We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great fun for the kids and oldies alike”

Ferrymead Heritage Park
Ranked #39 of 237 things to do in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The park is comprised of an Edwardian township, which includes buildings from a church and a police house to a bakery and a railway station, as well as an exhibition area.
New Zealand
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great fun for the kids and oldies alike”
Reviewed January 26, 2012

Lots of excellent things to see and do - and away from the central city which is closed

Helpful?
Thank mitchellgk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    40
    12
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Step back into New Zealand pioneer days, Maori Pa, train rides”
Reviewed December 31, 2011

Old town experience and train rides on certain days. Fantastic walking down the old dirt streets looking in the old shops. Great museum with old fire brigade memorabilia worth a look too.
On some occasions you can book a group into a place on site where they cook a traditional kiwi evening meal located in one of the old houses. Fantastic experience. Enquire and book in advance as not always operating. If you time the day right you can go on the steam train and a number of other trains which travel along an approx 3-4km track all included in the admission price

Helpful?
Thank karl p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“felt like a time warp”
Reviewed December 27, 2011

I expected it to be a travel through time and it really was. We almost got lost on our way there, we didn't expect it to be that far and there weren't much road signs. It was queer because only a few guests were there on the day we visited so it kind of felt like twilight zone. But the concept of the place is really nice. It's amazing how people can save such valuable and historic things and keep the old appliances and furniture to be whole and functioning. Employees are fittingly dressed according to the era the park represents. We weren't able to buy food from their bakeshop but I hope what they sell is apt to the era as well, down to the very ingredients used so it would be really authentic and true to the theme. Most of the park attraction were also closed, some were because of the earthquake. We were supposed to watch Laurel and Hardy in their cinema but it was closed during our visit. You can also hitch a ride in the tram that goes around the park. (The ChCh city loop tram is parked here indefinitely) Interested guests can also join the park's club to have an exclusive access to the facilities and help in its maintenance. The gift shop's just small and doesn't offer much souvenirs. If you're easily spooked, I suggest you visit this place with a lot of people or find out when's the usual busy day at the park so you wouldn't feel so much in a twilight zone.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank Mariantler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A nice stroll through time.”
Reviewed May 24, 2011

Some parts were actually closed due to earthquakes but others were just closed. What we did get to see was interesting and we had an enjoyable day out.

Helpful?
1 Thank lucifers_angel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Scotland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“visit back in time”
Reviewed February 19, 2011

In January 2008 my wife and I travelled from Scotland to visit our daughter in Christchurch. During our stay of 2 months we visited many of the attractions around Ch/ch one of which was Ferrymead Heritage Park. We were delighted with the authenticity of this setting, also the fact that the staff were dressed in period costume made the experiance more real. The staff were also very courtious towards visitors. A most enjoyable time was had by us both .

Visited March 2010
Helpful?
Thank Wullie02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ferrymead Heritage Park also viewed

Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 

Been to Ferrymead Heritage Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing