We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Easy location”
Review of Argyle on the Park

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Argyle on the Park
Ranked #22 of 146 Hotels in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Stayed here twice for one night. Easy to find with parking available at hotel and centrally located for walking into the city, about 20 minutes across the park or head the other way and you get to the Westfield shopping mall at Riccarton. Hot tub was not working when we visited which was slightly disappointing, as was the additional charge for wifi access but the rooms were fine and comfortable.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Derbyfan21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (252)
There are newer reviews for Argyle on the Park
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

168 - 174 of 252 reviews

Reviewed May 8, 2013

I just popped in while driving by to get a room for the night. The hosts were very friendly and nothing was too much trouble. Grounds were very attractive (great for families). The room was very nice, tidy, clean and very comfortable. It certainly had everything I needed. The bed was very comfortable as well. I'll certainly be back the next time.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PPatel1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2013

Brilliant accommodation in Christchurch, a short walk from anywhere, particularly the newly lively Riccarton. Rooms are what you would expect, very well maintained and clean with everything you would need. Depending on the time of year, the heater does come in handy. I have to mention the owners - great fun, helpful and can't do enough for you.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2013

Easily accessible by bus (Red Bus Metro 3), half hourly from the airport. We stayed here at the start and finish of our NZ visit. Very helpful owners. Good location, quiet even though it is near a busy roundabout. Easy access to the botanical gardens and town through the park. Large comfortable room with fully equipped kitchen. Ample parking.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Stayed here for one night last week and it was great. I was worried that it would be noisy but the double glazing did its'job well and I had a very peaceful night's sleep. The room decor is a bit tired and dated but the furnishings are fresh, clean and modern and plenty of space. I had the cooked breakfast and that was great. Happy to recommend.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fsplk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

We stayed here twice in our recent trip to NZ. It is ideally located for a city property.It can be easily accessed by road and its closeness to the centre enables you to leave your car at the hotel and walk through the Botanic gardens to the centre in only 10 minutes. You can then easily drive out of the City without getting held up in traffic or getting lost.

You get a seperate living area and kitchenette. Rooms are large and clean and have Sky TV. The bathrooms are a bit outdated but are clean and the shower was adequate.

The owners are very helpful and will give advice on restaurants and things to do. They will also book taxis and airport shuttles for you if needed.

I would recommend staying here as it is good value for money and in an excellent position for downtown attractions and numerous local restaurants.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2013

We spent one night there. The room was well sized with a small kitchinette. The bathroom was very small as well and a little outdated. Apart from that, the bed, tv and furniture was brand new and very good. As it was our last night in New Zealand, we were really tired. Because of that we decided to have dinner in the room and watch a dvd after it. We had all we needed to do that.
People in the front desk was very helpful, as in every place we visited in NZ.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hernan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.2 mi away
Chateau on the Park - Christchurch, a DoubleTree by Hilton
1.2 mi away
Merivale Manor
Merivale Manor
#2 of 146 in Christchurch
634 reviews
1.3 mi away
Quest Christchurch
Quest Christchurch
#16 of 146 in Christchurch
414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
#12 of 146 in Christchurch
1,896 reviews
1.1 mi away
Pavilions Hotel
Pavilions Hotel
#13 of 146 in Christchurch
623 reviews
1.1 mi away
Amross Court Motor Lodge
Amross Court Motor Lodge
#3 of 146 in Christchurch
723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Argyle on the Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Argyle on the Park

Address: 145 Deans Avenue | Riccarton, Christchurch 8011, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#10 Best Value Hotel in Christchurch
#32 Romantic Hotel in Christchurch
#38 Family Hotel in Christchurch
Price Range: $88 - $120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Argyle on the Park 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Argyle on the Park motel. With its unique location right across Hagley Park in the middle of the City, it makes it ideal for travelers wanting to explore Christchurch. For those who wish to catch TranzAlpine or Coastal Pacific trains we provide Free Transfer to and from Christchurch Railway Station. The motel has twelve fully self-contained units. Each unit has full Kitchens, Heat Pumps, Double glazing, Sky TV and Free WiFi. Riccarton Westfield Shopping Mall, many restaurants and cafes are within walking distance. It is also just few minutes' drive from Christchurch famous HornCastle Arena and Addington Raceway & Events Centre. If you are looking for stay in Christchurch then look no further! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Argyle on the Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Argyle On The Park Hotel Christchurch
Argyle On The Park Christchurch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing