We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Save
Book In Advance
  
Ways to Experience The Arts Centre
from $20.70
More Info
from $48.30
More Info
Reviews (49)
Filter reviews
36 results
Traveler rating
12
15
7
1
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
12
15
7
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews stone work great art earthquake repairs quick look beautiful building walk around gothic jewelry life canterbury
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 36 reviews
Reviewed October 1, 2018

The Arts Centre is a beautiful collection of neo-Gothic buildings in the heart of Christchurch. The buildings were heavily damaged by the earthquake and are now being lovingly restored. Many are now open and there are lovely art works to enjoy around the property. The I-Site is now situated here. There are shops, cafes, and two nice museums: Rutherford's Den and the Teese Museum of Classical Antiquities. The Clock Tower has been cleaned and restored. It is a lovely place to explore.

Thank Robert D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2018 via mobile

Short visit on evening of light festival. Really nice atmosphere in the quadrangle with illuminated artwork, families enjoying themselves and good food and drink on offer.

Thank SteveM999_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2018

We stopped in for a quick look around and a coffee hich was very good. Glad to see things starting to get back to normal.

Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2018 via mobile

I was so happy to see the building coming to life again. It has been carefully restored and is gradually reopening.
Well worth a visit

Thank HKinsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2018

Visiting this place so long after the earthquake I thought it would be full of cool arts and crafts as well as reasonable prices. I used to love this place long time ago, it was disappointing.

Thank kiwiaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2018

In the same building as the excellent i-Site, so why not visit it for a few minutes.

A mix of shops and some art works on display. A range of cartoon drawings caught my attention.

Pretty central.

Thank chiangmaicharlies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2018

We were pointed at the centre to get some tourist information which is now in this complex. Whist there we stopped to look at a variety of different art forms some nice shops and cafes but we didn't have time to stop for long.
Close to town so eady to combine with other visits locally.

Thank Allgoodthyngs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2018

The arts centre is not a complex facility. There are a lot of things to do. The building itself is very elegant, which was rebuilt after the earthquake.

Thank minimize940314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2018

A must see. One of the few complexes that have been well restored since the earthquake.
It’s beautiful and hold the key to some of Christchurch’s early history

Thank Nikki T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2018

Since the earthquake repairs have been finished in part of the centre it really looks amazing. A fantastic job. The tourist office is now located here as I found by chance

Thank DavidGA986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews