We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Business Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The George Christchurch
Ranked #6 of 144 Hotels in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Business Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

Accommodation in Christchurch can be hard to get these days, so to find such a great hotel where the rooms were comfortable, the staff helpful & friendly and access to the hotel & parking were easy - is a real bonus.
Wouldn't hesitate in recommend this hotel to any business traveller. Especially now as the weather is turning cold - all rooms are heated, warm and very welcoming!
Food fantastic, great wine list at the bar. Love being so close to the park & other good restaurants.
Could not fault any aspect of my 3 day stay here.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacq38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,265 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    873
    269
    92
    25
    6
See reviews for
139
747
61
171
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

Our room was clean, warm & comfortable, loved the heated bathroom floor. Very comfortable mattress & pillows. Room service in the mornings, so nice to return at midday to find our room had already been cleaned. Internet signal poor and our 'free unlimited' use seemed to get cut off very quickly.
Most of the staff were friendly, but the reception desk staff seemed a bit unfriendly or vague. Breakfast & coffee okay, better to venture out if wanting real coffee.
Our room was small & looked out to the carpark which for one night was ok but I am sure there are larger rooms & better views if staying longer.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms on carpark side, if view or privacy important
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGeorgeGM, General Manager at The George Christchurch, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Dear Kim C,

Thank you for your review. We are pleased you enjoyed the room and found it clean and comfortable.

We have discussed your comments with our reception team and used this as a training example. Generally our guests comment that all staff, particularly reception, are warm and friendly, so we need to ensure we can achieve this every day with every team member.

Our current internet offering is free for a limited amount of data, sufficient for emails and basic web browsing. There should not be anywhere advertising that we have unlimited free use (although this is available from the lobby guest computers). I would like to apologise for any misunderstanding that occurred with this.

Thank you again for taking the time to post your feedback.

Kind regards,

Bruce Garrett
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, illinois
Level Contributor
162 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

We stayed at the George for 3 weeks on business. We had a very good time and were taken care off as if we were home. The hotel is very conveniently located in front of the Hagley Park and close to the city center, and many good restaurants (and bars). The staff was very helpful and the hotel comfortable - the only downside is the gym located outside of the hotel with limited hours. We had a great stay!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Coffeesip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGeorgeGM, General Manager at The George Christchurch, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Dear Coffeesip,

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback. Staying in a hotel for three weeks gives you plenty of time to ascertain the true essence of a property and also find any flaws.

We are delighted you felt at home here as that is the very atmosphere we aim to achieve. We are also very glad that you enjoyed our location and the helpfulness of our team.

Kind regards,

Bruce Garrett
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
93 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013

This is a fantastic location for running business conferences/workshops at. We have come here repeatedly as the staff are excellent both prior to the workshops & during the event. It is easy to get to, find parking etc. I would recommend The George as your first option for running your business meeting large or small. Lovely location being right next to Hagley Park. I would imagine it would be a fantastic wedding venue too. Food fantastic. Reasonably priced too.

Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank 70HT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newburyport, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
112 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2013 via mobile

With all the quake damage in Christchurch this hotel stands out as a beacon of high service in Christchurch. Stayed here for 3 weeks and I got to know the hotel and staff very well. Good food, rooms are clean and modern. New entertainment system in the rooms although the price of a movie rental is more than you could just buy the DVD. The gym is off site which is not ideal but Hagley park is across the street and perfect for a good 5 k run. My only complaint are the self washers and dryers which are constantly broken, don't have hot water and just need to be upgraded. Location is perfect for restaurants, park and cbd. Hotel has 4 mountain bikes for guest use which are perfect for getting around town or a longer trek to the beach or hills.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caleb B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGeorgeGM, General Manager at The George Christchurch, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Dear Caleb B,

Thank you for taking the time to submit your feedback. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us, and particularly our service levels and our location.

We acknowledge your comments regarding the complimentary guest self-service laundry facilities and have instructed our maintenance team to ensure in future this equipment is all operating correctly.

Thank you again for your review.

Kind regards,

Bruce Garrett
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2013 via mobile

We were passing by and went in for a one off coffee and breakfast. Well we're we in for a surprise, absolutely delicious.
There is continental , a la carte or one with the lot.
My partner tried the grouper and I had traditional, both were wonderful.
Coffee stunning, try their short black.
Well done staff at the George.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Rod T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013

Even weeks before we arrived this hotel excelled itself by organising a car hire for us, no big deal you may think but they went the extra mile for us then and this level of caring, high quality service continued once we arrived. With us requiring a separate bed for our son the hotel kindly upgraded us to a superb suite with a tremendous bathroom. The facilities at the hotel are all high tech and once you know how to turn on the lights and open the curtains then it is most impressive.
Visually the external impression of the hotel is not great but in a City which suffered such recent tragedy this cannot be considered important and the friendliness of the staff (with the exception of one rather grumpy waitress at breakfast) and the quality of the rooms made up for this and more. Indeed, we ate in the hotel's very popular bistro one evening and the food was of a very high standard.

Room Tip: Try ot get a park view if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Vinay B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.6 mi away
Heritage Christchurch
Heritage Christchurch
#7 of 144 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 612 reviews
0.6 mi away
Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square Hotel
0.6 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
#15 of 144 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch
0.1 mi away
Hotel Montreal
Hotel Montreal
#14 of 144 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
0.8 mi away
Merivale Manor
Merivale Manor
#4 of 144 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The George Christchurch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The George Christchurch

Property: The George Christchurch
Address: 50 Park Terrace, Christchurch 8001, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Christchurch
#3 Green Hotel in Christchurch
#6 Luxury Hotel in Christchurch
#7 Romantic Hotel in Christchurch
#15 Family Hotel in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The George Christchurch 5*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The George is the essence of supreme comfort. Its 53 spacious rooms are designed with a stylish eye for detail, complete with luxury amenities. With a one-to-one ratio of staff to guests, impeccable service is guaranteed. In 2013, 2012 and 2010 it was recognised as ‘New Zealand’s #1 City Hotel’ in Travel + Leisure World’s Best Awards, was New Zealand’s Leading Boutique Hotel’ 2006 – 2010 & 2012 – 2013 in the World Travel Awards. The George offers discerning travellers superb comfort and individual attention in an intimate ambiance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your The George Christchurch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The George Christchurch Hotel Christchurch
The George Hotel Christchurch
George Hotel Christchurch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing