers. Milk was sour , one side of the bed was high other side low. Not a nice after travelling. Only good thing is close to the airport. Great shuttle service.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank nat_heat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queenstown, New Zealand
Level Contributor
92 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2014

Pickup at the airport was was prompt and hotel reception was efficient and friendly.
Our room on the ground floor was clean and tidy and the bed comfortable.However the decor was dated and the TV was an old CRT,No complaints ,it is close to the airport and has a very good restaurant

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dcleghorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rangiora
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2014

Great location within walking distance to airport. Clean, tidy, quiet room. Need to advise change in long term carparking policy as this was why I booked this hotel. Reception and Shuttle Driver were all very friendly and helpful.


  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Tiffany902
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.7 mi away
Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch
5.5 mi away
BreakFree on Cashel
BreakFree on Cashel
#29 of 144 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,498 reviews
0.1 mi away
JUCY Snooze Christchurch Airport
JUCY Snooze Christchurch Airport
#8 of 102 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Airport Gateway Motor Lodge
Airport Gateway Motor Lodge
#8 of 144 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,242 reviews
1.0 mi away
Airport Palms Motel
Airport Palms Motel
#1 of 144 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 691 reviews
1.0 mi away
Airport Christchurch Luxury Motel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sudima Hotel Christchurch Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sudima Hotel Christchurch Airport

Property: Sudima Hotel Christchurch Airport
Address: 550 Memorial Avenue | PO Box 14-043, Christchurch, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 Luxury Hotel in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sudima Hotel Christchurch Airport 4.5*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Two-story Hotel located next to golf course & recreation center, adjacent to airport (free transfer) & 10 km from city center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, TravelClick, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sudima Hotel Christchurch Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sudima Hotel Christchurch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing