We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quality and Economy” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Christchurch YMCA

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Christchurch YMCA
Boone, North Carolina
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Quality and Economy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2013

This was a great place to stay for a good price. My husband and I stayed in a double room with its own bathroom. It was very clean and felt safe. The workers were very friendly and helpful. It is also right across from the Botanic Gardens, which are beautiful.

Room Tip: Double rooms have their own bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Greta K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

370 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    151
    102
    31
    25
See reviews for
40
101
108
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

Stayed here for one night on a recent, brief trip in June 2013 with my elderly mother and teenage daughter. The staff at the front desk were friendly and helpful. We had a triple room which was clean and warm. Electric blankets on the beds plus a heater. Great view of the Botanic Gardens out the window and virtually right across the road from the museum. Free parking was great, too. Didn't use the kitchen facilities, so can't comment on them.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sally M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013 via mobile

My husband & I was stay here for 3 nights in Jan 2013, pretty spacious Double room, it was clean and consider quite at night, and our room window is just facing infront of the beautiful Christchurch Botanic Gardens!
But it's was too hot in the summer, because there is no air-condition in the room, thus during afternoon time is not comfort to stay inside the room.
The kitchen is small and messy, the bathroom is clean but some bathroom there's no hot water supply.
Generally it's still good to stay and worth for money.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Prescilla C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013 via mobile

The arrival in christchurch New Zealand was a warm welcoming cabbie but the welcoming at the YMCA was the worst. We showed up late but notified the staff prior to our arrival. We buzzed at the night door, finally a very rude older man showed up to let us into our room. His attitude made our arrival very awkward and slightly ruined our experience. Room was decent, comfy heated bed.. I wouldn't stay here for a good time.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RMcDonald9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

$80 a night for a standard double room in the "heart" of Christchurch (heart of nothing, there is very little to do in this city post earthquake).

Pros:
-Good location (close to iSite, museum, park)
-Free parking
-Good size room
-Access to gym, climbing walls and some other facilities (paid $6 pp for gym access)
-Heated bed/blankets
-Washrooms were kept reasonably clean and there were many on each floor

Cons:
-Room was cold because the windows have a serious draft
-No minifridge as is common in other accomodation (just put my stuff on the windowsill and they were kept cool enough haha)
-Heater is on a 30 minute timer, which is too little and very cheap of the YMCA so be sure to bring your own.
-Small kitchen services 3 floors of accommodation and is really not enough
-Doors do not automatically lock behind you

Can't speak for the service since I didn't have much interaction with staff.

Be sure to book with them direct, since the Christchurch iSite charges a credit card surcharge. Lame.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wdjmNS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cooranbong, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

The service was great, we arrived with a friendly atmosphere, we got exactly what we wanted, the restaurant was wonderful, the heat in the room was good. the showers were good but made a lot of noise. The beds were comfortable and had good warm blankets. Perfect for a family holiday!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

Was really disappointed with the stay here. The rooms were absolutely freezing, they have heaters in them but they are on a timer so that they only stay on for 15 minutes or so every time you press the button (which you don't want to have to get up for throughout the night when trying to sleep. The windows have gaps which leaves you feeling as though you are sleeping in a fridge. I ended up having to sleep in two jumpers on top of pjs and leggings and was still cold.
For the 2nd night I asked for a second duvet which helped but still didn't get a comfy nights sleep.
Overall the staff were rude from start to finish. Not one of them was friendly or even polite. When checking in they asked if a friend and I were travelling together and would like to be in the same room which we confirmed and then she still put us in separate rooms (both of which had spare beds in?!). Every time you asked the staff anything you were given the clear impression you were inconveniencing them and there were a few times we got a sarcastic response to reasonable questions.
The other issue was that the room doors had to be locked every time you left but the staff didn't advise anyone. We worked it out the first time we walked out but other people in the room just assumed they had locked behind them and so the room was left unsecured al day with valuables inside but no lockers provided to protect your valuables.
The Internet was awful and they don't use global gossip like most places. It was limited to a number of gigabytes or 24hrs-whichever expired first.
Overall the place was grubby, the bathrooms weren't nice and were out in the halls.
Walked round the corner and the YHA looked much nicer. Wish I'd stayed there instead!

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank K_T_J_24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Todd S, Manager at Christchurch YMCA, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Thanks for the feedback. There were clearly a number of issues you raised so lets look at them one at a time.
The internet is not awful and IAc is an extremely good product that we very rarely have trouble with. i would advise others to do research on global gossip providers around NZ before purchasing an extended plan.
We are presently looking into upgrading our room access by installing card locks. However in the meantime key access is sufficient and guests generally protect their belongings by keeping their doors locked at all times
We have two room types at the YMCA. Firstly standard and dorm rooms use the shared bathrooms available throughout the building. Those who pay a premuim for deluxe rooms with ensuites then get a private bathroom.

As for the heating unfortunately the winter nights in Christchurch drop below zero and therefore even the heaters can struggle to keep the room to your desired temperature. As we have just recently purchased new duvets and blunkets I would hope this is not as severe as it may have been in the past. Every room has a heater and the timer is a safety devise as running heaters 24 hours/day during the 4 months of winter is a risk to all guests.

I do apologise if you felt the staff were unhelpful. I can only reassure you that we are improving their service from the feedback provided.

Thanks again for your indepth review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Christchurch hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.5 mi away
BreakFree on Cashel
BreakFree on Cashel
#30 of 148 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,384 reviews
0.5 mi away
Heritage Christchurch
Heritage Christchurch
#7 of 148 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 601 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ibis Christchurch
Ibis Christchurch
#37 of 148 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 883 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Classic Villa
The Classic Villa
#28 of 148 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
0.4 mi away
The George Christchurch
The George Christchurch
#6 of 148 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,227 reviews
0.1 mi away
YHA Christchurch
YHA Christchurch
#5 of 111 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Christchurch YMCA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Christchurch YMCA

Property: Christchurch YMCA
Address: 12 Hereford Street | Canterbury, Christchurch 8011, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 111 Specialty Lodging in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Christchurch YMCA 2*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the most fantastic Central City location opposite the Arts Centre & Botanical Gardens. The extensive range of accommodation is low cost and you will be impressed by the high standards of presentation. From Standard Rooms with shared bathroom, Deluxe Rooms with ensuite bathroom, to Apartments with full kitchen facilities, the YMCA caters for all needs & budgets. The YMCA Christchurch offers free on-site parking. All guests have access to extensive on-site facilities for a small additional fee. These include wifi, health and fitness centre, laundry room & conference room. WE OFFER 24 HOUR RECEPTION!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Christchurch YMCA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Christchurch Ymca Hotel Christchurch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing