We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Be careful about booking here” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of The George Christchurch

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The George Christchurch
Ranked #6 of 148 Hotels in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Be careful about booking here”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

We booked here then received an email from The George advising of potential "traffic issues" around their hotel. We rang and asked for an assurance that the traffic would not result in noise problems. Despite asking quite specifically twice, no assurance could be given. So we cancelled our booking. We had no intention of staying at The George if there were going to be noise issues. The George now refuses to refund our money.

I am sure they will reply to this posting with the same "excuses" and "compromises" they sent to us. Quite frankly the traffic issues and potential noise were there problem, not ours.
We are a very unhappy customer.
My advice to you is to be very careful about making a booking here. They don't understand the concept of customer service at all.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ponsonbypat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGeorgeGM, General Manager at The George Christchurch, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
Of course we are concerned about keeping our guests happy and as evidenced by the vast majority of the review on this site and numerous awards for customer service over the years we consistently do a very good job of this.
One of the ways we do this is to be very clear about our policies and be consistent in our application of them so we treat all our guests equally. We don't believe that we should succumb to bullying with threats of public defamation or unsubstantiated legal action.
When the local authorities advised us that the were going to be road works outside the hotel as part of the ongoing earthquake infrastructure repairs, creating a detour for some travellers, we advised all guests with future reservations. Where possible, and definitely the case in this instance, we advised guests well before our cancellation period came into effect.
This guest waited for days until inside the cancellation period and then at the last minute, cancelled his reservation. This left us with an unsold room on a night when we had been previously full. Once the night has past we can never sell that room night again, whereas if the guest had cancelled outside the cancellation policy, we would have been able to.
Despite this creating a loss for us, and our cancellation policy indicating a one night charge, we extended a full credit for a future stay. This was after the guest had informed us that his company had a local branch in Christchurch and that he had an ongoing need for hotel accommodation. Therefore in our eyes the guest had not incurred any penalty, merely prepaid for a night's accommodation that he would have plenty of occasions to use in the near future.
The hotel had lost money from the actions of the guest but had delivered far in excess of the policy that had been agreed to by the guest when they made their reservation. The guest insisted that we provide a guarantee that they would have a totally undisturbed stay at all hours of the day. We responded that we would do our best by allocating a quiet room away from the street and assured the guest that the road work was not taking place outside business hours and to date had not caused any disturbance to guests. Unfortunately, not having any control over the roadworks, we could not provide an absolute guarantee.
In summary:
- In the interest of full disclosure we advised the guest of road works that in reality have created a minor detour but no other disturbance.
- We did this allowing plenty of time to cancel with no penalty.
- The hotel incurred a loss as a result of the guest's actions.
- We went above and beyond by still offering a free credit to someone who promised lots of future business in order to negotiate a discounted rate in the first place. However it now appears obviously had no intention of using us again, or else why would he be upset with a full credit?

Bruce Garrett
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,227 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    845
    262
    90
    24
    6
See reviews for
136
719
61
167
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
281 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

Nothing was too much for these guys when I stayed there recently. Everyone was fantastic and very helpful. I was even given a small teddy bear (named George of course) by the room steward as a welcome gift. A lovely touch to an awesome hotel. 5+ stars for this beautiful hotel in the middle of earthquake torn Christchurch.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank crocteaser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

Simply a home a way from home but better service, from the moment you arrive with the wonderful friendly staff to a complimentary welcome drink to the stunning rooms and then the evening bed turn down service and the complimentary teddy bear. All these things plus great room service and friendly staff make this the best place to say in Christchurch and for me New Zealand.
Great in house restaurants and close to Hagley Park make this the ideal location and place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MichaelJemison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

My wife and I booked The George as a place to unwind after a fairly lengthy road trip around the South Island, before heading to the airport.

We were both fairly conscious of the cost, given that although we have stayed in 5 star hotels quite often, they are usually a bit cheaper. This was soon alleviated after arriving.

The George operates a business that is incredibly personal. This occurs the moment you enter the lobby and are seated to discuss your booking with a friendly staff member and continues with being shown your room and run through its amenities in person. There are also a few surprises in store which other people have mentioned in their reviews.

After eating and staying in the hotel it gave me an appreciation. This wasn't a place that was 'expensive'. It is simply a business doing its very best to pursue what it sees as perfection. The rooms are of an extremely high quality and items are sourced from local suppliers and artists. The staff are all extremely warm and professional without exception. And the small surprises here and there, even the complimentary drinks brought to the room just after arrival, show a great deal of thought has been given to the experience.

I really liked the furniture and asked about the couches. A staff member emailed me the next day with all the details and a contact for the supplier. It is these small follow up actions which are really appreciated.

I would heartily recommend staying here to anyone. Beyond that, room 416 (Park Suite) is the finest room we've ever been lucky enough to stay in. The Park Suite rooms would be a fantastic choice for any special occasion.

Room Tip: Room 416 is AMAZING. It is on the corner of the building with nice views to the park. Beyond this it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MattMakesPhotos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland New Zealand
Level Contributor
66 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

The room was very nicely appointed and clean. The service in the restaurant was excellent and it was a very pleasant stay.

Everything was as it should be for a 5* hotel. I would have written this review earlier but there is a time limit between writing reviews.

Room Tip: The main building rooms are nicer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aztec007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
77 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

We stayed at The George for one night when we arrived we were welcomed at the door and escorted to the check in desk, we were checked in incredibly quickly and were given an upgrade to a suite. While walking to our room we were a bit worried because the carpet in the public areas was a bit tired and stained but on opening the door to our room all I can say is wow what an exceptional room, huge bed, comfortable couch, large flat screen tv's, lovely bathroom, shower couldn't have asked for more. In our room for 10mins and reception rings offering complementary drinks while we settle in could this get any better? Yes make sure you got to the in house restaurant delicious. On our return to our room we found he cutest teddy bear to take with us. What a great hotel will definitely be back next time we are in Christchurch. Thank you to all of the staff for making us feel so special.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Catznz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
46 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

My research led me to find that since the earthquake, this is the 'nicest' place to stay in Christchurch.

Internally the hotel is quite modern and very nicely decorated. Our ground floor room was very small but very well presented. The bathroom was very modern and clean.

Staff seemed cold and disinterested most of the time but any request was met without fuss.

Easy car parking and within walking distance to 'CBD/Red Zone'

Breakfast was okay but the degustation dinner (Pescatore) was fantastic and highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dazman69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGeorgeGM, General Manager at The George Christchurch, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear Dazman69,

Thank you for your reviews of both The George and our signature restaurant Pescatore. We are delighted you particularly enjoyed your dinner and for your comments that we are the nicest place to stay in Christchurch. Of course we like to think that we were the nicest before the earthquakes as well but admit that we do have an obvious bias.

We will raise your comments regarding the perceived staff attitudes with our team. This is the opposite of the impression they usually give, as indicated by a large number of the reviews on this site. We are glad that despite this they still responded to all your requests willingly.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The George on your next visit to Christchurch to conduct further research.

Kind regards,
Bruce Garrett
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.6 mi away
Heritage Christchurch
Heritage Christchurch
#7 of 148 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 601 reviews
0.5 mi away
Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square Hotel
0.6 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
#15 of 148 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch
0.8 mi away
Merivale Manor
Merivale Manor
#4 of 148 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 553 reviews
0.8 mi away
Rydges Latimer Christchurch Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The George Christchurch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The George Christchurch

Property: The George Christchurch
Address: 50 Park Terrace, Christchurch 8001, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Christchurch
#3 Green Hotel in Christchurch
#6 Luxury Hotel in Christchurch
#7 Romantic Hotel in Christchurch
#15 Family Hotel in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The George Christchurch 5*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The George is the essence of supreme comfort. Its 53 spacious rooms are designed with a stylish eye for detail, complete with luxury amenities. With a one-to-one ratio of staff to guests, impeccable service is guaranteed. In 2013, 2012 and 2010 it was recognised as ‘New Zealand’s #1 City Hotel’ in Travel + Leisure World’s Best Awards, was New Zealand’s Leading Boutique Hotel’ 2006 – 2010 & 2012 – 2013 in the World Travel Awards. The George offers discerning travellers superb comfort and individual attention in an intimate ambiance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your The George Christchurch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The George Christchurch Hotel Christchurch
The George Hotel Christchurch
George Hotel Christchurch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing