We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced and out of date!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Heritage Christchurch
Ranked #7 of 146 Hotels in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 28, 2014

Firstly, the pros: beautifully restored building. Absolutely magnificent. Nice toiletries. Very spacious.

Cons: No restaurant, no bar, a half stocked "vending machine" in the health club offered as an alternative. Us this a $400 a night hostel?????Beautiful decor in the rooms in keeping with the feel of the hotel just spectacular, but very dated in terms of the cabinet ware, tiling in the bathroom, etc. No aircon or central heating (a roof fan and a heater offered downstairs) this is seriously not a four or five star hotel. Needs a big upgrade. I would not have minded had I not paid the rate for a 5 star hotel or had I expected one!!! It would have allowed me the opportunity to stay somewhere with the amenities I wanted!!! I could have stayed at the brand new rydges down the road with a bar and restaurant for half the price!!!

Suggestions:
1) make it clear that there's no bar or restaurant
2) price accordingly for the lack of the above and for the lack of heating/cooling and dated cabinetware etc. people will still stay, and not be disappointed as the experience will match east they paid for and expect!

This place could be exceptional, but over promises and under delivers!

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Jeneye11111111111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HCHCResidentMgr, General Manager at Heritage Christchurch, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2014

Dear Jeneye11111111111,

Thank you for taking the time to place your feedback on TripAdvisor. I was disappointed to read your feedback in relation to your stay at Heritage Christchurch during February. I would like to thank you for your positive comments about the way in which we have restored the building itself and I’m pleased that you enjoyed the room amenities provided.

We do appreciate receiving suggestions from guests about how we can improve the overall guest experience. To that end I will revisit our website and ensure that it is clear that we currently only offer breakfast through Maddsions Restaurant and that we do not currently have a bar service available. I would like to highlight that we are currently working towards reopening our food & beverage operation, I can understand that it is frustrating that these services are not currently available. I was also sorry to read that you didn't like the décor; we have tried to ensure that the décor in our Suites is actually in keeping with the style, age and look of the building as a whole, rather than being of a more contemporary look/style hotel room as offered by chain hotels, as you've mentioned in your feedback. With regards to your feedback about the heating/cooling, due to the historical listing of the building we are not able to retrospectively fit a central heating system.

It is a shame that you didn't ask to talk with me personally while you were staying, I would I have loved to have taken the opportunity to talk through your concerns and maybe explain, in person, how we are tracking in terms of your feedback. I would again like to thank you for taking the time to place feedback on your experience at Heritage Christchurch.

Kindest Regards Marcus.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (666)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

428 - 434 of 666 reviews

Reviewed February 22, 2014

Visiting Christchurch is a humbling experience. Since moving to New Zealand we've visited twice and in the most recent visit we've seen really big progress. But there's a long way to go.

I assume that the heritage was damaged in the earthquake but you can't really notice it. It's an old Victorian style government building that you rarely see the likes of in this young country. It reminded me of an old school in the UK and it really is lovely. The only drawback is that the rooms as dated and in new of a refresh. But they are comfortable and clean.

The hotel did feel very quiet and a bit empty but we still really enjoyed staying.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CarlEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HCHCResidentMgr, General Manager at Heritage Christchurch, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2014

Dear CarlEdinburgh

Thank you for placing feedback on TripAdvisor. The Hotel is situated in a beautiful building as you've noted, the hotel wasn't really damaged, other than cornicing popping and cracking to gib walls in some Suites. These areas were repaired once we were allowed access to the hotel, in mid 2013; it’s a testament to the great work and skills of the contractors that you couldn't notice where any damage had occurred. I was sorry to read that you didn't like the décor; we have tried to ensure that the décor in our Suites is in keeping with the style and look of the building as a whole, rather than being of a more contemporary look/style hotel. We have had a very busy February; I believe that the feeling of the hotel being quiet and empty is due to the size and quietness of the space available within the building. We do hope to be able to welcome you back to Heritage Christchurch the next time you visit Christchurch.

Kindest Regards Marcus.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2014

When we arrived in Christchurch we understood why it had been difficult to find a hotel room. Many of the bigger hotels in the city centre were still cordoned off. We were then surprised that this old landmark building was still standing, but we learned it had previously been renovated to earth quake standards and recently converted into a hotel. The suite was not excessively stylish but very well equipped. Terrific gym and pool area downstairs and very helpful staff

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luxotraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HCHCResidentMgr, General Manager at Heritage Christchurch, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2014

Dear Luxotraveller

Thank you for taking the time to place feedback on TripAdvisor, subsequent to your stay in December. It is pleasing to read positive feedback about the hotel and our team.

Kindest Regards Marcus.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2014 via mobile

The hotel is in a beautiful building with high ceilings and grandiose features. The suites are very spacious with a fully equipped kitchen and laundry. The bedroom is on a mezzanine. The staff is very professional and helpful. We're very impressed by their customer service and willingness to solve issues.

The hotel location is in the most devastated area of the town and if you walk around, you'll see some of the aftermath of the last 2 earthquakes.
Tip: if you're a light sleeper, best to ask for a top floor room away from the road.
Also, if you need a ride to the airport, use the hotel shuttle for $18 for first adult, $24 per couple.
Last, ask the hotel for restaurant recommendation as the area is very quite.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Laetiha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HCHCResidentMgr, General Manager at Heritage Christchurch, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2014

Dear Laetiha

Thank you for taking the time to submit feedback on TripAdvisor after your recent stay. It is always pleasing to read positive comments about both the hotel and our team. We do have a strong focus on ensuring that all of our guests are comfortable, and solving any issues that arise is critical to this focus; I’m sorry that you encountered an issue during your stay with us. We hope that we may be able to welcome you back again, should you be visiting Christchurch in the future. Thank you for placing your feedback on TripAdvisor.

Kindest Regards Marcus.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2014

First, if you don't have to go to downtown Christchurch, don't. The city is struggling to rebuild itself after 2011 earthquakes, and they have a long way to go. The Heritage hotel has huge loft-style long-term stay suites, with new decor and nice big beds. The staff was very helpful and friendly. Unfortunately the hotel has no food or bar service, and neither does the town around it. I couldn't buy any convenience items after 10pm because there is Nothing open near the hotel at that hour. One suggestion to the hotel is to offer more convenience store items in the hotel (even more vending machines would be nice) since there is no selection elsewhere.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HCHCResidentMgr, General Manager at Heritage Christchurch, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2014

Dear PeterS

Thank you for taking the time to place your feedback on TripAdvisor. We do appreciate receiving ideas and suggestions from our guests about how we can improve our services and overall guest experience. I will look at your suggestion around offering more convenience items. It would be great if you could contact me directly (marcusk@heritagehotels.co.nz) to advise the type of items you were after, it maybe that we stock these items, but didn't communicate this to you. Thank you for your comment about the team being friendly & helpful; this is a key area that we are focusing on. We are currently working towards reopening our food & beverage operation, I can understand that it’s frustrating that these services are not currently available.

I would actively encourage visitors to come and experience downtown Christchurch; we do need to see more visitors returning while the city is in the rebuild phase. I would again like to thank you for taking the time to place feedback on your experience at Heritage Christchurch.

Kindest Regards Marcus.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2014

Excellent Location right in the center of the Town behind the Christchurch Church. The rooms were very spacious and very well done and had a colonial touch. The people at the reception were very helpful. We started our 10 day drive tour of South Island from here. You could walk down to most of the sights from here. The Dining Area is separate from the area and the breakfast was excellent.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PGJNewDelhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HCHCResidentMgr, General Manager at Heritage Christchurch, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2014

Dear PGJNewDelhi

Thank you for taking the time to submit feedback on TripAdvisor, after your stay in November. It is always satisfying to read such positive comments about both our hotel and team.

Kindest Regards Marcus.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2014

Fabulous and spacious hotel that resonated with early 20th century, colonial grandeur. Loved the split level 1 bed loft style apartment. Great gym and pool. Christchurch is still recovering from the earthquakes and feels like a war zone in some areas of the city centre but the Heritage is a beautiful sanctuary amongst the reconstruction.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FitzySyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HCHCResidentMgr, General Manager at Heritage Christchurch, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2014

Dear FitzySyd

Thank you for placing feedback on TripAdvisor. It was good to read that you enjoyed the style of our hotel and found us to be a sanctuary from all of the reconstruction in the central City. We hope to be able to welcome you back the next time you visit Christchurch.

Kindest Regards Marcus.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.1 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
#12 of 146 in Christchurch
1,949 reviews
0.6 mi away
The George Christchurch
The George Christchurch
#5 of 146 in Christchurch
1,372 reviews
1.4 mi away
Chateau on the Park - Christchurch, a DoubleTree by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square Hotel
0.3 mi away
Rydges Latimer Christchurch
Rydges Latimer Christchurch
#9 of 146 in Christchurch
680 reviews
1.3 mi away
Merivale Manor
Merivale Manor
#2 of 146 in Christchurch
649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heritage Christchurch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heritage Christchurch

Address: 28 - 30 Cathedral Square, Christchurch 8001, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Christchurch
#6 Business Hotel in Christchurch
#7 Luxury Hotel in Christchurch
#7 Family Hotel in Christchurch
#18 Romantic Hotel in Christchurch
Price Range: $167 - $298 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Heritage Christchurch 4.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Christchurch is a long way from the Mediterranean - nevertheless, the opulence of an Italian High Renaissance Palazzo awaits you at the Heritage Christchurch. Designed by Joseph Clark Maddison and opened in 1913, the hotel is listed as a category one building on the Historic Places Trust Register, reflecting its status as a building of national significance. The hotel's grand design is fitting: after all, Christchurch is regarded as the Garden City, and is regarded internationally for its culture and refinement. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Heritage Christchurch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heritage Christchurch Hotel Christchurch
Christchurch Heritage Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing