We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Alpine style experience10 minutes from town”

Christchurch Gondola
Book In Advance
More Info
$20.79*
and up
Christchurch Gondola Ride
More Info
$95.80*
and up
Grand Tour of Christchurch Including Botanic Gardens, Gondola and Hop-On...
More Info
$63.87*
and up
Christchurch Sightseeing Pass
Ranked #10 of 238 things to do in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: For a “top” experience in Christchurch (15 minute drive from central city), enjoy a relaxing ride to the summit of the Port Hills. Spectacular 360 degree views of the city, Lyttelton Harbour, the majestic Southern Alps and Canterbury Plains. Plenty to see and do - experience the Time Tunnel Ride, go shopping, relax and enjoy a snack or beverage at the Red Rock Cafe.
Levin, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Alpine style experience10 minutes from town”
Reviewed July 1, 2014

We visited this attraction in the winter months we had afternoon tea at the cafe with great veiws.i can recommend the gondola as a must do while visiting Christchurch.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Warrick P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WelcomeAboardCHCH, Manager at Christchurch Gondola, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
We are really glad you enjoyed your visit. Thanks for recommending us :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,435 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    720
    552
    141
    16
    6
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hokitika, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“best sight seeing attraction in Christchurch”
Reviewed June 23, 2014

I was very impressed with this attraction, only kilometers away from the destruction in Christchurch is an attraction woorth paying for. Th ride up is fun, the views are spectacular and the cafe serves delicious food. Even the gift shop is well stacked with interesting items. Really glad I went here.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sue k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WelcomeAboardCHCH, Manager at Christchurch Gondola, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Thanks for taking the time to write a review for us we are glad you had a great time with us :-)
We strive to have an affordable Cafe and Retail shop and we are glad you were impressed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Amazing overview (a bit expensive though)”
Reviewed June 14, 2014

If you do not own a car, this is the perfect way for you to gain an overview over the City of Christchurch and the alps.
A van will drive you from the inner City to the lower Station of the gondola. You fix a time with the van Driver and then you will be picked up again and be driven back.

At the top of the mountain you can have cake and coffee, buy some Souvenirs, stroll around the building and enjoy different views. Also there is some kind of ride that teaches you a bit about the history of New Zealand. It is included in most tickets, so just take These 10 minutes and do it. I would not pay for that extra though ;)

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank ExilBadener
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“great views & excellent walk from the top down into lyttleton”
Reviewed June 9, 2014

the coffee was ordinary at the top , The ride up & the views from the top are excellent on a clear day & not too good on a cloudy day ...
Been up lots of time & recommend buying a year pass as its a great place to start a walk or hike accross the top of the ranges ..

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank stephen b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sawtell, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
81 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Beautifully clean attraction”
Reviewed June 8, 2014

The gondola is a little tricky to find but worth the effort. The view from the top of the ride overlooks much of Christchurch and also the lower tourist road which shows major signs of earth quake damage. The gift shop is one of the cheaper we found, coffee and meals lovely and the toilets very clean. Recommended

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank sawtellrob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WelcomeAboardCHCH, Manager at Christchurch Gondola, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Thanks for the feedback we are glad you rated our attraction so highly and are pleased that it had cheap items in the gift shop and that the food and coffee was of a great standard for you.
We hope you visit again one day :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Christchurch Gondola also viewed

Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 

Been to Christchurch Gondola? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing