We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean but tired.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Heartland Hotel Cotswold
Ranked #56 of 146 Hotels in Christchurch
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Arrived to find we had been allocated room on roadside. Asked if we could be moved as the traffic noise would have bothered us. Reception was accommodating and moved us to the middle of their complex. Room overall was adequate but just lacks that pizazz that it probably heralded in its hey-day. Can't fault the cleanliness. The rooms themselves could be done with a makeover. Furniture might have been replaced a year ago but it really has the feel of a motel rather than a hotel. The bed was awful to be honest. It felt like a million people had slept on it as it had two firm indentations on where people had laid with a raised ridge going through the middle. Not our best night sleep we have had. Even the bed linen was so stiff and starchy that every time we moved it sounded like we were zipping up a canvas tent. Location is ideal for tourists who are wanting to see around the city of Christchurch. It puts you pretty much within walking distance to the city centre (well what is left of it). You are handy to amenities in the likes of Merivale and further up the road Northlands Mall.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HY-5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CotswoldHM, General Manager at Heartland Hotel Cotswold, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2013

Dear HY-5

Thank you for your comments about the cleanliness of our rooms and we always try to accommodate all our guests requests.
I'm sorry about the linen and I will follow up with our laundry.

Once again my sincere apologies for the inconvenience and I hope that we will have the pleasure to welcome you again in the near future.
Thank you

Kind regards
Patrick Moittie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (331)
There are newer reviews for Heartland Hotel Cotswold
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

233 - 239 of 331 reviews

Reviewed February 5, 2013

I stayed in this hotel a number of times when travelling for work. The rooms are nice enough, clean and comfortable, and the hotel is in a good location on Papanui Road. The winner in this place though is the Tudors Restaurant. The atmosphere is relaxed and the food has been amazing every time, even when I ordered room service. I've been back here numerous times with my husband and more recently with friends for dinner and the food was outstanding as always.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LesleyCurry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CotswoldHM, General Manager at Heartland Hotel Cotswold, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2013

Dear LesleyCurry

Thank you very much for your comments about the hotel and more importantly for your comments about the restaurant.
Often restaurants within an hotel are forgotten, so thank you for highlighting ours.

We hope to have the pleasure to welcome again in the near future.
Thank you
Kind regards

Patrick Moittie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2013

Stayed here on two separate nights in January. Nice location and both bedrooms were comfortable; breakfast was fine. The property boasts a sort of mock Tudor look which is OK from the outside but the internal decor in both the bedrooms and the common areas just looks dated. Time for an upgrade methinks. Also this hotel (along with most others we stayed at in NZ) charges for internet access which these days really should be included in the base price.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank davethewasp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CotswoldHM, General Manager at Heartland Hotel Cotswold, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2013

Dear Davethewasp,

Thank you for your comments about the hotel and its style.
Our dark room furniture unfortunately gives sometimes to some people a feel of 'old ' but our rooms and furniture have been refurbished about a year ago.
As you mentioned most hotel in NZ do not include the internet in their base rate as quite a few guests still not using it.

I hope we will have the pleasure to welcome again
Thank you
Kind regards

Patrick Moittie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Nice location, restaurant on site, our room was quite large with a separate bedroom. The bad; chair and sofa had lost their spring so you feel as if you are sitting on the floor, no microwave in the room, wifi is an extra charge (more for each additional device). Breakfast is extra charge, but available.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CotswoldHM, General Manager at Heartland Hotel Cotswold, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2013

Hello John K,

Thank you for sharing your point of view.
Our normal hotel rooms do not have a microwave, only our Self Contained Units do.
I'm sorry for the inconvenience and I do hope that you would have kept a good memory of the hotel and Christchurch.
Thank you
Kind regards

Patrick Moittie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013

For the second time in 18 years I pulled into this venue. The pricing, quality and service aspects are all top notch, and it is a safe discreet place. Menu practical and enjoyable, particularly if you are famished and it is a short stroll up the road to the highly enjoyable Merivale village, attitude and welcome a big plus! May Christchurch receive oceans of money for the most pleasant of cities and one of my Summer favourites. Well done Cotswold!

Room Tip: King suite on preferred rate
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Norheim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CotswoldHM, General Manager at Heartland Hotel Cotswold, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2013

Hello Norheim R,

Thank you very much for your positive comments about the hotel and Christchurch.
We look forward to welcome you again, hopefully not in 18 years time !!
Kind regards

Patrick Moittie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Good service, good location and very 'ye olde' English in it's style in a tasteful rather than worn out tacky way. If you have got this far in your research you should consider this hotel. Not in the CBD of course (sadly there is no CBD) and probably best if you have a car although it was on what looked like a regular bus route.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CotswoldHM, General Manager at Heartland Hotel Cotswold, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2013

Dear Paul C,

Thank you for your comments about the hotel.
You are correct , we are located on the bus route to everywhere in town or major shopping centers.
Thank you
Kind regards

Patrick Moittie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

There are no elevators in this hotel and no one offered us any help with our heavy luggage on two separate occasions that we checked into this hotel . Later in the evening , I saw another couple’s luggage being taken to the room by the staff, so I assumed I should I asked for help. Unfortunately we were booked to return back to this hotel on our way back to Auckland. This time we asked for help with luggage and the receptionist (male) said, rather rudely that the porter was off. He seemed too high and mighty to offer help to the guests himself. I personally do not think any person in the hospitality industry should find this job demeaning. His attitude was rotten. Had he said that the porter is off but he can help, we would have politely declined his offer anyhow.

This was our first visit to Christchurch so we asked at the reception for restaurant recommendations for dinner. This was around 5pm and the man at the reception directed us to Re:Start clearly stating that we will come across many eateries in this area. On reaching the area around Re:Start I was furious to find that everything was shut. Had the chap at reception forgotten that Re:Start normally shuts around 6 pm? The area was so dead and we walked for miles looking for a decent place to eat. I was exhausted soon and could be bothered looking anymore so ate at Burger King.

The rooms here are stuffy with thick dusty carpeting all over. There was too much unnecessary furniture in our room which made the room look like a dump. If you must stay at this hotel, avoid room 822 because incase the guests in the neighboring room are late sleepers and are using the bathroom till wee hours of the morning, the noise of the boiler and water running will keep you awake all night.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Saafari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CotswoldHM, Owner at Heartland Hotel Cotswold, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2013

Dear Saafari,

Please accept my sincere apologies for the lack of service that you have experienced.
This not our normal standard and you were correct in expecting more.

As I would like to persue internally your comment, can you please contact me, at your convenience, on
patrick.moittie@heartlandhotels.co.nz

I look forward to hear form you and once again please accept my sincere apologies.
Thank you
Kind regards

Patrick Moittie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
1.5 mi away
Quality Hotel Elms
Quality Hotel Elms
#35 of 146 in Christchurch
272 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pavilions Hotel
Pavilions Hotel
#14 of 146 in Christchurch
626 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel 115 Christchurch
Hotel 115 Christchurch
#39 of 146 in Christchurch
385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square Hotel
0.1 mi away
Merivale Manor
Merivale Manor
#2 of 146 in Christchurch
634 reviews
1.1 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
#11 of 146 in Christchurch
1,898 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heartland Hotel Cotswold? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heartland Hotel Cotswold

Address: 88-96 Papanui Road | Merivale, Christchurch 8014, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 146 Hotels in Christchurch
Price Range: $89 - $147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Heartland Hotel Cotswold 3.5*
Number of rooms: 77
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Heartland Hotel Cotswold reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heartland Hotel Christchurch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing