We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, good hostel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
YHA Christchurch Rolleston House
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great location, good hostel”
Reviewed September 28, 2008

The main reason I stayed at Rolleston instead of the YHA Central was location - I love the area in and around the Arts Centre, and the hostel is right across the street from both it and the Canterbury Museum, and just a couple of minutes' walk from Cathedral Square.

This is a place you go for character - both from the building and the staff. It's an old house converted to a hostel, so you really can't expect it to be modern and overly flash. That being said, the two rooms I stayed in (on different occasions) were both actually a pretty good size. It's not overly warm, especially in winter, but it's still worth it for the charm and the location.

  • Liked — Location, location, location
  • Disliked — Lack of insulation
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank TradMad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    45
    18
    4
    3
See reviews for
5
15
52
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
england
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 25, 2008

Arrived on a very cold day after a long flight. the room was freezing and the only heater was a pull handle job which only lasted for thirty minutes at a time.

asked for more sheets and was told that there were none left as the hostel was fully booked.

the shower was dirty and about a mile away from the room. and the toilet needed a clean.

needless to say, we did our laundry and then checked into a hotel in town.

Awful. however, the YHA central is great.

  • Liked — That is was very close to a nice cheap and warm hotel.
  • Disliked — That it exists.
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank magnoliaone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2006

A group of 5 of us recently stayed in Rolleston House for 2 nights. The hostel is really nice and clean and has a great kitchen. The staff are very friendly and helpful and they sell all the basic supplies at the front desk (beans, noodles, water etc). The location is also very good as it is next to the Botanical Gardens and Art Gallery and only a 5 minute walk into the city centre. The only negative point is that the Hostel could do with a lick of paint and the showers are only on the ground floor which means a trek downstairs if you are staying on the first floor. If this isnt going to bother you then you will have a great stay here, and it hasnt put us off booking to stay there again at the end of the month!

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LHMB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed November 9, 2003

Before e-mail and small mobile phones I visited Rollesten House in 91 and 92.
I was made really welcome and helped by staff to find possible employment in local schools. I returned to England with a love for your country which will never go away. The hostel was in a great spot and perfect for the refectory over at the Y. Even caught up with the wizard. Barry Kay. Will have written in the log for both visits

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed July 19, 2003

This hostel was the first place stayed at having just landed in Christchurch from Australia.

The location is ideal with the main shopping area only a short walk away. It has a cosy lounge area and good kitchen facilities. Only spolit by some travellers who seem to think they've packed their mum with then to do all their tidying up.

The staff are very friendly and will help you with any queries you may have. It does need modernisation of the shower facilities and perhaps a little in some of the rooms. But its kept quite clean by the hard working staff their. Special thank you to Lisa who enhanced my stay by laughing at my terrible jokes.

I liked it so much that at the end of exploring the South Island came back for a few days. Then headed up to Picton to cross to the North Island.

Would have no problem in recommending this place to anyone. Be advised to book as early as possible though to aviod disappointment.

Richi

Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.0 mi away
The Classic Villa
The Classic Villa
#29 of 144 in Christchurch
245 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ibis Christchurch
Ibis Christchurch
#37 of 144 in Christchurch
903 reviews
0.1 mi away
YHA Christchurch
YHA Christchurch
#5 of 103 in Christchurch
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Christchurch YMCA
Christchurch YMCA
#16 of 103 in Christchurch
381 reviews
0.1 mi away
Orari Bed & Breakfast
Orari Bed & Breakfast
#6 of 132 in Christchurch
372 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Grange Guesthouse & Motel
The Grange Guesthouse & Motel
#2 of 132 in Christchurch
826 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to YHA Christchurch Rolleston House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YHA Christchurch Rolleston House

Property: YHA Christchurch Rolleston House
Address: 5 Worcester Street, Christchurch 8011, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 103 Specialty Lodging in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — YHA Christchurch Rolleston House 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
YHA Christchurch, Rolleston House is centrally located opposite the Christchurch Arts Centre with its colourful weekend art and craft market and along the famous Christchurch tram route. Rolleston House is a gorgeous character home which has been converted into a comfortable hostel offering multi-share, double and twin rooms. Facilities include a TV room, self-catering kitchen, internet access and library exchange. The hostel provides late night entry for pre-bookings arriving on late flights and buses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, HostelWorld, Agoda, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your YHA Christchurch Rolleston House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rolleston House Yha Hotel Christchurch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing