We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just like England”

Christchurch Gondola
Book In Advance
Buy Tickets Online
More Info
$20.07*
and up
Christchurch Gondola Ride
More Info
$92.46*
and up
Grand Tour of Christchurch Including Botanic Gardens Gondola Punting and Hop-On...
More Info
$61.64*
and up
Christchurch Sightseeing Pass
Ranked #10 of 249 things to do in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: For a “top” experience in Christchurch (15 minute drive from central city), enjoy a relaxing ride to the summit of the Port Hills. Spectacular 360 degree views of the city, Lyttelton Harbour, the majestic Southern Alps and Canterbury Plains. Plenty to see and do - experience the Time Tunnel Ride, go shopping, relax and enjoy a snack or beverage at the Red Rock Cafe.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

I love Christchurch. It's like England with beautiful gardens. I LOVE Kiwi folks. They are super fun, genuine, and awesome. I partied so much there. Def. one of the best places I have ever been to.

Thank KathlynCarmine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WelcomeAboardCHCH, Front Office Manager at Christchurch Gondola, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2013

Thanks so much for the lovely review on Christchurch itself. We are so pleased that you came and visited our lovely city and had such a wonderful time. Thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,556)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,384 - 1,388 of 1,556 reviews

Reviewed June 15, 2013

cost for gondola was not badly priced and the trip was quiet pleasant to the top did get a good view of the damage of the earthquake to the Christchurch area. Was very windy at the top so make sure you rug up

Thank Buzzstar18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WelcomeAboardCHCH, Front Office Manager at Christchurch Gondola, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2013

Pleased that you had such a pleasant trip to the Gondola and hope that you had brought your warm clothes for the top. Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2013 via mobile

Just back fom doing the Gondola and had a lovely day. The views are awesome overlooking the city, coast, alps and Lyttleton. We had lunch at the cafe at the top. All good. Quite a few people doing the walks along the top of the hill. A beautiful clear day. Well worth the $25 each adult.

Thank Robinson72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WelcomeAboardCHCH, Front Office Manager at Christchurch Gondola, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2013

We are pleased that you enjoyed your trip up the Gondola and that you got to experience the breath taking views! Thank you for the review and we look forward to seeing you again one day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

This is a really good value for money ride up the mountain to get panoramic views across Christchurch ant harbor. Views are simply breathtaking. We could not do the crater walk due to damage from the earth quake but still worth it.

Thank Jpcandeif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WelcomeAboardCHCH, Front Office Manager at Christchurch Gondola, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to do a review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your time up the Gondola and agree about the views, they are just stunning. The tracks to the Gondola have now since re opened. Stop at the Top Station for a break. See you again. Thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We regularly take our young kids up the gondola. On a sunny day the views are stunning and its nice to go for a walk along the hill top. The trip up gives you a view over the now closed summit road, the rock fall from the earthquake is still there and number of rocks on the road is quite incredible. The time tunnel is a little tired but our kids enjoy it and given that it is included in the price of the ride up its worth going on.

Thank corfi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WelcomeAboardCHCH, Front Office Manager at Christchurch Gondola, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2013

Thank you for taking the time and leaving a review. We are pleased to have you and family returning to the Gondola after being closed for over 2 years. We look forward to seeing you and your family again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Christchurch Gondola also viewed

Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 

Been to Christchurch Gondola? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing