We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic staff, clean and nice hostel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
YHA Christchurch Rolleston House
Certificate of Excellence
Noumea, New Caledonia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic staff, clean and nice hostel”
Reviewed February 23, 2013

We stayed in the hostel for 3 nights (2x in 4-mixed dorm and 1x 6 mixed dorm, both rooms had the similar standards). Located near the cantenbury museum and fantastic botanic garden, the hostel was really tidy, the linen and bed really comfortable, good facilities, big well equiped kitchen, great lounge room with games, books, a guitar and big screen tv, perfect internet connection. The staff was one of the best during our 2 weeks trip in NZ, really helpful and giving excellent tips. I would gladly stay there again!

Room Tip: Rooms have all the same standards. But for a nice breakfast i would recommend a small cafe with thei...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Touchka_NC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    45
    18
    4
    3
See reviews for
5
15
52
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
98 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed December 24, 2012

The YHA had only recently reopened, and it was looking super clean and tidy. I was really impressed by the helpfulness of the staff: they gave me excellent directions and help getting around, for which I was really grateful.

My room was clean and tidy, and the shared dining/cooking areas well equipped and clean.

The hostel itself is very handily located near the museum and park, and not far from the CBD.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bluecastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
48 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2012

Good space in rooms, clean showers, toilets & kitchen. Great kitchen and lounge area. Good location. Friendly staff. Small car park at back. I would definitely recommend for you're stay in Christchurch.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EbronDoherty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed November 16, 2010

I loved staying here, it's absolutely the best location in Christchurch. Right next to the Arts Center Markets, and a short walk down the Pretty Tram Route into the center of the city. This YHA Hostel has a family home feeling, with big sofa chairs and lots of stuff everywhere in the common room.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank New_Zealand_Travel_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Level Contributor
29 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2010

Having stayed in 4 different hostels in Christchurch, and this one definitely wins the location contest, due to its quiet, historic surroundings and yet right next to the town center. We had a twin room upstairs that faced onto the (rather quiet) street, so we enjoyed the views over Christchurch’s historic old buildings, and the old tram that went by from time to time during the day.

The actual room was very small but provided enough space for two people plus one big piece of luggage each, so it was ok. However, the decor and furniture was very modest and rather dated. The walls were also quite thin. Luckily it wasn’t a party place when we were there, but sleeping with earplugs always helps when you’re in an old building with creaking floors and thin walls. The beds were not the best but we slept ok. As in many other hostels in New Zealand, the tiny little heater on the wall left a lot to be desired, and we were cold in our room in early spring.

The common room was nice, and there were enough internet terminals.

It’s a charming place to stay, but has the disadvantages of any old house, and it could need a bit of modernising in terms of furniture and decoration. Nothing beats the great location though, next to the Art Gallery, the entrance to the Botanic Gardens and a 5-minute walk to Cathedral Square!

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChristinaHegele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, England
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2010

We had an ensuite double here and although the room was spacious and fairly comfortable it could have done with a more thorough clean. Our main issue was with the state of the kitchen - the hobs were all faulty and in serious need of replacement and it was filthy. Notably as a result of other residents but better management of this is required.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kmrej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2009

booked for a 4-ppl dorm but got a 5-ppl dorm, not that there's much difference in it, just don't like the way things turned out.
Showers are downstairs only, so I had to walk down, past the kitchen and dining area, not very nice.
When I got back to Christchurch, moved to YHA central and that was much better.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rbjhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.0 mi away
The Classic Villa
The Classic Villa
#29 of 144 in Christchurch
245 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ibis Christchurch
Ibis Christchurch
#36 of 144 in Christchurch
903 reviews
0.1 mi away
YHA Christchurch
YHA Christchurch
#3 of 103 in Christchurch
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Christchurch YMCA
Christchurch YMCA
#16 of 103 in Christchurch
381 reviews
0.1 mi away
Orari Bed & Breakfast
Orari Bed & Breakfast
#6 of 132 in Christchurch
372 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Grange Guesthouse & Motel
The Grange Guesthouse & Motel
#2 of 132 in Christchurch
827 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to YHA Christchurch Rolleston House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YHA Christchurch Rolleston House

Property: YHA Christchurch Rolleston House
Address: 5 Worcester Street, Christchurch 8011, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 103 Specialty Lodging in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — YHA Christchurch Rolleston House 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
YHA Christchurch, Rolleston House is centrally located opposite the Christchurch Arts Centre with its colourful weekend art and craft market and along the famous Christchurch tram route. Rolleston House is a gorgeous character home which has been converted into a comfortable hostel offering multi-share, double and twin rooms. Facilities include a TV room, self-catering kitchen, internet access and library exchange. The hostel provides late night entry for pre-bookings arriving on late flights and buses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your YHA Christchurch Rolleston House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rolleston House Yha Hotel Christchurch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing