We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A "must see" if you have a few hours”

Christchurch Botanic Gardens
Book In Advance
More Info
$14.88*
and up
Christchurch Botanic Gardens Tour with Optional Hop-On Hop-Off Tram, Gondola...
Ranked #1 of 237 things to do in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: At the heart of Christchurch's reputation as the Garden City, the Gardens are a place of ever-changing beauty. Showcasing flora and fauna of New Zealand and other parts of the world, the Gardens feature one of the finest collections of exotic and local plants in New Zealand. With more than 1.1 Million visitors each year the Botanic Gardens are one of the Christchurch's most popular and well-loved attractions.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A "must see" if you have a few hours”
Reviewed November 14, 2013

The hubby and I flew from Queenstown to Christchurch and had a few hours to kill before we drove to Kaikoura. My brother used to live here and recommended the Botanic Gardens. Absolutely gorgeous!!! I have been to a few gardens in various cities and countries and this is one of my favorites! We had a lovely, quiet, calm and romantic stroll around the beautiful park. The rose garden was the highlight (and I don't even care for roses). We saw so many different varieties and colors and the smell was wonderful!
There were tons of trees that I would have climbed if I were a kid! I wish we had more time... great spot for a picnic and an afternoon spent reading a book under the trees.

So, if you are looking for some activity in Christchurch and only have a few hours... please go to the botanic gardens - you will not regret it!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Div314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,543 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,105
    1,305
    117
    11
    5
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Aptos, California
Level Contributor
45 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A 'don't miss' experience!”
Reviewed November 11, 2013

This beautiful oasis in Christchurch must be seen to be believed. It was likely the very best botanical gardens I've seen in any country. Make sure you plan to spend most of a day here -- there is so much to see. Most of all, take time to smell the roses (and many, many other flowers and plants!).

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank JoanneE837
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coffs Harbour
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Peaceful & beautiful”
Reviewed November 8, 2013

Beautiful and all you hear is the birds twittering.
I loved the way the trees were labelled, it makes it easier
for those of us who have no idea what sort of tree it is.
Also loved the ducks swimming in the river.
It is a lovely place to take time out and take a very
leisurely stroll.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jodaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
187 reviews
66 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
“Gorgeous!”
Reviewed November 6, 2013

Really beautiful gardens. The place is huge and well maintained. They have both a heritage and formal rose garden, plenty of "exotic" (imported) trees including Giant Redwoods, herb borders, a maple glen, native New Zealand garden, lovely rock garden, archery lawn. There is also an extensive kids' play area. A few nice sculptures and fountains and the river Avon meandering through. A beautiful place to spend an afternoon and have a picnic. And it's free! You can walk the entire Gardens in a few hours and it's an enjoyable way to get some exercise.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank squirrelmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful serene place to go”
Reviewed November 4, 2013

Christchurch Botanic gardens are always well maintained and colourful. This is always a great place to walk,enjoy and stop for a while. Very peaceful. Easy to get to and several buses go past here or you can drive and park.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sharon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Christchurch Botanic Gardens also viewed

Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 

Been to Christchurch Botanic Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing