We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central and comfy - but beware 'free upgrade'”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Heritage Christchurch
Ranked #7 of 144 Hotels in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Central and comfy - but beware 'free upgrade'”
Reviewed July 19, 2011

We chose this hotel for the central location as we wanted to be able to recover from the long haul flight and see Christchurch before setting off to see the rest of the country. The staff were great and took our luggage as we arrived in the morning and rooms weren't ready. We were really pleased to be told we'd been given a free upgrade but should have been more wary - our room was large and lovely but had a view over the service yard and backed onto the lifts which were clearly audible for most of the night - not much help with the jet lag and the vibrations were less than restful as there'd been a large aftershock a few days before which made them very un-nerving. Ask for a front room looking over the square - hopefully what's left of Christchurch will not disappoint, it was a beautiful city and hopefully will be again soon

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emsieb39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

634 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    336
    197
    76
    12
    13
See reviews for
157
308
24
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2011

Beautiful hotel, in a beautiful city, and a great location.
The staff were great, the room was lovely and the hotel is right in the middle of Christchurch.

Fortunately we visited before the Earthquake. The hotel was right in the CBD were the earthquake struck worst, so I can't say how up to date the review is.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MichelleIreland9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeritageHotelsNZ, General Manager at Heritage Christchurch, responded to this review, May 26, 2011
Dear MichelleIreland9,

I am very pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay and appreciate your recognition of the staff effort.

We are currently located in the middle of the red zone but we are looking forward to gaining access. Following this we will be in a better position to advise a likely opening date.

We look forward to welcoming back all our loyal guests at that time.


Kind regards,
Gary Jarvis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keighley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
258 reviews
125 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2011

We stayed here just before the earthquake and had a suite in the Old Government Building beside the main hotel. It was large, with a bedroom on a mezzanine and a large living/ kitchen area. It was well eqipped but there was no air conditioning and the couches, chairs, carpets, etc were stained and had seen better days. Whilst it's great to have old world charm, and this building has it in spades, it shouldn't be an excuse for failing to replace soft furnishings and fitments when they start showing their age!

My other main bugbear was the alleged washed/dryer hidden in the bathroom - it washed but it most definitely did NOT dry, despite using that function for several hours!!

The hotel is brilliantly located right on Cathedral Square with tons of shops, bars, restaurants and places of interest on your doorstep. There was 30 minutes of free wi-fi in the lobby per day and the concierge helped us arrange the free bus transfer to the station for the Tranzalpine Express.

Despite the condition of the fitments, we enjoyed our stay and would have been hapy to stay on another day - just as well we didn't though as that was the day the earthquake struck!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hotel Harry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twizel
Level Contributor
130 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2011

I'm a regular at the Heritage, I rate this as the best business client hotel in central Christchurch. I'm routinely upgraded, the front desk staff are excellent, check-in and check-out fast and efficient. Rooms on the lower levels can be noisy which is a problem for all inner city hotels. Above all, the staff at the Heritage make the difference for me, after many years of travelling, hotel rooms and food all seem the same, I always go back to the places where the service is the best. The Heritage is right up there in my opinion.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Highlander65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
auckland
Level Contributor
52 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2011

Fabulous location and lovely staff. Can't moan and groan too much but I wish I had known that the "suites" were located only 3 levels high. I had read reviews already about this hotel having the usual yahoos and hooligans/boy racers on the weekends (as with any inner city hotel) but never expected it to be this bad. If you are booking a suite, it will be located in the Old Government Building. A stunning old building that has been renovated, however really really noisy. (It is only 3 levels).If I was to stay here again I would book a room in the actual hotel part of the the complex. (The hotel is split into 2 parts. Suites, in the OGB part, and a higher rise I think 8 storeys). I even took a sleeping pill and that did not help!. On the bright side the food was fabulous.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank taylor12auckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2011

We stayed at The Heritage, Christchurch on the 8th and 9th of March 2010. Christchurch was the last stop on our 13 day self drive road trip in New Zealand. The Heritage was the perfect hotel to mark the end of our road trip as it reminds oneself of the comforts of home.

The Heritage is in an unbeatable location housed in a corner of Cathedral Square. The hotel is made up of two buildings arranged in an “L” shape in the corner of Cathedral Square is a 5 storey Victorian styled building that contains the one, two and three bedroom suites, the gym and fitness facilities, the day spa and the restaurant. In an adjoining, more modern building, spread over 11 floors is the main hotel containing the hotel rooms in various configurations. Valet parking is available at the front of the hotel (at an extra charge - $20 a day). The service was prompt and courteous. As we travelled as a family, four adults shared 1 room and we were given a deluxe room on the 10th floor with 2 queen beds.

The room was generously sized and contemporarily decorated in shades of pastel green. The room handled comfortably four adults and their suitcases without much fuss. Apart from the 2 queen sized beds, the room also contained a large wardrobe (with ironing board, iron, and dressing gowns), two armchairs around a circular table and a TV cabinet with a built in bar fridge (with mini bar) and tea/coffee making facilities. The bathroom was also generously sized and functional with a large marble vanity and a full sized bath/shower. (Special thanks and mention goes to the housekeeping staff for noticing that four adults were occupying the room and for leaving extra toiletries and towels – very thoughtful and much appreciated!!!). The view from our window was of the back lane of the hotel (ie unfortunately not overlooking Cathedral Square) but as we were in one of the taller buildings in Christchurch, we could see all the way to the base of the mountains and towards the Pacific. At night, the night lights was picturesque and interesting. The only complaint I had with the room was the TV. It was a 34cm Panasonic CRT set that was about 15 years old. I remember my only CRT computer monitor from 10 years ago was larger than the TV!!! Surely (as with many of the motels/hotels we have stayed during this trip) Heritage can look at investing and upgrading to LCD TVs which would just top off the whole room nicely and really give it the 4 ½ star feel which it deserves.

As previously mentioned, the location of the hotel is unbeatable – located in a quiet corner of Cathedral Square. It is within walking distance to all major attractions within Christchurch CBD eg River Avon, Christchurch Casino, Tram, Bridge of Remembrance and also many fine restaurants.

All in all, The Heritage, Christchurch is befitting of its 4+ star rating as the rooms are sizable, clean, well maintained with all the mod cons. The hotel staff were courteous and helpful and were always prompt (with the valet parking).

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amby_C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeritageHotelsNZ, General Manager at Heritage Christchurch, responded to this review, February 9, 2011
Dear Amby_C,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your comments and I'm happy to hear you enjoyed your stay! Regarding the TV's, we agree and are currently in the process of replacing them throughout the hotel over the coming months, with all to be replaced by the end of the year.

Thanks again and I hope we can welcome you back to Christchurch in the future.

Kind regards,
Gary Jarvis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crewe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2011

The hotel is in a great central location on the square. We were lucky enough to be in the Old Government biulding which has amazing features. The room we had in this building was classed as a suite with everything you could wish for including a washer dryer, which came in very useful. All the staff were very friendly and helpful with Hamish on reception deserving particular praise. The restaurant served good food but had a limited choice for vegetarians.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nichola015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.6 mi away
The George Christchurch
The George Christchurch
#6 of 144 in Christchurch
1,301 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
#15 of 144 in Christchurch
1,733 reviews
0.1 mi away
Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Chateau on the Park - Christchurch, a DoubleTree by Hilton
1.3 mi away
Merivale Manor
Merivale Manor
#3 of 144 in Christchurch
611 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rydges Latimer Christchurch Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heritage Christchurch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heritage Christchurch

Property: Heritage Christchurch
Address: 28 - 30 Cathedral Square, Christchurch 8001, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Christchurch
#6 Business Hotel in Christchurch
#7 Family Hotel in Christchurch
#7 Luxury Hotel in Christchurch
#18 Romantic Hotel in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Heritage Christchurch 4.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Christchurch is a long way from the Mediterranean - nevertheless, the opulence of an Italian High Renaissance Palazzo awaits you at the Heritage Christchurch. Designed by Joseph Clark Maddison and opened in 1913, the hotel is listed as a category one building on the Historic Places Trust Register, reflecting its status as a building of national significance. The hotel's grand design is fitting: after all, Christchurch is regarded as the Garden City, and is regarded internationally for its culture and refinement. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Heritage Christchurch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heritage Christchurch Hotel Christchurch
Christchurch Heritage Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing