We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable & quiet place to recover from long distance flight.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sudima Hotel Christchurch Airport
Ranked #21 of 144 Hotels in Christchurch
Vancouver
Level Contributor
61 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Comfortable & quiet place to recover from long distance flight.”
Reviewed February 1, 2013 via mobile

Handy location to the airport. You could walk to it but after a long distance flight you may want to call the hotel for their shuttle. Rooms are comfortable and quiet. The staff were friendly and extended the 10am checkout since we had only arrived at midnight. Breakfast was a bit pricey but eating out in NZ is generally expensive.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HatzicMission
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warren_Barnes, General Manager at Sudima Hotel Christchurch Airport, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay with us. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay.
Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,692 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    399
    722
    392
    124
    55
See reviews for
297
688
164
363
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sawbridgeworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
179 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2013 via mobile

Great location between camper return offices and Antartic Centre, that are both walking distance, with free shuttle bus to airport, just 2 mins drive
Friendly helpful check in staff, lifts to room even only ground and first. Good sized quiet room with everything you need
Pleasant good sized restaurant and bar with good selection of food including buffet dinner
Exceptional service and attentive staff

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Clive A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warren_Barnes, General Manager at Sudima Hotel Christchurch Airport, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay with us. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay particularly the service received from staff.
Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2013

Average hotel with poor customer service by the staff on the reception and the price for a night was much much higher than the service they provide. Restourant available on site, no grocery store nearby. Location is very very close to Airport and they pick/drop you from airport 24 hrs.

Room Tip: Most hotela provide airport pick up so no need to pay high price to stay close to airport.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JPS505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warren_Barnes, General Manager at Sudima Hotel Christchurch Airport, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay with us. Your comments about the poor customer service are concerning and although they offer an alternative view to the most recent comments posted above, will be discussed fully with the staff concerned.
Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviewed January 30, 2013

After a fabulous holiday in the USA and excellent , well priced accommodation, we arrived back in NZ late in the evening and my friends partner had booked a room at the Sudima. The room was pricey, the furniture and decor dated, they wanted to charge $10 for wifi and $27 for a cooked breakfast. This was the most expensive and also the worst accommodation we stayed in on our holiday and I am so disappointed to say, that it was in NZ.

Room Tip: Try someplace else - there are other better and better priced hotels in close proximity to the airpo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Bernadette F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warren_Barnes, General Manager at Sudima Hotel Christchurch Airport, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay with us. Our room charges are set dynamically, a bit like airline seats and influenced by factors such as supply and demand, days of the week and seasonality. Our current level of charges currently reflect the market conditions we are experiencing in Christchurch. Contrary to your claim, there are no better priced full service hotels available in close proximity to the airport.
Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cuttack
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2013

This hotel's location is the best one for the outsiders who visit Christchurch.The hotel is very near to the Air-port,just opposite of the hotel.The outside view of the hotel is not attractive,but the rooms are good enough to stay in.This hotel is of good value with some nice facilities.The breakfast buffet is nice one.The hotel gives free transport service to the air-port.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mani-1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warren_Barnes, General Manager at Sudima Hotel Christchurch Airport, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for your comments following your recent stay with us. I am pleased you enjoyed several aspects of the hotel including the buffet breakfast and our free airport courstesy shuttle.
Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haifa, Israel
Level Contributor
126 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2013

We stayed in this hotel at the beginning of an organized tour of NZ. It's location, a short walk from the airport is very handy and, if you call the hotel from the Info desk at Arrivals, a courtesy bus will comes to pick you up for the couple of minutes' drive to the hotel. There are local bus routes available to reach the city centre or the beach resort of Sumner. The hotel has been partially renovated but we stayed in an unrenovated Standard room on the ground floor. It opened directly on to the interior garden area and pool, which was great and avoided any noise from the airport nearby. The room and bathroom were a bit dated but absolutely fine with a kingsize bed, a small fridge, iron and ironing board plus more wardrobe and drawer storage than in many higher class hotels (where the space is taken up by fancy minibars and drawers of snacks that are vastly overpriced). The lack of a safe in the room was a disadvantage. A big plus was the guest laundry with coin operated washing machines and driers, cost NZ$2 per wash load and the same price to fully dry a load. We also found the NZ$10 charge for 24 hours Internet access quite reasonable (considerably cheaper than we'd had to pay in several hotels in Australia). Service was very good with all the staff working with a friendly and helpful attitude. This more than makes up for dated furnishings! We enjoyed our stay and hope renovations will be completed so that this hotel can receive the rating it deserves.

Room Tip: For a quiet stay it's very important to request a room facing in towards the pool and garden...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LeeF62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warren_Barnes, General Manager at Sudima Hotel Christchurch Airport, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay with us. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.
Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2013

This is located very near to the airport .The rooms are clean and fresh.The check-in and check-out are quite good.The breakfast provided by the hotel is nice.The hotel staffs are very cordial.The hotel gives free transport service to the airport and we reach the airport within ten minutes.This is the best advantage of staying in this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rabindra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warren_Barnes, General Manager at Sudima Hotel Christchurch Airport, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for your review following your recent stay with us. We appreciate the feedback.
Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.7 mi away
Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch
5.5 mi away
BreakFree on Cashel
BreakFree on Cashel
#29 of 144 in Christchurch
1,497 reviews
0.1 mi away
JUCY Snooze Christchurch Airport
JUCY Snooze Christchurch Airport
#8 of 102 in Christchurch
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Airport Gateway Motor Lodge
Airport Gateway Motor Lodge
#8 of 144 in Christchurch
1,242 reviews
1.0 mi away
Airport Palms Motel
Airport Palms Motel
#1 of 144 in Christchurch
691 reviews
1.0 mi away
Airport Christchurch Luxury Motel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sudima Hotel Christchurch Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sudima Hotel Christchurch Airport

Property: Sudima Hotel Christchurch Airport
Address: 550 Memorial Avenue | PO Box 14-043, Christchurch, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 Luxury Hotel in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sudima Hotel Christchurch Airport 4.5*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Two-story Hotel located next to golf course & recreation center, adjacent to airport (free transfer) & 10 km from city center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, TravelClick, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sudima Hotel Christchurch Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sudima Hotel Christchurch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing