We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wish we could have stayed longer”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Heartland Hotel Cotswold
Ranked #54 of 145 Hotels in Christchurch
Pentraeth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Wish we could have stayed longer”
Reviewed July 23, 2012

We only had a one night stay here as we were picking up a campervan the next day. We had arrived at the airport and had not been told that the hotel that we had originally booked was not in use any more due to the earthquakes. A lovely lady at the airport arranged our overnight stay at the Heartland Hotel Cotswold and, coming from the UK, we were thrilled to see a mock tudor hotel. The room was very large and spacious and we had a large lounge, large bedroom and large bathroom. We ate in the Tudor Restaurant and the food was excellent. It was very busy when we were there as a coach party was staying but the service in the restaurant was excellent and the staff were very attentive. There was a separate bar area where you could eat before or after your meal. Breakfast was taken in the restaurant and there was plenty of choice and the food quality was very good. I would definitely stay here again. We did not use the swimming pool. The location was very good and we walked to the nearby park and into Christchurch itself.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank angleseypat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CotswoldHM, General Manager at Heartland Hotel Cotswold, responded to this review, August 12, 2012
Hello,

Thank you very much for your positive comments.
We are very proud of Tudors style and delighted that you enjoyed our hopsitality and service.

We look forward to welcome you again.
Kind regards
Patrick Moittie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    136
    92
    25
    16
See reviews for
53
147
23
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2012

We as a family of four (two adults and two children) have stayed about four times at Heartland Hotel. We previously lived in Christchurch and have stayed in between buying a home and selling again. We recently returned to Christchurch in April 2012 for a visit from Australia and again the hotel did not disappoint. It has been mentioned that the decor is rather dated, and I will agree, but the rooms we have stayed in have been spacious, clean and enough for our family. The staff at the front desk have always been helpful to my never ending changes and a recent move back to Christchurch was cancelled at the last minute, and once again the staff were very helpful with my cancellation. The breakfast was good and we have eaten in the restaurant a couple of times, and the staff were always friendly and helpful. I have stayed in a variety of backpacker and five star accommodation in my many years of travel and will recommend Heartland hotel as it is a great convenient base for anyone travelling to Christchurch.I will stay again when I return.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mishclark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CotswoldHM, General Manager at Heartland Hotel Cotswold, responded to this review, July 16, 2012
Hello,

Thank you very for taking the time to share your experiences at the hotel.
I will pass on your comments to the team.

Thank you and we look forward to welcome again in the Garden City
Kind regards

Patrick Moittie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2012

We had an overnight stay and found the room to be comfortable and very spacious. Tea and coffee making facilities were in the room. Loved the character of theTudor-style buildings, and attention to detail inkeeping with the theme. Had a good nights' sleep in the comfortable bed. Enjoyed the luxury of a bath, and very nice toiletries.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kathryn322
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CotswoldHM, General Manager at Heartland Hotel Cotswold, responded to this review, May 30, 2012
Hello
Thank you very much for your nice comments about the hotel and the look of it.
We take pride in its unique character and we look forward to welcome you again.

Kind regards
Patrick Moittie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magelang, Indonesia
Level 6 Contributor
307 reviews
270 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 287 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2012

I stayed at 20 May 2012. Great hotel, old but well maintained. Antique and unique hotel. Good receptionist service, but no free wifi internet. Trudor is a wonderful old restaurant, but the staffs' services were to slow. We must ask them to cleaning up the dirty table.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlexSantosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CotswoldHM, General Manager at Heartland Hotel Cotswold, responded to this review, May 22, 2012
Hello Mr Santosa,

Thank you for your comments about the hotel.
We have preferred not to hide the cost of the WiFI in the room rate, therefore that's why there is a reasonable fee for it.
Please accept my apologies for the restaurant service on Sunday morning.

Thank you
Kind regards

Patrick Moittie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2012

This was the most beautiful hotel my husband and I have ever stayed in. Being British we very much liked the Tudor-style and period features, and although some comments about this hotel have said the decor is old fashioned, we didn't find this. We found the place to be very well equipped with extremely comfortable furniture. We had a 2 bedroom apartment which we shared with my in-laws and they shared our love of the hotel.

The hotel bar was very nice, the restaurant was fairly standard but a bit pricey. There is a pool but when we went it was not heated (which i had read somewhere that it was) and so we couldn't use it. The lady at reception was absolutely lovely and couldn't do enough for you- but the man that was there that day was a bit abrupt, almost to the point of a little rude. There is a free shuttle bus to the Antarctic Centre which leaves from outside the hotel so that is very handy. Also just up the road (north from the hotel) are a few shops, restaurants and takeaways.

Overall we loved the place and would not only stay there again, but recommend it to anyone coming to Christchurch. There aren't as many hotels around there anymore due to the earthquake, but the Cotswold was a very reasonable price in a great location.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pigeon87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CotswoldHM, General Manager at Heartland Hotel Cotswold, responded to this review, May 1, 2012
Hello,

Thank you for your positive comments about Christchurch and the hotel.
To my knowledge the swimming was never heated, so I'm sorry for the inconvenience and confusion. I will also pass your comments to the Front Office team.

Thank you for your time and we hope to welcome you again.
Kind regards

Patrick Moittie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2012

Reception - Friendly and efficient

Rooms - Simple, clean and 'huge'. Only setback when staying in a two bedroom unit which we did - There is no entrance door in one of the bedroom. Though there is a common door that one can close en route entering the bedroom, it's also the way to the bathroom with its own entrance door, thus either one closes the en route door and everyone needs to knock on the door when using the bathroom or seeing each other walking in/out of the bathroom cos is directly opposite of the bedroom.

Comfortable but not for people when privacy matters.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dragon451
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CotswoldHM, General Manager at Heartland Hotel Cotswold, responded to this review, May 20, 2012
Hello ,

Thank you very for your feedback and comment about a door for the second unit.
This is a very intersting point of view, the shape of the archway don't make things easy but I will investigate some possibilities.
Thank you
Kind regards

Patrick Moittie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne victoria
Level 4 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed April 8, 2012

I stayed at this motel at the start and finish of my tour.I found the staff very welcoming and helpful.i would recommend this motel to everyone.meals very good ,room very good ,gardens lovely.sorry i didn't get to meet the resident cat.would definitely stay again if i was to go back there.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank homie_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CotswoldHM, General Manager at Heartland Hotel Cotswold, responded to this review, April 12, 2012
Hello ,

I'm happy to read that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel.
The cat is very well but enjoying the freedom of wondering around !!!

We hope to welcome you again.
Thank you
Kind regards

Patrick Moittie
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
1.5 mi away
Quality Hotel Elms
Quality Hotel Elms
#37 of 145 in Christchurch
269 reviews
0.7 mi away
Belmont Motor Inn
Belmont Motor Inn
#32 of 145 in Christchurch
99 reviews
0.1 mi away
Colonial Inn Motel
Colonial Inn Motel
#67 of 145 in Christchurch
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Merivale Manor
Merivale Manor
#2 of 145 in Christchurch
628 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ashford Motor Lodge
Ashford Motor Lodge
#42 of 145 in Christchurch
132 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pavilions Hotel
Pavilions Hotel
#15 of 145 in Christchurch
619 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heartland Hotel Cotswold? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heartland Hotel Cotswold

Property: Heartland Hotel Cotswold
Address: 88-96 Papanui Road | Merivale, Christchurch 8014, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 145 Hotels in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Heartland Hotel Cotswold 3.5*
Number of rooms: 77
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Heartland Hotel Cotswold reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heartland Hotel Christchurch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing