We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hotel with a medieval feel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Heartland Hotel Cotswold
Ranked #56 of 146 Hotels in Christchurch
Reviewed October 3, 2013

We overnighted here on our way from New Zealand to Europe, largely because of its close proximity to the city (a 15 minute stroll) and because we received a discount with our Entertainment Book. We enjoyed the stay although lugging our very large suitcases up the outside stairs to our room on the first floor was a bit of a pain. The rooms were very large and comfortable. Pity the bed wasn't to our liking. We found it too soft. But then we are getting a bit old and creaky! The restaurant was fine with lots of character. The breakfast was good although the waiter could have been more friendly. Nevertheless, we enjoyed our stay and will stay here again.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms on the first floor is you have heavy suitcases because there is no lift.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ravyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maree W, General Manager at Heartland Hotel Cotswold, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2013

Dear Ravyboy

Thank you for sharing your experience at Heartland Hotel Cotswold on Tripadvisor. Your comments are very valuable as we constantly look to improve each guest experience.

We hope to welcome you back to back in the future.

Kind Regards Maree

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (331)
There are newer reviews for Heartland Hotel Cotswold
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

211 - 217 of 331 reviews

Reviewed September 27, 2013

A lovely place that looks medieval. The hotel rooms are big and spacious and there is a lovely restaurant for breakfast. Most memorable is the big wooden door to the bathroom. It is conveniently located near a supermarket.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank star1ight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maree W, General Manager at Heartland Hotel Cotswold, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2013

Dear star1ight

I am so glad you enjoyed your stay at Heartland Hotel Cotswold. The breakfast in our newly refurnished Tudors on Papanui restaurant I agree is delicious.

We hope to welcome you back to Christchurch in the near future.

Kind Regards Maree

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2013

Stayed here as i received a discount with my Entertainment Book, very close to the city, close enough to walk which we did, although also on bus route B which is good if you have lots of bags,

The room was made up for the previous guest as there was a review sheet with his name on it and a small card on the table as well, which was a little strange.

The beds were comfy and the heater was more than good enough, the bathroom tidy but the cold water tap was very hard to turn off all the way.

I would have liked a hair dryer, i couldn't find one in the room

(excellent cafe down the road VIC cafe, and Carlton Court we went to the Thai place which was excellent 5 mins walk)

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Megan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maree W, General Manager at Heartland Hotel Cotswold, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2013

Dear Megan F

Thank you for placing comments on Tripadvisor. Feedback is always welcome as this allows us to constantly review our procedures. I hope you enjoyed your short stay in Christchurch.

Kind Regards Maree

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

We stayed at the Cotswold with a group of us
The rooms where clean and spacious and we all had a great night sleep on the lovely feather toppers they have on their beds.
We all had dinner in the Restaurant all 11 of us arrived without a booking , they quickly set a table for us and the service and food was wonder full, all staff where very friendly and helpful.
So Thank you Cotswold for a great stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anky66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHFJManager, General Manager at Heartland Hotel Cotswold, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2013

Dear Anky66

Thank you for placing feedback on Tripadvisor. I am pleased that you all enjoyed your dining experience and your stay at Heartland Hotel Cotswold. The restaurant, Tudors on Papanui has recently undergone a soft refurbishment, which included new furniture, and a sumptuous new menu designed by our Head Chef Michael Carrell.

We hope to welcome you back to Christchurch in the near future.

Kind Regards
Maree Welgus

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2013

We were staying here as I won A Heartlands Hotel voucher for bed and breakfast and are pleased I chose this hotel. The reception staff were very professional and friendly suggesting places to have dinner in the area and offered us a free pick up for the morning to the train station most appreciated.
The room was warm and clean with ample space. We had an early start and were eating breakfast at 6.30am which was delicious.
I would recommend this hotel and if in Christchurch again would stay here.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hills50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CotswoldHM, General Manager at Heartland Hotel Cotswold, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2013

Dear Hills50

Congratulations on winning a week end away.
We were very proud that you choose to spend it at the Heartland Cotswold. We pride ourself in helping as much as possible and our buffet breakfast is a good way to start the day.

We hope to welcome you again in the near future.
Thank you
Kind regards

Patrick Moittie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2013

The hotel rooms were very spacious..a quaint toilet with roof top view of the sky..a big living room with Tv and sink/kitchen, and a restaurant with excellent New zealand food ( my husband had lamb chops which were delicious). The hotel was centrally located and we spent some relaxing time just walking at the nearby park. There was nothing much to do in the city, but the hotel made up for it!
The service could be better..as we were told someone would help with the luggage as the room was quite far inside but no one turned up for 30 minutes.
Do not ask for packed breakfast or lunch or specify what you need!

Room Tip: rooms on higher floors with great view and better
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pratimagoel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CotswoldHM, General Manager at Heartland Hotel Cotswold, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2013

Dear Pratimagoel,

Thank you for your comments regarding our rooms and service.
As you mentioned , we pride ourselves in serving NZ food as well as wines.
We are happy to cater box breakfats or lunches to specific dietery requiremnts if specified.

Thank you and we hope to welcome you again
Kind regards

Patrick Moittie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2013

After a long flight from the UK, the hotel offered exactly what we needed - a room/suite with plenty of room, comfortable chairs and a soft welcoming bed! The hotel was easy to find with plenty of car parking space. All the usual facilities were on offer with plenty of towels and soap in the bathroom. The staff were very friendly from the reception desk right through to the restaurant and were always willing to chat. Food was plentiful and the choice very good. There is no need to leave hungry! We only spent 2 nights but left fully prepared, rested and ready for the rest of our holiday.

Room Tip: We had booked a suite, so cannot comment on rooms although from our experience we do not believe the...
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian5982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CotswoldHM, General Manager at Heartland Hotel Cotswold, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2013

Dear Ian 5982

Thank you very much for your positive comments.
We take pride in offering a friendly, welcoming and efficient service.

Our restaurant offers a varities of dishes and we are pleased to read that you enjoyed your experience.

We hope to welcome again at the Heartalnd Cotswold
Thank you
Kind regards

Patrick Moittie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
1.5 mi away
Quality Hotel Elms
Quality Hotel Elms
#35 of 146 in Christchurch
272 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pavilions Hotel
Pavilions Hotel
#14 of 146 in Christchurch
626 reviews
0.1 mi away
Merivale Manor
Merivale Manor
#2 of 146 in Christchurch
635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel 115 Christchurch
Hotel 115 Christchurch
#38 of 146 in Christchurch
386 reviews
1.1 mi away
Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square Hotel
1.0 mi away
Chateau on the Park - Christchurch, a DoubleTree by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heartland Hotel Cotswold? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heartland Hotel Cotswold

Address: 88-96 Papanui Road | Merivale, Christchurch 8014, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 146 Hotels in Christchurch
Price Range: $91 - $150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Heartland Hotel Cotswold 3.5*
Number of rooms: 77
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Heartland Hotel Cotswold reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heartland Hotel Christchurch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing