We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sudima Hotel Christchurch Airport
Ranked #21 of 144 Hotels in Christchurch
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
61 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great breakfast”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2014

Spent two nights at the Sudima.

While not my choice of hotel, it had a great breakfast to start the day.

The rooms are comfortable enough, although a bit tired in the décor and possibly the last hotel not to have flat screen HD television in the rooms.

Unless you have an early departure or business in this part of Christchurch, there are probably better options available.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisJohnW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,692 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    399
    722
    392
    124
    55
See reviews for
297
688
164
363
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sunshine Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2014

Our trip through less travelled areas of the South Island culminated at Sudima Hotel so this review is benefited by comparison with some very basic hotel accommodation prior. Decor gave the appearance of being 4-5 star on entry, an impression reinforced by the multi-manned reception desks, uniformed staff and porter. Check-in was quick and easy.
Subsequent service was responsive, the concierge later multitasking and ordering us a taxi while continuing to check in another guest.
The rooms were modern, clean and well appointed, with a wall-mounted TV, iron and ironing board, electric jug with tea, coffee, sugar etc. and a small refrigerator (lacking in all previous accommodation) so we could chill our own drinks. Bathrooms similarly well appointed, modern and clean with all the requisite shampoo, soaps and range of towels per person and hair drier. Well heated (controlled in the room) and comfortable beds. Plenty of guest parking and only two minute walk to the airport for our next-day flight out and a wake-up call was arranged for us. With every expectation that at 4:00a.m. we would have to walk across to the airport with our baggage, when leaving we were waylaid at the front door by the courtesy bus driver and driven to the airport departures door.
We chose to eat at the hotel restaurant on the basis of appearances - the bar and dining area ambiance was inviting and the decor and table settings indicated fine dining. Maybe it was the proximity to the airport but the food could only be described as 'airline food' - completely lacking in taste. Presenting any curry that is virtually tasteless has to be a reverse culinary challenge. And it was not cheap. While menus in the country areas tended to be very similar, the food was always very tasty. This was the only exception. Strongly recommend the bus or taxi fare to Riccarton 10 -15 minutes drive away for much more rewarding dining options.

Room Tip: Air con can get very stuffy (drying out throat and eyes) so tend your temperature preference under r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GXDL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Canterbury, NZ
Level Contributor
50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2014

We stayed here one night before heading overseas. The service and room was excellent. We had a room near the restaurant and bar but there was not noise from it which was great as we had a early morning start. The airport transfer was excellent.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tui3560
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
136 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2014

As most of the reviews have already stated, this hotel is very conveniently located next to Christchurch airport - so good for late nights arrivals and early morning departures. But really, Christchurch is not so big that any one of the other hotels nearby would be as convenient. The hotel is undergoing renovations - we had a ground floor, older style room. Nothing to complain about at all - twin beds comfortable, warm room, bathroom fine. Possibly overpriced at $160NZD?? If you don't want to taxi it to the city or walk to Maccas nearby, then the dooning room at the hotel is a good option. Nice food and good service. Staff are good at this hotel.

Room Tip: if you really must have a flat screen TV, then ask for a new room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FinoniTas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2014 via mobile

It was a bit expensive for one night but we chose to stay here due to its close proximity to the airport, had to fly out very early the next day.
Room was ok, no complaints here except maybe wifi was not free.
Front desk during our check-out was friendly and helpful. The check-in was not as friendly and for that i give them 3 stars instead of 4.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank omar e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandbach, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2014

We had a comfortable stay here, the hotel was very convenient for our late arrival in Christchurch, it was clean and our room was spacious with good facilities. The buffet breakfast was good and the staff were very helpful. The hotel is in need of some renovation which was underway when we were there.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roz N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Rock, Canada
Level Contributor
74 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2014

Arrived in Chc too late to continue my other Air New Zealand flight so needed a room for one night.
Phoned this hotel and van was there to pick me up in about 2 minutes. Realised later that I could have walked to the hotel! Staff were friendly and efficient and they even kept he bar open for me as I had arrived close to 11.00 pm on a Sunday night. Room was comfortable and clean as was the bed. The only concern I have is there was a "surcharge" for the use of a credit card upon checkout. This was surprising to me as I have never come across this before when paying for accommodations. The few dollars extra I paid to stay here was worth not having to get a cab and allow extra time (and money)for all that would involve.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kiwisteve57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.7 mi away
Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch
5.5 mi away
BreakFree on Cashel
BreakFree on Cashel
#29 of 144 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,493 reviews
0.1 mi away
JUCY Snooze Christchurch Airport
JUCY Snooze Christchurch Airport
#8 of 102 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Airport Gateway Motor Lodge
Airport Gateway Motor Lodge
#8 of 144 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,242 reviews
1.0 mi away
Airport Palms Motel
Airport Palms Motel
#1 of 144 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 691 reviews
1.0 mi away
Airport Christchurch Luxury Motel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sudima Hotel Christchurch Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sudima Hotel Christchurch Airport

Property: Sudima Hotel Christchurch Airport
Address: 550 Memorial Avenue | PO Box 14-043, Christchurch, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 Luxury Hotel in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sudima Hotel Christchurch Airport 4.5*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Two-story Hotel located next to golf course & recreation center, adjacent to airport (free transfer) & 10 km from city center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, TravelClick, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sudima Hotel Christchurch Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sudima Hotel Christchurch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing