We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Sudima Hotel Christchurch Airport
Ranked #20 of 146 Hotels in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 3, 2013

This suited us for one night, as it was walkable to the airport and the Marathon start-line.
Overall the experience was fairly average, the inward facing room was quiet, heard no traffic and barely heard any planes, but the bar was ordinary and the restaurant again pretty ordinary.
If you don't expect too much then the location could be the winner for you. They did offer a late check out to 11:30am on Sunday morning at no charge, which was good.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank browner_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,817)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,390 - 1,396 of 1,817 reviews

Reviewed May 30, 2013

The proximity of this hotel to the airport is the only redeeming feature. However the rooms are not sound proof and therefore you have the noise of aircraft and traffic all night.

Decor is very dated, range of Sky channels very limited and overall in need of. Complete makeover.

Restaurant was not bad but service staff need training in customer service with tables, including ours, left waiting for service for extended periods.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank PJC18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2013

This hotel is right near the airport we only stayed the one night before our flight home.
We would have no problem with staying again as we had a good meal in the restaurant and breakfast in the morning The choice of menu and price was good.
Also an iron and board were in the room so that if wanted you could freshen up and press your clothes before setting off for home

Room Tip: Free transfer to airport so no need to get up to early as its only a few minutes away
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oldsoldier42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2013

Nothing pretentious but modest accomodation at best. A little over priced for the quality and will benefit from the promised makeover this year. The rooms are quite spacious and clean but some of the fittings are well past their useby date particularly the fridges and TVs. We stayed on two seperate nights in two different rooms but found the same. The older parts of the hotel aren't nearly so soundproof and are in need of the make over desperately. The staff were efficient, friendly and attentive on both occassions and the bar/restaurant area is reasonably inviting. Breakfast seemed overpriced but we did'nt eat there anyway. The best thing about Sudima is it's close proximity to the airport and ease of access. It's a 3 minute stroll to the terminal (there is a transfer bus if you prefer or the weather is unkind) and is fine for a one night stop over after a late arrival or before an early departure. Just a word of warning...Christchurch City is a $60+ Cab Fare from Sudima.

Room Tip: Upgrade from a standard room (which will be in the older part of the hotel) at least until the refur...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Austin-Powers63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2013

The location to the airport is great . Make sure to ask for a room in the newer part. The rooms are very sound proof which is great for a good nights sleep. The restaurant has good food and most nights you need to book for dinner.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bonnie26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2013

The Sudima Hotel Christchurch is a great place for a stopover. The shuttle bus service could not be faulted with on demand service to the terminal & rental car depots. The food service is great as are all the staff members. Rooms are getting a little tired & the bar area could do with better seating but overall this is a nice place to stay on a stopover

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beardedwilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2013

last night we received a complimentary transfer from the airport around midnight to the Sudima. We were checked in quickly and easily, we were even offered help with our bags and a wake up call. Hotel was a little dated but room was presented well. I think we were room 832.
The two things that seemed the most urgent to address would be painting the ceiling and replacing the dated and off colour bedspread (underside)
Bed was comfortable, large and had minimal noise.
The shower was good early this morning and breakfast wasn't bad either $53 for 2adults to have full continental and hot buffet.
Complimentary transfer back to the airport, two happy travellers on their way :)
Thanks

Room Tip: 832 was fine for us. Although is closer to road than other rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 62Love2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.7 mi away
Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch
5.4 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
#12 of 146 in Christchurch
2,017 reviews
4.1 mi away
Chateau on the Park - Christchurch, a DoubleTree by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square Hotel
5.4 mi away
Heritage Christchurch
Heritage Christchurch
#7 of 146 in Christchurch
690 reviews
1 mi away
Airport Gateway Motor Lodge
Airport Gateway Motor Lodge
#8 of 146 in Christchurch
1,294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sudima Hotel Christchurch Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sudima Hotel Christchurch Airport

Address: 550 Memorial Avenue | PO Box 14-043, Christchurch 8053, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Christchurch
Price Range: $103 - $203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sudima Hotel Christchurch Airport 4.5*
Number of rooms: 246
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With the completion of the redevelopment and refurbishment programmes, Sudima is now a 4.5 star Qualmark rated Hotel located right at the doorstep of the Christchurch International Airport. With 246 well-appointed guestrooms, the Acheron Restaurant & Bar, this Hotel is the perfect place to stay for the start or end of your journey through the stunning South Island of New Zealand. The Spitfire Shopping Square and the Antarctic Centre are just next door so there are lots to do without having to travel afar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, TravelClick, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sudima Hotel Christchurch Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sudima Hotel Christchurch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing