We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Functional”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sudima Hotel Christchurch Airport
Ranked #21 of 144 Hotels in Christchurch
Launceston
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Functional”
Reviewed January 15, 2013

I had a late-arriving flight (aren't they all) from Australia and an early departure. It was great having the hotel within walking distance, particularly as it was raining when I arrived. I could also have called and they would have collected me. So service and location-wise, the hotel rates a '5'.

The room was functional, clearly from another era (1950's?) although being unable to get to sleep, I appreciated the little television with Sky. There was no aircraft or traffic noise (possibly due to the time). I will have no hesitation staying here again because it will always be as a 1-2 night stopover.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ballytraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warren B, General Manager at Sudima Hotel Christchurch Airport, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay with us.
Yes, the hotel is very handy to the airport, being 700 metres from the terminal and certainly within walking distance so it is not surprising that a lot of our guests at this time of year take the opportunity to stretch their legs after a flight.
As you are aware we do provide a courtesy shuttle and this can be arranged by contacting the hotel on arrival by using the freephone at the accommodation directory board adjacent to the Info desk.
The hotel opened in 1965 and has had 2 further wings added since then along with various refurbishments. It is about to undergo a major upgrade in 2013.
Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,722 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    407
    739
    397
    124
    55
See reviews for
301
702
165
372
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (215)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Addlestone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2013

So close to the airport you could fall out of bed and land at your check-in desk! Word of warning - take your earplugs with you if you want a good nights sleep. People are checking in and out all night long and not everyone is very considerate. I was even woken up by a member of staff walking past my room at 3am with their walkie-talkie blaring out. I liked the complimentary newspaper delivered to my room in the morning.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EJB186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warren B, General Manager at Sudima Hotel Christchurch Airport, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay with us. Please accept my apologies for being woken up by one of our Night Staff's loud walkie talkie. The staff member concerned has been counselled accordingly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
129 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2013

From the outside, the Sudima looks a bit ropey, but the inside was better than other airport hotels I have stayed in. Room was fine with a powerful shower. Breakfast was good. Quite a long way out from Christchurch town centre. Having to pay for wi-fi always annoys me.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jamiddlebrook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed January 13, 2013

Yep it's Midnight and you are off the Flight at Christchurch Airport. It is quite mild weather so I take the stroll to the Sudima Airport Hotel in Christchurch. I find the couple fresh from the Far North Queensland experience who are from The UK. They are not lost just looking for The Sudima Hotel.
We arrive tin a walking convoy at The Reception. Welcome is warm and check-in swift. Up to my room which is clean and well appointed. Sleep is on the agenda after text message's home for confirmation of safe arrival and no shaking of buildings. Breakfast should not be missed at this place. Good spread, Coffee about waht you would expect from a Self Serve Machine, freshly delivered morning paper to enable a quick update on local issues. Service is excellent in New Zealand but The Sudima at Christchurch deliver it with the politeness only KIWI's can do. Parking for Visitors is plentiful and free. If you are doing business in Christchurch then I suggest the late night flight as you can relax and be ready for a big day.

Room Tip: Don't forget that you can use the free phone in the Arrivals to ring The Bus to pick you up if i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Spartacus1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2013

Given how few hotels have been left standing after the tragic earthquakes, one would think the Sudima would up their game and make some effort to offer even modest levels of service. Many airport hotels acquire a bad reputation, but none more deserving than this hell hole. It is like a zoo. The standard rooms, and the premium rooms are dumps. There are some adequate newly refurbished rooms with air con but getting these is a lottery and their website is wholly misleading. Don't fall for the trap we did in booking and paying for a premium twin bedded room. We were given a disgusting old room, with no air con. The hotel manager on duty was rude, and the general manager has written to tell me it was a premium room. According to him, If I had wanted the newly refurbished rooms I should have requested a premium bureau room. The website is wholly misleading and gives you no option to book a twin bedded premium bureau room. In the end O had to pay for 2 queen bedded rooms just to get rooms with air conditioning on a stifling night. The common parts of the hotel are horrible beyond belief. Maybe staying overnight laying on the airport floor would be preferable.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HotelDoc60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warren B, General Manager at Sudima Hotel Christchurch Airport, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear Reviewer

As you are aware I have explained the nuances of booking our various room types on our website and apologised for the confusion that arose to you directly. I am pleased to advise that we have made immediate changes to our website as a result.

Although the hotel is about to undergo an extensive renovation during 2013 we have never claimed to be more than a Qualmark rated 31/2 star hotel. I have to take issue with the emotive descriptions you have used in your review - as they say don't let the facts get in the way of a good story.

Our many regular & returning guests can attest that the hotel is not a zoo nor a hell hole, the rooms whilst not luxurious are not dumps and the common parts of the hotel are not horrible beyond belief
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashburton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
270 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2013

We stayed at Sudima on New Years Eve and prebooked a meal. The room was very basic and dated for the price and I have eaten better at MacDonalds for a fraction of the price. Lift your game Sudima You are an embarrassment to our city.This is not our first stay there but our worst!!

Room Tip: Go elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marg22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warren B, General Manager at Sudima Hotel Christchurch Airport, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear Reviewer

I am disappointed to learn you did not enjoy your meal on New Year's Eve. Your assessment of your meal is at odds with the feedback received from many hundreds of happy diners we host each week (copies of customer satisfaction surveys available for verification).

As we have a policy of 100% satisfaction, if your concerns had been raised with our restaurant supervisor on the night then your meal would have either been replaced or not charged for.

You are welcome to contact me personally if you would like to discuss your concerns further.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2013

Used Air New Zealand air points to book a "premium" room at this hotel for a quick trip to Christchurch.

Was feeling fairly confident the hotel would be good due to Sudima chain usually having consistent standard.

First impression upon check in at the hotel changed all that. The Asian girl at reception had a terrible manner and was very abrupt and not at all what someone in the service industry should be like.

The room itself was good sized and as per expectations. No complaints about the actual room . However was annoyed by being able to hear the room next doors shower and plumbing each time they used it. Interruptions at night due to this and if neighbour like mine showers in early hours of morning it's very disturbing to a restful sleep.

I had an issue about the hygiene of using the kettle etc. The kettle had black pieces floating in it.

Arranged a late checkout and the hotel was good enough to agree at no extra charge... However they didn't tell the cleaner so aftert the regular checkout time the cleaner knocked on the door and next minute opens it to come and clean. I had just finished shower so lucky the safety chain was on or it would have been very embarrassing. Very angry that this happened .. There should be more communication between front desk and housekeeping.

Mixed feelings about this hotel .. Nothing majorly wrong except the attitude and friendliness of the staff. This alone is prob my main reason for not recommending the Sudima Christchurch Airport !!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AKL77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warren B, General Manager at Sudima Hotel Christchurch Airport, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for taking the time to provide some feedback on your recent stay with us.
Not withstanding your particular experience at check in which I would have to say is not the norm, your statement about the attitude and friendliness of our staff is wide of the mark as we frequently receive very positive direct feedback about our staff. To make a sweeping claim that they are all rude is unfortunate and simply not true.
Please accept my apologies for the state of the kettle in your room. These are checked each day by our supervisors but obviously on this occassion it was missed. Your concerns could have been easily rectified by ringing reception and asking for a replacement which would have been sent to your room without hesitation.
I also need to apologise for the unwelcome intrusion by our room attendant when you had arranged a late check out.The system for communicating late check outs is in place - this was simply a case of getting room numbers mixed up by the person in question.
We are hopeful that the sound proofing issues will be sorted as part of a substantial upgrade to the hotel that is planned for later this year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.7 mi away
Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch
5.5 mi away
BreakFree on Cashel
BreakFree on Cashel
#29 of 144 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,612 reviews
0.1 mi away
JUCY Snooze Christchurch Airport
JUCY Snooze Christchurch Airport
#8 of 103 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Airport Gateway Motor Lodge
Airport Gateway Motor Lodge
#8 of 144 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,254 reviews
1.0 mi away
Airport Palms Motel
Airport Palms Motel
#1 of 144 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 697 reviews
1.0 mi away
Airport Christchurch Luxury Motel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sudima Hotel Christchurch Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sudima Hotel Christchurch Airport

Property: Sudima Hotel Christchurch Airport
Address: 550 Memorial Avenue | PO Box 14-043, Christchurch, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sudima Hotel Christchurch Airport 4.5*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Two-story Hotel located next to golf course & recreation center, adjacent to airport (free transfer) & 10 km from city center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Agoda, Booking.com, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sudima Hotel Christchurch Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sudima Hotel Christchurch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing