We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent, the best hotel we have stayed in!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The George Christchurch
Ranked #5 of 146 Hotels in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed December 22, 2006

After a tour of New Zealand in a camper van my partner and I booked into The George for come luxury and comfort. We were not disapointed!

From the reception staff to room service everyone was commited to making our stay the best.

We booked an executive room and on arrival we were upgraded to a suite overlooking Hagley Park. The room was more than we could of asked for with a very comfortable bed, 2 plasma screen tv's, a living area, spa bath and fully stocked and very tempting mini bar.

We only ate breakfast in the hotel but this was just because we were exploring Christchurch and found lots of places to eat. The menu's looked very good and would definatly book a meal the next time we stay.

If you want a hotel which is small, luxurious and pays attention to the smaller details to keep guests happy then I would say this is the hotel for you!

  • Stayed: November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank expectthebest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,423)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,354 - 1,360 of 1,423 reviews

Reviewed December 4, 2006

We stayed two nights in November 06 as part of a tour of NZ. Following the advice of an earlier tripadvisor, we asked for a garden facing room which was very comfortable and quiet. The staff were very friendly and helpful and keen to have us try their Pescatore Restaurant. The food was of high quality but portions were small and satisfying the chef's artistry seemed more important than satisfying the customer's appetite. It's also one of those restaurants where you have to ask if you want salt and pepper.
On the second night, we opted for the alternative restaurant, 50 on the Park. The food was just as good but more generously proportioned and I have to say we preferred it.
Overall, we enjoyed our stay and would recommend it.

  • Stayed: November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank premoth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Phoenix
15
Reviewed June 20, 2006

This hotel is above average and is one of the nicestest in Christchurch. The staff is impeccable and very helpful. The rooms however are just average and the road outside is a little nosiy so a room by the gardens in the back is optimal.

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2006

A small very comfortable hotel. Well appointed spacious room. Family hotel atmosphere created by the staff for whom nothing too much trouble. Excellent restaurant though may be too expensive for some, even so good value. Extremely helpful concierge desk, if the staff do not know, they will do all they can to find out. Front of hotel overlooks a park - do not recommend the municipal golf course! Curators House restaurant within walking distance also good value.

3  Thank georgeandsheila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2006

Stayed at the George through the Amex FHR programme. Arrived to very pleasant staff and an upgrade to a suite(which seamed to have just been renovated). The restaurant at the hotel was recommended so we decided to give it a try, which was a big mistake. The restaurant was very busy that night with two large tables and staff seemed a bit streched. As for my steak to be well done...had to wait 30mins to get main course after starter and the meat was rare. I was very pissed off at this point as i could not not wait for another 30mins to get fed, so just asked for the waitress to take it away, she did offer to get another one made up..but by this time i was put off my meal.

I found it disspointing that no staff returned to the table to ask if they could offer anything, they simply ignored our table. I aksed for the bill and founf it extremely patronising that they took of the lamb for the bill but still had the nerve to present me with a bill. Any top hotel even if they were to charge for the food would ensure a manager present to atleast appologise, or offer a token(dessert?) Non existant..staff could not care less. I must add however that my wife really enjoyed what she got served. Pity as the this matter could have been resolved by more experienced staff.

As i was still hungry, i called a cab and went to get a takeaway. While i was away a manager did phone the room(and spoke to my wife) to apologise for the food and also that staff should not have given us the bill which would be taken care of. However apologies aside the manager should have had the courtesy to speak to me, as i had the problem with the food..again no attempt during my stay of any manager coming to speak to me.

But this was not the reason for me giving the hotel 2stars. We found the hotel very noisy(internal and external noise!). We could hear the people in the room next to us..and i mean hear every word and every conversation. We heard the people above us as well and it wasnt just faint noises.

As the hotel was on the main road all you get all night is boy racers with their exhaust systems and blasting music all night. We were on a nice quiet holiday but the noise ensured that i did not get a decent sleep for the three days that i was there.

Would i stay there again? Staff for most part were very friendly and accomodating, but the noise..the answer would be probably not!

  • Stayed: May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank machaudry2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2006

I had to write in to say how lovely the staff at the hotel were. I was surprised to read that others had found them stuffy. From the minute we walked into the hotel to the minute we left the staff could not have been more helpful, providing us with directions to the town, art galleries and even restaurants. On arrival we were offered a glass of water and then once in our room we were brought a complimentary glass of juice. There is free internet access downstairs in the lobby. The self-help laundry is free and they even provide the washing powder. The hotel is in a wonderful location, close to town but not noisy. There is carparking right outside the door. There is a choice of two restaurants in the hotel and a lobby bar that serves great cocktails. The hotel rooms are a little tired but they are about to be renovated shortly. All in all we had a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed: April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Skiathite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2006

Two stays at this hotel while touring South Island - one for two nights and one for one. The service was some of the best we've experienced anywhere in the world. Nothing special about the rooms, but the position's good and food in the restaurant excellent.
We'd certainly go back.

  • Stayed: March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank PJGJAG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.6 mi away
Heritage Christchurch
Heritage Christchurch
#7 of 146 in Christchurch
702 reviews
0.6 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
#12 of 146 in Christchurch
2,063 reviews
0.9 mi away
Chateau on the Park - Christchurch, a DoubleTree by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Montreal
Hotel Montreal
#9 of 146 in Christchurch
232 reviews
0.6 mi away
Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square Hotel
4.1 mi away
Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The George Christchurch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The George Christchurch

Address: 50 Park Terrace, Christchurch 8001, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Christchurch
#3 Business Hotel in Christchurch
#5 Luxury Hotel in Christchurch
#7 Romantic Hotel in Christchurch
Price Range: $257 - $629 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The George Christchurch 5*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The George is the essence of supreme comfort. Its 53 spacious rooms are designed with a stylish eye for detail, complete with luxury amenities. With a one-to-one ratio of staff to guests, impeccable service is guaranteed. In 2013, 2012 and 2010 it was recognised as ‘New Zealand’s #1 City Hotel’ in Travel + Leisure World’s Best Awards, was New Zealand’s Leading Boutique Hotel’ 2006 – 2010 & 2012 – 2013 in the World Travel Awards. The George offers discerning travellers superb comfort and individual attention in an intimate ambiance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your The George Christchurch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The George Christchurch Hotel Christchurch
The George Hotel Christchurch
George Hotel Christchurch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing