We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Freezing cold rooms and very rude staff”
Review of Christchurch YMCA

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Christchurch YMCA
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Freezing cold rooms and very rude staff”
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Was really disappointed with the stay here. The rooms were absolutely freezing, they have heaters in them but they are on a timer so that they only stay on for 15 minutes or so every time you press the button (which you don't want to have to get up for throughout the night when trying to sleep. The windows have gaps which leaves you feeling as though you are sleeping in a fridge. I ended up having to sleep in two jumpers on top of pjs and leggings and was still cold.
For the 2nd night I asked for a second duvet which helped but still didn't get a comfy nights sleep.
Overall the staff were rude from start to finish. Not one of them was friendly or even polite. When checking in they asked if a friend and I were travelling together and would like to be in the same room which we confirmed and then she still put us in separate rooms (both of which had spare beds in?!). Every time you asked the staff anything you were given the clear impression you were inconveniencing them and there were a few times we got a sarcastic response to reasonable questions.
The other issue was that the room doors had to be locked every time you left but the staff didn't advise anyone. We worked it out the first time we walked out but other people in the room just assumed they had locked behind them and so the room was left unsecured al day with valuables inside but no lockers provided to protect your valuables.
The Internet was awful and they don't use global gossip like most places. It was limited to a number of gigabytes or 24hrs-whichever expired first.
Overall the place was grubby, the bathrooms weren't nice and were out in the halls.
Walked round the corner and the YHA looked much nicer. Wish I'd stayed there instead!

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank K_T_J_24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Todd S, Manager at Christchurch YMCA, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Thanks for the feedback. There were clearly a number of issues you raised so lets look at them one at a time.
The internet is not awful and IAc is an extremely good product that we very rarely have trouble with. i would advise others to do research on global gossip providers around NZ before purchasing an extended plan.
We are presently looking into upgrading our room access by installing card locks. However in the meantime key access is sufficient and guests generally protect their belongings by keeping their doors locked at all times
We have two room types at the YMCA. Firstly standard and dorm rooms use the shared bathrooms available throughout the building. Those who pay a premuim for deluxe rooms with ensuites then get a private bathroom.

As for the heating unfortunately the winter nights in Christchurch drop below zero and therefore even the heaters can struggle to keep the room to your desired temperature. As we have just recently purchased new duvets and blunkets I would hope this is not as severe as it may have been in the past. Every room has a heater and the timer is a safety devise as running heaters 24 hours/day during the 4 months of winter is a risk to all guests.

I do apologise if you felt the staff were unhelpful. I can only reassure you that we are improving their service from the feedback provided.

Thanks again for your indepth review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

384 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    160
    102
    32
    26
See reviews for
41
104
108
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2013

I stayed here for 3 weeks whilst doing a placement for my degree. Stayed in a private room which actually had two beds in. Had great views straight out into the botanic gardens and was very convenient both for my placement at the hospital and the city centre. Unfortunately, there is not a huge amount in the city centre thanks to the earthquake so it was a fair walk to any shops etc. The room itself was decent enough, as you would expect from a youth hostel but nothing special. The kitchen is an improvement on what was there before by the sounds of it but still not a huge amount of storage space for all the people cooking there. Staying in winter, the heater in the room was welcome but it would be good if you could turn it on for more than half an hour at a time. Made for very cold mornings. Not the cheapest place either for long stays but for one or two nights it would be ok. Bathrooms were always fairly clean and bedding etc was changed once a week during my stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank t123s456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Christchurch hotels

Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2013

It was quite awful... There was no window in the room... Ensuite was not attached but public, it was not clean! Luckily we had only stayed for one night! Hagley Park is nearby, only about one minute walk, it is probably the only thing that made us feeling glad...

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ziyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Todd S, Manager at Christchurch YMCA, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Thanks for the feedback. Every room at the YMCA Christchurch has a window so i am at a loss of what you may be referring to. We have two main room types: first we have the standard room with shared bathroom facilities and secondly we have deluxe rooms with ensuites. You clearly booked and stayed in the standard room and therefore had no ensuite.
Once again your feedback is valued
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 6, 2013

My friend and I did the kiwi experience for 3 weeks. We did both islands and christchurch was our last stop. After a crazy few days in queenstown and a long bus ride we were looking forward to taking it easy at the hostel in christchurch. We all got off the bus and headed to the lobby for check in. Upon finally making it to the front desk we were told that the rooms were pre assigned and that we couldnt stay in the same room. We werent even on the same floor and we werent the only pair that were in the same situation. The lady at the front desk was less than helpful and actually pretty rude. But off we went to put our stuff in our rooms. The actual beds werent bad and the room i was in was pretty spacious. We both woke up and each of our rooms had one or two beds that hadnt been taken. The bathrooms were pretty gross. I went to have a shower and found a rotting apple in the soap holder. The kitchen was super tiny! There was a small table for 2 which took up most of the kitchen. There was a notice up saying to mark your bags or your stuff would be thrown out. We were only at the hostel for the night and arrived in late afternoon, but between the time we checked in and the time we woke up for breakfast a couple of the other people who had clearly marked their names on their cooler bags had them thrown out. not a great way to end an amazing trip.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Taryn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed May 29, 2013

Ive been all over asia the hostels were good, my first night in nz and I'm massively unimpressed this really is the worst place I've stayed! Staff are simply there to receive money no help or conversation I had paid for my dorm went to make some food in the kitchen, was told it is closed but that I could use a microwave on the second floor corridor, its expencive and when you take into account that nothing is provided other than a bed and shower is even say a rip off! Not happy voiced my dissapointment in the dorm and everybody was of the same mind.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pedrogledro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 26, 2013

We stayed twice at this hostel with my boyfriend because we had to go through Chch anyway. We chose it because of its location (Which is ideal when you have a bus in the morning I guess).

I think it was the worst backpacker I stayed in my whole trip in New Zealand, and really expensive for the quality. Kitchen was DISGUSTING, and far too small. Bedrooms were just normal, no decoration, nothing special.

At least toilets and bathrooms were clean.

Unless you're in Christchurch for one night, don't stay here!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PCauchin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Todd S, Manager at Christchurch YMCA, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
I find it hard to accept that this is the most expensive backpacker in NZ. A minimal $30 gives you a clean bed with linen, hot showers with soap and common rooms with TVs. I understand the kitchen is unacceptable and i am pleased to inform you that construction is all but finished for the new version which will have a dining area and new appliances.

Thanks for your feedback
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed May 25, 2013 via mobile

Worst stay in whole New Zealand, chewing gum on door handles and smelly towels. Staff was totally not friendly, don't want to help you with anything. Like ordering a taxi was to much effort for them. Noisy rooms because of the TV's in the hallway.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Schermnaam1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.1 mi away
The Classic Villa
The Classic Villa
#28 of 145 in Christchurch
250 reviews
0.4 mi away
The George Christchurch
The George Christchurch
#6 of 145 in Christchurch
1,328 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ibis Christchurch
Ibis Christchurch
#34 of 145 in Christchurch
925 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
BreakFree on Cashel
BreakFree on Cashel
#24 of 145 in Christchurch
1,822 reviews
0.6 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
#13 of 145 in Christchurch
1,836 reviews
0.1 mi away
YHA Christchurch
YHA Christchurch
#6 of 103 in Christchurch
200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Christchurch YMCA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Christchurch YMCA

Property: Christchurch YMCA
Address: 12 Hereford Street | Canterbury, Christchurch 8011, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 103 Specialty Lodging in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Christchurch YMCA 2*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the most fantastic Central City location opposite the Arts Centre & Botanical Gardens. The extensive range of accommodation is low cost and you will be impressed by the high standards of presentation. From Standard Rooms with shared bathroom, Deluxe Rooms with ensuite bathroom, to Apartments with full kitchen facilities, the YMCA caters for all needs & budgets. The YMCA Christchurch offers free on-site parking. All guests have access to extensive on-site facilities for a small additional fee. These include wifi, health and fitness centre, laundry room & conference room. WE OFFER 24 HOUR RECEPTION!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Christchurch YMCA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Christchurch Ymca Hotel Christchurch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing