We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient location, basic accomodation”
Review of Argyle on the Park

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Argyle on the Park
Ranked #22 of 146 Hotels in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 8, 2014

The motel/hotel is a 10-minute taxi drive from the airport, and fairly close to the city. Conveniently located next to a very large park for a little walk, and on the other side by a street with is extensively packed with a wide variety of bars and restaurants.
No breakfast served or available, very limited service although not unfriendly. Not exactly cheap by international standards but that is true for the whole of New Zealand.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CedricVandermeulen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (264)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

168 - 174 of 264 reviews

Reviewed December 7, 2013

The furniture in the room may be more than 10 years' old but if you factored in the friendliness and helpfulness of the proprietors, Bruce and Maggie and the spotless room condition, this to me makes a good stay.

The rooms may have seen better days but the kitchen was well equipped with all types of utensils, crockeries, glasses, etc. Loved the vintage stove as it reminded me of my university days back in the UK. Another highlight is that the TV came with a cable station which has about 50 channels; something which even some of the bigger hotels in NZ did not provide. Had a blast chilling over a glass of wine while on a movie marathon.

Most importantly, the proprietors were extremely helpful. Bruce was kind enough to pick us up from the railway station while Maggie gave our rented car company staff an earful when they were late to pick us up.

The motel is close to many good eateries, Western, Chinese, Korean, Nando's and Indian. The things at the convenient store round the corner (somewhere near the Indian restaurant) of the motel however is extremely pricey. So buy only what you really need.

There is no free wi-fi here.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 3Gorgez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2013

We stayed here twice in Nov 2013. The rooms are very good for this price with a separate bedroom and kitchenette. Good furniture and a comfortable bed in a clean unit. A nice walk through the Botanical Gardens to the town center, particularly along the river. Also great meals close by at the pub on the corner, try the shared plates. First drop off on the airport bus and last pick-up before the train station, for us. On our first stay we were in the front room and the traffic noise was a bit annoying. I wouldn't stay in this room again although all other motels in this area would also suffer from this problem. Managers said it is only a problem on the weekends. Second stay was in a room towards the back and was much better.

Room Tip: Choose a room towards the back to reduce road noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VicAlan07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2013

We spent 5 nights at the Argyle and can highly recommend it. We were impressed that, for the same price as many other 'studio rooms' at other motels, we got a separate bedroom, thus enabling one of us to go to bed and the other to continue watching TV. The lounge area made it easy to entertain a guest and the small kitchen table made eating takeaway more pleasant than just perching on the side of a bed as we've done at other motels! Bruce & Maggie were very friendly and helpful. Despite being on Deans Avenue, near Riccarton Road, we weren't disturbed by traffic noise. (We stayed in Room 5 near the back of the property.)

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mims-memories
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2013

A great, friendly, helpful stay! Very close to the hospital and town centre. A lovely room including separate kitchen, bathroom, lounge and bedroom. Fantastic shower and fluffy towels. Wonderful king size bed and delicious breakfast brought to our room. Wi-Fi provided and a spa pool available although unfortunately we didn't have time to try. A very reasonable tariff. Hosts Bruce and Maggie were very welcoming!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stark013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2013

Although a little hard to get to from the north due to the road layout, my wife and I found this motel to very welcoming and helpful. Advice on the state of Christchurch after the earthquakes of 2011 and 2012 was accurate and very easy to use. Local eating places were abundant and the hosts seemed to be able to advise on suitable meals to suit our tastes for the night.

We had driven in from Akaroa via Pigeon Bay and the hosts knew that route well, asking how we had liked it. They seemed very genuinely interested in our travels and were surprised that a local guide in Akaroa claimed that the road did not exist

All up, Argyle on the Park will be a choice the next time I visit Christchurch.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gnuthad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Stayed for one night and was very satisfied with the cleanliness and the service provided. A leather sofa was provided in the room, together with comfortable beds. The owner even provided a very welcome bottle of milk on arrival

Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank B0B_M_T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.2 mi away
Chateau on the Park - Christchurch, a DoubleTree by Hilton
1.4 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
#11 of 146 in Christchurch
1,994 reviews
1.2 mi away
Merivale Manor
Merivale Manor
#3 of 146 in Christchurch
666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Quest Christchurch
Quest Christchurch
#16 of 146 in Christchurch
424 reviews
1.2 mi away
Ibis Christchurch
Ibis Christchurch
#35 of 146 in Christchurch
943 reviews
1.1 mi away
Amross Court Motor Lodge
Amross Court Motor Lodge
#2 of 146 in Christchurch
744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Argyle on the Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Argyle on the Park

Address: 145 Deans Avenue | Riccarton, Christchurch 8011, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Christchurch
#32 Romantic Hotel in Christchurch
#38 Family Hotel in Christchurch
Price Range: $81 - $111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Argyle on the Park 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Argyle on the Park motel. With its unique location right across Hagley Park in the middle of the City, it makes it ideal for travelers wanting to explore Christchurch. For those who wish to catch TranzAlpine or Coastal Pacific trains we provide Free Transfer to and from Christchurch Railway Station. The motel has twelve fully self-contained units. Each unit has full Kitchens, Heat Pumps, Double glazing, Sky TV and Free WiFi. Riccarton Westfield Shopping Mall, many restaurants and cafes are within walking distance. It is also just few minutes' drive from Christchurch famous HornCastle Arena and Addington Raceway & Events Centre. If you are looking for stay in Christchurch then look no further! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Argyle on the Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Argyle On The Park Hotel Christchurch
Argyle On The Park Christchurch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing