We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
  
Ways to Experience TranzAlpine Train
from $141.87
More Info
from $141.87
More Info
from $122.65
More Info
from $436.60
More Info
Reviews (3,444)
Filter reviews
3,444 results
Traveler rating
2,176
906
265
58
39
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
2,176
906
265
58
39
Show reviews that mention
All reviews arthur's pass viewing carriage observation car south island open carriage buffet car southern alps large windows greymouth station open air new zealand audio commentary comfortable seats right hand side dining car return journey stunning scenery
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
261 - 266 of 3,444 reviews
Reviewed July 13, 2019

Is a nice relaxing way to avoid a days driving. Timeframe is just long enough as by the end my boys aged 6&9 were a little bored and restless. Very comfortable seating, pretty good cafe car. If purchasing tickets outside of NZ, do some research as it will save you money.
If picking up a hire car in Greymouth, send someone from your family to get your bags and another to go inside and get the car, as nearly everyone else is picking up a car as well, so gets busy

Date of experience: July 2019
1  Thank simonelouise
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2019

This is the best way to view the scenery! The train is modern, warm and comfortable with a very informative commentary available, using the headset provided. Luggage is handled efficiently and meals, snacks and drinks are available to purchase. We took the train to Greymouth and then spent a couple of days on the West Coast, visiting Punakaiki, Franz Josef Glacier, and Hokitika Gorge, before heading back by train. We really needed another few days to do the area justice! Short winter days meant some of the return journey to Christchurch was after dusk, so the photo ops were fewer.

Date of experience: July 2019
Thank Poh198
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2019

This was at the top of my must do list when I planned my trip to South Island and it did not disappoint. The train is very comfortable, you get seated in the carriage and if you wish to take photo, have access to an open carriage. The trip takes you through the mountains and is quite a photographer's dream.

Date of experience: February 2019
1  Thank ClaireMVH
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2019

great west cost train trip for the day, especially in the winder when most outdoor places are too cold. Make sure the seat is window seat on your right.

Date of experience: June 2019
Thank wendyjohnkiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2019 via mobile

The heading says it all.
This a must do for Kiwis. Yes lots of tourists but as they say”don’t leave home until you have seen the country”.
We are very well travelling across the world so would like to think we can do realistic comparisons across a range of experiences.
Recommendation- book out (at least) 4 nights. Take the train, pick up a rental and head north up the Coast Rd towards Punakaiki. There are some wonderful experiences and activities in that area. Space here I’d dedicated to the Trans Alpine so just let your fingers do the search for those experiences.
Thoroughly recommended.

Date of experience: June 2019
Thank GRL1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews