We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor by design and attitude”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Camelot Motor Lodge
Ranked #66 of 146 Hotels in Christchurch
Reviewed December 21, 2012 via mobile

Small rooms... one room is virtually open without doors
Age old equipments, designs, interior and even old style hot plate
Two taps with separate hot and cold connection- how the hell am I suppose to mix it.... My child's hand literally burned .
Hotel was being repainted and wooden support all over compromising privacy.
Cable wasn't working but thankfully owner wasn't kind to reduce 20 dollars of my Bill and lend some DVD
Look put for pictures of the room

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank abhishek15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PennyPie, Owner at Camelot Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded December 26, 2012

Thanks for staying with us but it seems we could not satisfy you on any front which is such a shame as we get such positive feedback on our great complex which we take such pride in.
The two bedroom two bathroom apartment you stayed in is a super spacious two storey unit with huge lounge, dining room and kitchen and the bedrooms have triple sheeting on all beds and the apartment is newly refurbished except for the bathrooms. The hot plate you mention has 4 elements and belongs on the top of a near new stove in a near new kitchen. After looking at the pictures that you took of the basins ,which incidentally have a plug in the picture which all our other guests use to put in the sink and mix the water from the hot and cold taps to get warm water, I think maybe you need to really only stay in 5 star properties and not choose a character property such as ours. We pride ourselves on our cleanliness which speaks for itself by all the prior reviews and we pride ourselves on our excellent customer service and we have an outstanding attitude to all our guests and always go the extra mile.
As we were all affected in the earthquakes and have ongoing issues to deal with in our businesses, it is sad to have a guest who could not accept the fact that we are doing our best to complete maintenance work in the shortest possible time to cause the least inconvenience to our incoming guests. Our guest wifi is free and will continue to be and we are sorry that this guest had an issue with the cable TV as the same day we were upgrading the wifi connection it affected our cable TV also. Christchurch is a great city to visit and the Camelot is a great place to stay but maybe not for you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (406)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

186 - 192 of 406 reviews

Reviewed December 18, 2012

We had the pleasure of staying here for 6.5 weeks while our house was having Earthquake repairs. Penny and Brian truly made our family feel so welcome as it was our home for such a long time. Nothing was ever a problem. We had free wifi and free laundry facilities since we were long term which was a godsend.
We stayed in a 2 bedroom unit and it was very spacious and had everything we needed to make our stay very comfortable.
It has a fabulous location with so many wonderful eateries so close....Spagalimis Pizza, Thai, Chinese, Bar and restaurant next door, Service Station and a Liquor Store across the road.
DVD library in the office was handy when I had a sick daughter home from school.
The kids also loved the pool and spa.
The housekeeping staff were also so lovely and I got to know them really well during our stay and they did a great job with cleaning our unit.
Thanks for making our stay so lovely Penny and Brian....Merry Xmas and Happy 2013!!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank K-JCoops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2012

We arrived at 11.30pm, and had to use after hours checkin, which was very efficient. The buildings had scaffolding around them. Good location. Found the fire engine red curtains in the bedroom off-putting, could not get the front door to lock, and the wifi was tragically slow. Staff were very sorry in the morning when we told them. We left about 8 so were only there a few hours so maybe not the best sample, but the camelot theme was less important than functioning wifi to me.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DrDebTheTravelDoctor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2012

Stayed two nights in this good clean convenient motor lodge. Free wifi was good, the staff were very obliging and friendly. The Room was spacious, comfortable, clean and quiet. The location was good with plenty of pub and eating options nearby and walking distance to the centre of Christchurch. I would be happy to stay hear again.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
Thank notafussytraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2012

We stayed in a lovely, large one bedroom apartment for 6 nights. Brian, Penny and all the staff were very accomodating and friendly. The lounge furniture and bed were very comfortable and it felt like "home". The apartment was very clean and nicely decorated. The free wireless internet had an excellent connection. Our apartment was quiet and in a great location. We did not have a car and were able to walk everywhere we wanted to go. Restaurants are close by and a supermarket is about a 15 minute walk. The kitchen was well equipped. If we ever come back to Christchurch, we will definitely stay here again. We had a couple of special requests and Brian and Penny were very happy to help us. We really enjoyed our visit to Christchurch and hope to return some day.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Genni B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2012

We were here twice on our recent trip; it was our base for exploring Christchurch and then ten days later our last overnight accommodation before coming home. The first tiem there were stand-in managers, the second time the proprietors, Penny and Briean, were on duty. Both times people were friendly and chatty, they made us feel at home there. Their washing facilities are good: For 4 dollars I was able to wash and get suitcase dry a large amount of clothes. Very good location as well.

Room Tip: If you struggle to carry suitcases upstairs ask for a ground floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2012

Recently remodeled after earthquake, the decor is old english country with all new furnishings. Very charming. The beds and pillows were very comfortable, a modern bath with little kitchenette also very modern. Flat screen tv with dvd player, and they offer complimentary movies from the office. Penny and Brian were extremelly gratious hosts that couldn't do enough for us. Since our room was on the 2nd floor Brian even helped with our bags. We would stay there again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank phillip c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.1 mi away
Ashford Motor Lodge
Ashford Motor Lodge
#43 of 146 in Christchurch
139 reviews
0.1 mi away
Colonial Inn Motel
Colonial Inn Motel
#70 of 146 in Christchurch
66 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pavilions Hotel
Pavilions Hotel
#13 of 146 in Christchurch
653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Chateau on the Park - Christchurch, a DoubleTree by Hilton
0.1 mi away
Amross Court Motor Lodge
Amross Court Motor Lodge
#2 of 146 in Christchurch
743 reviews
0.4 mi away
136 On Bealey Motel
136 On Bealey Motel
#86 of 146 in Christchurch
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camelot Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camelot Motor Lodge

Address: 28 Papanui Road | Merivale, Christchurch 8014, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#26 Family Hotel in Christchurch
#43 Luxury Hotel in Christchurch
Price Range: $81 - $145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Camelot Motor Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A castle-like 34 unit motel complex in the heart of Christchurch, set amongst beautiful rose gardens with swimming pool, spa pool, BBQs and children's play area. Experience award winning service and personal attention from Penny and Brian, AA Supreme Host of the Year Winners plus enjoy the uniqueness that is Camelot, from the spacious studios and suites to the extra large two story two bedroom Apartments and four bedroom Lodge. Check us out now! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Camelot Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Camelot Motor Hotel Christchurch
Best Western Christchurch
Best Western Camelot Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing