We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Look nowhere else in Christchurch” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Argyle on the Park

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Argyle on the Park
Ranked #32 of 148 Hotels in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
126 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Look nowhere else in Christchurch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2013

Brilliant accommodation in Christchurch, a short walk from anywhere, particularly the newly lively Riccarton. Rooms are what you would expect, very well maintained and clean with everything you would need. Depending on the time of year, the heater does come in handy. I have to mention the owners - great fun, helpful and can't do enough for you.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    84
    24
    6
    1
See reviews for
62
103
16
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Lymington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013

Easily accessible by bus (Red Bus Metro 3), half hourly from the airport. We stayed here at the start and finish of our NZ visit. Very helpful owners. Good location, quiet even though it is near a busy roundabout. Easy access to the botanical gardens and town through the park. Large comfortable room with fully equipped kitchen. Ample parking.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
99 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

Stayed here for one night last week and it was great. I was worried that it would be noisy but the double glazing did its'job well and I had a very peaceful night's sleep. The room decor is a bit tired and dated but the furnishings are fresh, clean and modern and plenty of space. I had the cooked breakfast and that was great. Happy to recommend.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fsplk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camberley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

We stayed here twice in our recent trip to NZ. It is ideally located for a city property.It can be easily accessed by road and its closeness to the centre enables you to leave your car at the hotel and walk through the Botanic gardens to the centre in only 10 minutes. You can then easily drive out of the City without getting held up in traffic or getting lost.

You get a seperate living area and kitchenette. Rooms are large and clean and have Sky TV. The bathrooms are a bit outdated but are clean and the shower was adequate.

The owners are very helpful and will give advice on restaurants and things to do. They will also book taxis and airport shuttles for you if needed.

I would recommend staying here as it is good value for money and in an excellent position for downtown attractions and numerous local restaurants.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
94 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

We spent one night there. The room was well sized with a small kitchinette. The bathroom was very small as well and a little outdated. Apart from that, the bed, tv and furniture was brand new and very good. As it was our last night in New Zealand, we were really tired. Because of that we decided to have dinner in the room and watch a dvd after it. We had all we needed to do that.
People in the front desk was very helpful, as in every place we visited in NZ.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hernan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

Argyle on the Park is well maintained, well located, average prices motel close to the city center. Owners are very friendly, helpfull. Rooms are clean, large, great beds, no noise from outside. I can highly recommend !

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SkyTravelPRG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2013

The room is small. The bed in the living room is the only other bed available. It takes up most of the living area. Bathroom very small. Kitchen small. But they did let us check in even after midnight. No free wifi. It is right on the park so that was the good part.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank spideymd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.1 mi away
Parkview on Hagley
Parkview on Hagley
#68 of 148 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ashleigh Court Motel
Ashleigh Court Motel
#26 of 148 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
1.4 mi away
BreakFree on Cashel
BreakFree on Cashel
#29 of 148 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Merivale Manor
Merivale Manor
#4 of 148 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 556 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chateau on the Park - Christchurch, a DoubleTree by Hilton
0.9 mi away
Amore Motor Lodge
Amore Motor Lodge
#15 of 148 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Argyle on the Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Argyle on the Park

Property: Argyle on the Park
Address: 145 Deans Avenue | Riccarton, Christchurch 8011, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#32 Romantic Hotel in Christchurch
#38 Family Hotel in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Argyle on the Park 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Argyle on the Park motel. With its unique location right across Hagley Park in the middle of the City, it makes it ideal for travelers wanting to explore Christchurch. For those who wish to catch TranzAlpine or Coastal Pacific trains we provide Free Transfer to and from Christchurch Railway Station. The motel has twelve fully self-contained units. Each unit has full Kitchens, Heat Pumps, Double glazing, Sky TV and Free WiFi. Riccarton Westfield Shopping Mall, many restaurants and cafes are within walking distance. It is also just few minutes' drive from Christchurch famous HornCastle Arena and Addington Raceway & Events Centre. If you are looking for stay in Christchurch then look no further! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Argyle on the Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Argyle On The Park Hotel Christchurch
Argyle On The Park Christchurch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing