We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice big rooms - that need a good clean!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Heartland Hotel Cotswold
Ranked #56 of 146 Hotels in Christchurch
Reviewed December 14, 2013

Positives: Love the huge rooms with chairs/sofas. Staff were helpful and kind. I had a room service meal that was delivered promptly and was very good. Room was quiet and peaceful with no road noise.

Negatives: Cleaning of rooms is average at best - parts of my room were decidedly grimy and could have done with some thorough cleaning, especially the blue carpet.
Parking was difficult due to restaurant patrons parking in guest parking areas - we had to park out on the street and wait until late at night before we could move our car near our room.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NutellaF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maree W, General Manager at Heartland Hotel Cotswold, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2013

Dear NutellaF

Thank you for placing comments on Traipadvisor. I appreciate that you shared both positive and negative aspects of your recent stay. All of your comments have discussed in depth with my management team to ensure we meet and exceed our guest expectations.

Kind Regards Maree

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (331)
There are newer reviews for Heartland Hotel Cotswold
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

205 - 211 of 331 reviews

Reviewed November 29, 2013

The room is very big with sofa set, dining table and a big bathroom. We were impressed and felt like we were at home. The staff at the restaurant are friendly and helpful. However, it would be better if there was a lift as we stayed on the second floor. We would also prefer our single beds to be bigger ( we have 3 single beds). The overall stay is pleasant.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank May C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maree W, General Manager at Heartland Hotel Cotswold, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2014

Dear May C

Thank you for sharing your experience on Tripadvisor. I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to Heartland Hotel Cotswold in the future.

Kind Regards Maree

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2013

The food was tasty and the service was friendly, efficient, and helpful. But the very old and dated rooms left much to be desired. The bed sagged -- a lot - so much that once you climbed in, you couldn't get out!! The power went out when you turned on the lights near the bed. There was a circuit breaker panel high up on the wall where you could then see that turning the lights on caused a short circuit. The same short also caused another outlet in the living room area to go out so the hot water pot stopped working. The final straw - the room overlooked the street and the happy people talking and walking at 3 AM resulted in no sleep for the night. Other travelers loved their rooms and didn't have a problem. So our advice - avoid Room 806 (or maybe it was 802).

Room Tip: Avoid rooms overlooking the street.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JeanneHY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maree W, General Manager at Heartland Hotel Cotswold, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2013

Dear JeanneHY

Thank you for your feedback from your recent stay. Your comments are valuable and I have discussed each point in depth with my team.

I am glad that you had an enjoyable dining experience in Tudors on Papanui.

Kind Regards Maree

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2013

We had a great 3 day stay. The staff were all friendly. Our hotel room was very clean and spacious and the bed was very comfortable. It's location was handy to the places we were visiting. We had some f our meals in the restaurant which were nicely presented and good value. We would happily stay there again and recommend it to others.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennifer H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maree W, General Manager at Heartland Hotel Cotswold, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2013

Dear Jennifer H

Thank you for sharing your experience at Heartland Hotel Cotswold on Tripadvisor. I am very pleased that my team ensured you had a memorable stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards Maree

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2013

We spent two separate nights at the hotel.The rooms were wide and well furnished.On the first night we got separate rooms,one on the first floor and one on the second floor ,in two different buildings .When we came back they managed to put us same building first floor.
the location was a little bit far from everything ,although we walked downtown and took a Taxi on our way back.
There is a good restaurant at the entrance of the hotel courtyard ,at the second floor .We had dinner there on both evening the food was very good and the service as well.

Room Tip: If you need more then one room and you want it to be together ,indicate it when making the reservati...
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Liora62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maree W, General Manager at Heartland Hotel Cotswold, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2013

Dear liora62

It was a pleasure to welcome you back a second time within a few weeks. I agree the rooms are large and spacious. Our new menu was introduced in the restaurant in July and the comments have been very complimentary to date.

Thank you for sharing your experience on Tripadvisor and I hope you enjoyed your tour around the South Island.

Kind Regards Maree

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

There is no denying there is a shortage of accommodation in Christchurch whilst all the earthquake rebuild work is going on, so you have to book your accommodation early and be prepared to pay far above pre-earthquake rates. I normally stay at another hotel while in Christchurch for work but missed out on a room due to short notice and instead went to the Cotswold.

The rooms here would be suited to families trying to travel on a budget. Whilst spacious they are very outdated and even though they offer a kitchen, and I found multiple cleanliness issues

In there was very few utensils and crockery available to use. There was only two of all cutlery and crockery as well... so if you have a family of more than two you will have to take turns eating. Also, 2 glasses and pot I pulled out of the cupboard were filthy - both had residue dried and stuck on from previous guests.

The bathroom was also in need of updating. The light in my toilet was blown so I had to rely on light from other rooms. The shower was old, cracked and had mould in the joins. The vanity taps required quite an effort to turn off or they leaked.

The room in general is poorly insulated and you can hear a lot of outside noise. The curtains were dirty and smelt. As a solo female traveller I also didn't feel safe only having the standard lock on the ranch slider between myself and street access - I would have expected a second bolt or chain for security,

The bed was hard, as was the couch and the TV was only in the lounge so you couldn't watch it in bed. Most of the drawers in the bedroom were stuck shut or very difficult to open.

I won't be staying here again, I will be booking trips much more in advance and trying other hotels. I did however complete the Cotswold guest survey and room maintenance list so hopefully they sharpen up their act.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank thelawsons_nz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maree W, General Manager at Heartland Hotel Cotswold, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2013

To thelawsons_nz

Thank you taking the time to place your comments on Tripadvisor. I have personally reviewed your comments both on this site and from the guest questionnaire. I appreciate that you took the time to share the issues you faced during your stay at Heartland Hotel Cotswold and I can assure you that each point has been assessed.

Kind Regards Maree

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013

We overnighted here on our way from New Zealand to Europe, largely because of its close proximity to the city (a 15 minute stroll) and because we received a discount with our Entertainment Book. We enjoyed the stay although lugging our very large suitcases up the outside stairs to our room on the first floor was a bit of a pain. The rooms were very large and comfortable. Pity the bed wasn't to our liking. We found it too soft. But then we are getting a bit old and creaky! The restaurant was fine with lots of character. The breakfast was good although the waiter could have been more friendly. Nevertheless, we enjoyed our stay and will stay here again.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms on the first floor is you have heavy suitcases because there is no lift.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ravyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maree W, General Manager at Heartland Hotel Cotswold, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2013

Dear Ravyboy

Thank you for sharing your experience at Heartland Hotel Cotswold on Tripadvisor. Your comments are very valuable as we constantly look to improve each guest experience.

We hope to welcome you back to back in the future.

Kind Regards Maree

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
1.5 mi away
Quality Hotel Elms
Quality Hotel Elms
#35 of 146 in Christchurch
272 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pavilions Hotel
Pavilions Hotel
#14 of 146 in Christchurch
626 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel 115 Christchurch
Hotel 115 Christchurch
#39 of 146 in Christchurch
385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square Hotel
0.1 mi away
Merivale Manor
Merivale Manor
#2 of 146 in Christchurch
634 reviews
1.1 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
#11 of 146 in Christchurch
1,898 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heartland Hotel Cotswold? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heartland Hotel Cotswold

Address: 88-96 Papanui Road | Merivale, Christchurch 8014, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 146 Hotels in Christchurch
Price Range: $89 - $147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Heartland Hotel Cotswold 3.5*
Number of rooms: 77
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Heartland Hotel Cotswold reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heartland Hotel Christchurch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing