We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (426)
Filter reviews
426 results
Traveler rating
213
138
48
17
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
213
138
48
17
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews swimming pool motor lodge hagley park bit dated city centre stay there again south island single bed stayed here for one night studio room free wifi comfortable beds motel nz kitchenette units chch
Filter
Updating list...
371 - 376 of 426 reviews
Reviewed December 25, 2009

Am staying here at the moment and am so impressed by the hotel and by Brian and Penny who run it, that I had to write a review immediately! The owners Brian and Penny were so welcoming and friendly, and their information pack in the room is really comprehensive - the best I've ever come across.
The room is very spacious, with a sofa and a kitchen unit, along with a table and chairs, all of which were a bonus as we were just expecting a bed, bathroom and tv! Everything is spotlessly clean, and the place is nice and quiet. There is a good looking swimming pool available, and a very handy laundry room. It's a short walk from lots of restaurants and the centre of town.
Really cannot recommend this highly enough. Complete bargain. Only sad that we are leaving tomorrow!

Date of stay: December 2009
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fellrain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2009

Excellent location. Walking distance to city centre. We stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment. Very spacious, very clean and comfortable. Great showers, big kitchenette that has everything you could possibly need. This room also has a lovely outdoor courtyard.
Great place to base yourself when staying in Christchurch. Penny and Brian are fantastic hosts and will go out their way to help you with anything they can. Will definitely come again.

Date of stay: November 2009
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emmbenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2009

My family and I recently visited Christchurch, New Zealand for my son's wedding. Our extended family and friends arrived from different parts of Australia to gather at Camelot Motor Lodge.
We were welcomed by Brian and Penny who own and run their beautiful lodge and they continued to offer us very warm attention throughout the week we stayed.
The spacious apartments suited us well and we enjoyed visiting each others rooms and there was plenty of space for us all to relax and catch up.
The beautifully maintained rose gardens feature highly throughout the grounds and everywhere you looked was picture postcard perfect!
Although we all had a wonderful time in Christchurch, the highlight of our trip was the time spent together at Camelot Motor Lodge enjoying the hospitality of Brian and Penny.
Thank you so much. We will return........
Sally Keegan
Sydney, Australia

Date of stay: November 2009
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sassk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2009

Very convenient to the city centre and freshchoice supermarket is just around the corner, a cafe beside this motel and pharmacies, fast food restaurants are about 2mins drive away as well. Brian and Penny are real friendly and we are glad our first and last stay are scheduled to this motel. We are able to cook in this motel on the first day we reach christchurch.

Date of stay: November 2009
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dancingkueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2009

We run a tour company for people with disabilities and when every we are in Christchurch we use the Camelot, Penny and Brian are the best hosts anyone could wish for. The rooms are well appointed and with its close proximity to the city and restaurants this is the perfect place to stay. Their Visitor Information and activity booking section means they can arrange every thing from a rental car to a parachute experience. 10 out of 10 to Penny and Brian and all at the Camelot.
Tony & Sherry
Platypus Leisure Tours

Date of stay: January 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thelostkiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews