We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The talent is amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Court Theatre

The Court Theatre
Ranked #37 of 232 things to do in Christchurch
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
684 reviews
239 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 280 helpful votes
“The talent is amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2014

We were enthralled by "Mikado".

Well done Court Theatre for another brilliant production. The talent you bring to our city is invaluable.

We will be back.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    107
    24
    6
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
58 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Mikado had us in stiches”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2014

This is a great production (as are all the Court Theatre productions). The cast is high energy and pitch perfect. The updates to the script bring our current issue in Christchurch out for well-needed lampooning. A great night out, I think we will be buying a season pass for 2014.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kiwiana13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great Theatre”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2014

If you have a chance to see a show here this is a must, ample parking, great local actors involve din these shows. You may need to book in advance.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Carolyn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
88 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014

Had a fantastic night at the Court seeing The Mikado. It was a bit hard to find at this relatively new location but well worth the trip and parking is quite good. If the performances are quality people will come.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jane2901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
56 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great space - with a 'different' feel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2013

This theatre has been set up in an old warehouse (a former grain store, I think) as it needed to be established in premises outside the CBD as a consequence of the earthquake
Located in Addington it is not far outside the city centre and close by there are a number of cafes, several of which were also set up post-earthquake - and the theatre has plenty of on-site (and free) parking
Whilst aspects are clearly set up in a "temporary" way (for example, the booking office and toilets have been built inside shipping containers placed inside the old warehouse) it all 'works' very satisfactorily and gives it a great feel

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank ColinAndChristina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Court Theatre also viewed

Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 

Been to The Court Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing