We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great show - Hounds of the Baskerville” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Court Theatre

The Court Theatre
Ranked #39 of 228 things to do in Christchurch
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
137 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Great show - Hounds of the Baskerville”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

The court Theatre goes from strength to strength, I like the warehouse location with container ticket booth, bar and loos. Its just so ChCh - however once the lights dim you could be anywhere in the world. The dedicated company provide light relief, love their jobs and make it well worth the effort to attend. I laughed my way thru Hounds - great show!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank PauleLec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    103
    23
    6
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
133 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Another great visit to Court”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2014 via mobile

Always enjoy a trip to The CourtTheatre.Parking is excellant,Great range of pre theatre drinks/coffee.Both Paid and volunteer staff always a credit to the theatre. Saw Hound of the Baskervilles in Main theatre and red rabbit in the forge.one thing I would like to see is a few more tables to sit at before the show while havering a ore theatre drunk

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank didee62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“School holiday filler”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2014

Took the kids to a play during the school holidays. Silly story, cast of 4(?), no serious acting... the kids thought it was great!

It's the first time I've been since they moved. The place is easy to find, good parking, nice enough theatre.

The play was only 40 minutes long, so we spent more time travelling than watching. I thought they could have stretched it out a bit and put in an interval to make it more social for the kids.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“nice experience, not great acting or direction”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2014

The Court's new digs in the Shed in Addington are lovely, with good views from all the middle section seats, great sound and lighting, easy free parking, and seamless ticketing and intermission fare. If only the play (The Hound of the Baskervilles) had not been a total mis-fire. Credit the discerning locals: they didn't think cheap jokes about men being possibly gay were funny, either. Why pick such a lousy script? I felt sorry for the actors, who seemed to be doing their best. I'd go back to try a different play, though, because everything was so well run. I'd say to the Board: spend the money for more and more agile actors, and don't bother so much with effects.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch. N.Z
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A boutique theatre”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2014 via mobile

This a a great live theatre venue where the audience feel part of the show. A variety of plays and musicals by NZ actors and actresses.

Helpful?
Thank vscChristchurch_N_Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Court Theatre also viewed

Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 

Been to The Court Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing