We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“go when its quiet at night”

Willowbank Wildlife Reserve
Book In Advance
More Info
$96.12*
and up
Christchurch Maori Concert and Kiwi Viewing
Ranked #13 of 237 things to do in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: See Kiwi in a natural environment - there is no glass! Get close to Kea, Tuatara and other native icons. Willowbank Wildlife Reserve is also home to introduced and exotic breeds. Make your own way around the park and animals will eat right out of your hand. Willowbank is open from 9.30Am daily - kiwis are able to be viewed from 10.30Am until close.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“go when its quiet at night”
Reviewed January 4, 2013

Really unique to see indigenous fauna at night. Our birdlife is unique and best then.Has everything you want and is worth an hour and you can have a beer or coffee and enjoy the sounds from nature. I'd avoid the daytime when it's a bit kindified!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Krieg13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

759 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    416
    271
    53
    8
    11
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Broadstairs
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Never tire of visiting with the Grand children”
Reviewed January 4, 2013

Have been coming to Willowbank for the last two years with the grand children. They love to see all the wild and not so wild animals. Regrettably we only get to see about half as the kids are worn out before we get to the birds and Kiwis. No doubt next year we will get around the rest. If you are making two or more trips a year well worth get a membership. Mine has paid for itself three times over. I would not really recommend it to adults alone.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
137 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Great place to visit - managed by enthusiastic and passionate people”
Reviewed January 4, 2013

I really liked the Willowbank Wildlife Reserve and recommend it to anyone with an interest in wildlife / nature.

The reserve is well laid out and has plenty for the visitor to see & is quite interactive with the ability to get really close to animals / birds. Tuatara area is interesting as is the Kiwi den.

Great value for annual memberships but too expensive for a one off visit for a family at $65. This is pretty much the same cost as entry to Singapore Zoo (by comparison) with which I am very familiar!

For this reason I have marked the attraction as average as my expectations for an attraction of this cost was much higher than delivered.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank ofoww
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunsandel, New Zealand
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Love this place”
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Love this place for young and old to visit.We have had wonderful experiences here.Especially when my children were small. the maori cultural unit and educational part are excellent.
Love the kiwi experience and the cafe at night.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Elaine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good family activity”
Reviewed December 28, 2012 via mobile

A good activity for a couple of hours for a family. We wanted to see a kiwi while in NZ and were not disappointed - we saw 2 in a special nocturnal area which was very well done.

Helpful?
Thank Matt3225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Willowbank Wildlife Reserve also viewed

Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 

Been to Willowbank Wildlife Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing