We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommend The George Christchurch NZ”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The George Christchurch
Ranked #6 of 145 Hotels in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Suffolk, England
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Highly recommend The George Christchurch NZ”
Reviewed June 17, 2006

A small very comfortable hotel. Well appointed spacious room. Family hotel atmosphere created by the staff for whom nothing too much trouble. Excellent restaurant though may be too expensive for some, even so good value. Extremely helpful concierge desk, if the staff do not know, they will do all they can to find out. Front of hotel overlooks a park - do not recommend the municipal golf course! Curators House restaurant within walking distance also good value.

Helpful?
3 Thank georgeandsheila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,330 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    926
    280
    93
    25
    6
See reviews for
147
777
65
190
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
machaudry
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2006

Stayed at the George through the Amex FHR programme. Arrived to very pleasant staff and an upgrade to a suite(which seamed to have just been renovated). The restaurant at the hotel was recommended so we decided to give it a try, which was a big mistake. The restaurant was very busy that night with two large tables and staff seemed a bit streched. As for my steak to be well done...had to wait 30mins to get main course after starter and the meat was rare. I was very pissed off at this point as i could not not wait for another 30mins to get fed, so just asked for the waitress to take it away, she did offer to get another one made up..but by this time i was put off my meal.

I found it disspointing that no staff returned to the table to ask if they could offer anything, they simply ignored our table. I aksed for the bill and founf it extremely patronising that they took of the lamb for the bill but still had the nerve to present me with a bill. Any top hotel even if they were to charge for the food would ensure a manager present to atleast appologise, or offer a token(dessert?) Non existant..staff could not care less. I must add however that my wife really enjoyed what she got served. Pity as the this matter could have been resolved by more experienced staff.

As i was still hungry, i called a cab and went to get a takeaway. While i was away a manager did phone the room(and spoke to my wife) to apologise for the food and also that staff should not have given us the bill which would be taken care of. However apologies aside the manager should have had the courtesy to speak to me, as i had the problem with the food..again no attempt during my stay of any manager coming to speak to me.

But this was not the reason for me giving the hotel 2stars. We found the hotel very noisy(internal and external noise!). We could hear the people in the room next to us..and i mean hear every word and every conversation. We heard the people above us as well and it wasnt just faint noises.

As the hotel was on the main road all you get all night is boy racers with their exhaust systems and blasting music all night. We were on a nice quiet holiday but the noise ensured that i did not get a decent sleep for the three days that i was there.

Would i stay there again? Staff for most part were very friendly and accomodating, but the noise..the answer would be probably not!

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank machaudry2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2006

I had to write in to say how lovely the staff at the hotel were. I was surprised to read that others had found them stuffy. From the minute we walked into the hotel to the minute we left the staff could not have been more helpful, providing us with directions to the town, art galleries and even restaurants. On arrival we were offered a glass of water and then once in our room we were brought a complimentary glass of juice. There is free internet access downstairs in the lobby. The self-help laundry is free and they even provide the washing powder. The hotel is in a wonderful location, close to town but not noisy. There is carparking right outside the door. There is a choice of two restaurants in the hotel and a lobby bar that serves great cocktails. The hotel rooms are a little tired but they are about to be renovated shortly. All in all we had a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Skiathite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orpington, Kent, UK
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2006

Two stays at this hotel while touring South Island - one for two nights and one for one. The service was some of the best we've experienced anywhere in the world. Nothing special about the rooms, but the position's good and food in the restaurant excellent.
We'd certainly go back.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank PJGJAG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Mesa, CA
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2006

We (two couples) stayed 2 nights after having reserved some months in advance. The rooms were quite decent, though certainly nothing extraordinary. Of the two rooms, one faced the parking lot, the other had a balcony and was a bit smaller.
We were particularly struck by this having been the only place of many where we'd stayed on South Island in the same or more costly price range where the staff on check in, the person who brought cold drinks to the rooms, and the people who were on the desk at at the bar later in our stay all (with the exception of one bellman our last morning) seemed humorless, distant and/or downright unfriendly; perhaps a bit taken with themselves and/or with the idea that they were quite the best that could exist and somewhat annoyed to be bothered by guests arriving.
The restaurant of course, is quite superb, one of the best in Christchurch that we encountered, and having a fine reputation among townspeople we met and in the guides. (A quite, quite different spot in town where we had lunch, called Minx, after the car by that name, was just splendid, as well.)
All in all, each of the four of us concluded that we would never suggest that any friends stay at The George, even though we had no alternatives to recommend.
Perhaps one of the best things about it, besides its well known restaurant was the off-street parking and the proximity to the park for walks at various times of day.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank drjj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2006

Attention to detail and above average service distinguish this hotel. It reinforces the old adage - you get what you pay for....well, almost. An unassuming appearance, 3 star plumbing and fairly uninspiring room decor, despite a recent renovation, take the gloss off. For a longer stay, a suite with a park view is a must as the rooms are generally small.

The restaurant is quite ambient; it has a lovely onyx feature wall but is a little disappointing in terms of food and service.

However, it's probably the best Christchurch has to offer at present.

  • Stayed February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank york_701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
B
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2006

Me and my wife honeymooned at the george in January 06. Stayed for two wonderful nights. The hotel was wonderful, the staff and service were both of the highest quality and we will definitely be back!

  • Stayed January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PAUL DUNS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.6 mi away
Heritage Christchurch
Heritage Christchurch
#7 of 145 in Christchurch
646 reviews
0.6 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
#12 of 145 in Christchurch
1,847 reviews
0.9 mi away
Chateau on the Park - Christchurch, a DoubleTree by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Montreal
Hotel Montreal
#15 of 145 in Christchurch
196 reviews
0.6 mi away
Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square Hotel
0.8 mi away
Merivale Manor
Merivale Manor
#3 of 145 in Christchurch
629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The George Christchurch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The George Christchurch

Property: The George Christchurch
Address: 50 Park Terrace, Christchurch 8001, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Christchurch
#3 Business Hotel in Christchurch
#6 Luxury Hotel in Christchurch
#7 Romantic Hotel in Christchurch
#15 Family Hotel in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The George Christchurch 5*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The George is the essence of supreme comfort. Its 53 spacious rooms are designed with a stylish eye for detail, complete with luxury amenities. With a one-to-one ratio of staff to guests, impeccable service is guaranteed. In 2013, 2012 and 2010 it was recognised as ‘New Zealand’s #1 City Hotel’ in Travel + Leisure World’s Best Awards, was New Zealand’s Leading Boutique Hotel’ 2006 – 2010 & 2012 – 2013 in the World Travel Awards. The George offers discerning travellers superb comfort and individual attention in an intimate ambiance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Agoda, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The George Christchurch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The George Christchurch Hotel Christchurch
The George Hotel Christchurch
George Hotel Christchurch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing