We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for a night”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sudima Hotel Christchurch Airport
Ranked #20 of 146 Hotels in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 11, 2008

Stayed here for one night as a final destination before hopping on a plane. The place was old and dated, the carpets were not very clean, and we felt very eerie when we found that the emergency/fire switches had been pulled from the wall...

Our free transport took forever, as there was no driver ready for us when we waited, even though we had told them the day before of our travel times.

The rooms were nice and simple, though the beds weren't very nice.

This is the perfect stopover hotel, but I would recommend something more if you were to stay longer.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank pandafyed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,821)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,712 - 1,718 of 1,821 reviews

Reviewed May 5, 2008

I booked 1 night at the sudima on the way through christchurch. The booking process was smooth however I specifically requested to be picked up at the airport, only to arrive in christchurch and find noone waiting, thankfully the hotel is only a 5 minute walk across the car park of the airport and across the road but still, lugging our luggage that way wasn't pleasant. An apology wasn't even offered by the front desk staff. However the hotel was as I expected, basic but tidy and comfortable and because it was next to the airport, was in an ideal location for our early morning flight the next day (which they did provide transfer free of charge). I'd stay here again, mainly only because of its location.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Awarnach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2008

This is a very good airport hotel. We stayed here two nights one coming in and one going out. Two different styles of rooms each time. Beds were very very comfy and bathrooms were clean.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Glenkel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2008

This hotel is in a good position very closed to the airport. Excellent 24 hrs shuttle from/to airport.

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2007

This hotel could not be more convenient - you dont even need the to use the hotel shuttle its so close to international arrivals (but you might as well cos its free). Excellent base for picking up a campervan at the nearby Britz/Maui place. Only dissapointment being hotel was very tired - felt much like a faceless "Travelodge". It did appear to be undergoing some renovation though which will undoutbedly improve it. (The reno work did not disturb us by the way). However, it was clean and the service was good both on reception and at breakfast.

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank theworldsoutthere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2007

Stayed in a new room. Unrennovated rooms are available at a lower price.
Room and bathroom were clean and neat.
Room was quiet even though close to the airport.
Restaurant was reasonable. Cost more than McDonalds, but less than a place that requires a tie for dinner.
Location was great. Actually walked to the airport (about 1/4 mile).
If you have an early flight, check out a little early (2 hrs or more) prior to departure to avoid the line at the front desk.

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hasher67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2007

We have stayed at this hotel twice but only because it is the only hotel at the airport. The rooms are nice and the pool but we found diiner to be expensive and there isn't anywhere else nearby unless you get a taxi or long walk, or get airport food!

Ideal for getting an early flight or arriving late but otherwise stay somewhere in town.

  • Stayed: November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SB30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.7 mi away
Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch
5.4 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
#12 of 146 in Christchurch
2,029 reviews
4.1 mi away
Chateau on the Park - Christchurch, a DoubleTree by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square Hotel
5.4 mi away
Heritage Christchurch
Heritage Christchurch
#7 of 146 in Christchurch
691 reviews
1 mi away
Airport Gateway Motor Lodge
Airport Gateway Motor Lodge
#8 of 146 in Christchurch
1,296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sudima Hotel Christchurch Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sudima Hotel Christchurch Airport

Address: 550 Memorial Avenue | PO Box 14-043, Christchurch 8053, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Christchurch
Price Range: $103 - $199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sudima Hotel Christchurch Airport 4.5*
Number of rooms: 246
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With the completion of the redevelopment and refurbishment programmes, Sudima is now a 4.5 star Qualmark rated Hotel located right at the doorstep of the Christchurch International Airport. With 246 well-appointed guestrooms, the Acheron Restaurant & Bar, this Hotel is the perfect place to stay for the start or end of your journey through the stunning South Island of New Zealand. The Spitfire Shopping Square and the Antarctic Centre are just next door so there are lots to do without having to travel afar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TravelClick, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Orbitz and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sudima Hotel Christchurch Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sudima Hotel Christchurch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing