We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”
Review of Argyle on the Park

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Argyle on the Park
Ranked #23 of 144 Hotels in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
colorado
1 review
“Great location”
Reviewed March 25, 2010

Rooms very spacious with kitchenettes. Staff was helpful. Stayed here for three nights and was great location to leave from for touring. A rental car was helpful to get around. Didnt see many cabs. Airport was 10 minute drive.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ihntvrywhr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    94
    25
    6
    1
See reviews for
69
118
17
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Lake Conjola
1 review
Reviewed March 23, 2010

We were very pleased with the accommodation as it was very clean & comfortable. The owners were very helpful & friendly would recommend to anyone to stay there. The location was very handy & easy to find.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank di602
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2010

Close proximity to all amenities and full information provided for attractions. Staff were really helpful and friendly. Premises were very clean and tidy. The location gives easy access to the city and other entertainment. Excellent value for money. Minimal noise from traffic and a beautiful park directly accross the road. Will look forward to my next visit.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank megabite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2010

I can honestly say that this was the best budget motel/hotel we have visited. My husband and I took his parents to Chrustchurch for 4 days and it was great. The Argyle is situated across the park (about 15-20 mins walk from the main centre). The parents managed the walk every day!! The Argyle is clean, light, has all amenities, with very friendly owners who could not do enough for us. It is on a main road, but the rooms were quiet and comfortable. Fantastic value for money.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DebbsSouthampton_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Level Contributor
26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2010

I have visited NZ, and specifically Christchurch, five times since 2002. I have always stayed at the Argyle on the Park. Bruce and Maggie Grant keep a very neat and tidy operation. As I have continued to come back, they have welcomed me as one would a friend, though their hospitality was as gratious on the first visit. The motel is convenient to the train station, about a 15 - 20 minute walk, though a courtesy shuttle is available, the bus lines, about a half a block walk to catch the city buses out to the Riccarton Mall or in to the CBD and the bus exchange from which you can access the entire city, and the airport, about a 15- 20 minute shuttle ride about NZD$20. This fails to mention the fact that Hadley Park is literally across the road, Deans Ave with all of its walking, running and cycling trails and open spaces that are filled with all sorts of sport activities.

The one negative for all of the convenience is the proximity to the traffic. Recent double glazing of the windows has eliminated all but the noisiest muffers and the Christchurch authorities continue to try to get a handle on the boy racers who zip around the city on Fri and Sat night. It obviously has not bothered me significantly,otherwise I would have found another place to stay years ago.

The cleanliness, great service, great location, great value and superior hosts far outweighs any draw backs.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NZfan02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
104 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2010

The best thing about this hotel is the exceedingly charming and helpful nature of the proprietors, who are the ideal hosts. The room was comfortable and provided sufficient space for my wife and two teenage children. It is a very pleasant 10-15 minute walk across the park to the CBD, ideal by day but possibly not so good at night. There are a number of eating opportunities nearby however.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank melbvictory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, KY
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2009

Three of us stayed here for 3 nights after to driving to Christchurch from the West Coast. Though the room isn't anything fancy, it met our needs in every way. It's location makes it easy to get to and an easy starting out spot for daytrips by car. If you don't mind the nice walk through Hagley Park, it's also a convenient spot for visiting the sights in Christchurch. We would recommend the Botanic Gardens (the coffee shop there has the best coffee in NZ) and the Arts Centre. Though check-out was at 10am, we were allowed to leave our car and luggage on-site while we spent a few more hours in lovely Christchurch before having to catch our next flight. No noise from any "boy racers" on Sunday through Tuesday night.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maddog06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.2 mi away
Chateau on the Park - Christchurch, a DoubleTree by Hilton
0.4 mi away
Ashleigh Court Motel
Ashleigh Court Motel
#35 of 144 in Christchurch
263 reviews
1.3 mi away
Quest Christchurch
Quest Christchurch
#16 of 144 in Christchurch
396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Merivale Manor
Merivale Manor
#3 of 144 in Christchurch
612 reviews
0.1 mi away
Parkview on Hagley
Parkview on Hagley
#58 of 144 in Christchurch
141 reviews
1.1 mi away
Amross Court Motor Lodge
Amross Court Motor Lodge
#2 of 144 in Christchurch
698 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Argyle on the Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Argyle on the Park

Property: Argyle on the Park
Address: 145 Deans Avenue | Riccarton, Christchurch 8011, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#13 Best Value Hotel in Christchurch
#32 Romantic Hotel in Christchurch
#38 Family Hotel in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Argyle on the Park 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Argyle on the Park motel. With its unique location right across Hagley Park in the middle of the City, it makes it ideal for travelers wanting to explore Christchurch. For those who wish to catch TranzAlpine or Coastal Pacific trains we provide Free Transfer to and from Christchurch Railway Station. The motel has twelve fully self-contained units. Each unit has full Kitchens, Heat Pumps, Double glazing, Sky TV and Free WiFi. Riccarton Westfield Shopping Mall, many restaurants and cafes are within walking distance. It is also just few minutes' drive from Christchurch famous HornCastle Arena and Addington Raceway & Events Centre. If you are looking for stay in Christchurch then look no further! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Argyle on the Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Argyle On The Park Hotel Christchurch
Argyle On The Park Christchurch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing