We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Continues to be excellent value”
Review of Argyle on the Park

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Argyle on the Park
Ranked #23 of 144 Hotels in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Level Contributor
26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Continues to be excellent value”
Reviewed March 26, 2012

I have stayed here multiple times. Good value, helpful hosts, clean, comfortable and great location for taking the train, bus or getting to the airport. Walking distance to the Riccarton Mall, or the bus stop, as well as Hagley Park. Road noise is buffered by closing the double glazed windows and turning on the fan that is provided. Much better than before.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NZfan02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    94
    25
    6
    1
See reviews for
69
118
17
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2012

There was nothing wrong with this motel at all but felt a strong 3 stars was about right. Very close to the park, and a few restaurants and shops in walking distance which is a big plus....but Deans Ave the main road is rather busy so we could hear the traffic a bit too much for my liking so almost too popular a location. There are dozens of motels on quieter roads in CHC if that is an issue for you though.
Friendly owners and central location means I would recommend, but only for a quick stay. The bathroom and kitchenette basic but perfectly functional so great for one/two nights. No dramas but also no wow factor. Decent though and clean.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonKarenH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wanganui
1 review
Reviewed March 2, 2012

A great motel with plenty of room. My mother and I stayed a night and appreciated the separate bedroom. Close to Hagley Park with lovely walks. Very friendly hosts who provided good suggestions for sightseeing. Thankyou.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Viv P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
york, UK
Level Contributor
85 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2012

Located a short way from downtown Christchurch, which isn't a bad thing considering most of this area is currently off limits. The decor in the rooms does feel slightly dated, but everything is clean and they contain all the amenities you'd need for a short stay. The staff are very friendly and were on hand to offer advice on where to eat and buy food and supplies for our trip.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xsimx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
232 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2012

Christchurch is suffering from a decline in tourism because of the earthquakes, but it is certainly worth a stopover and good as a base of operations. The Argyle is run by a family who really go out of their way to be helpful. They can arrange transportation, have good recommendations for dinners and the rooms are comfortable and well furnished. The motel is in Riccarton which has not been affected by the shake rattle and roll. It overlooks Hagley Park, worth a visit. The motel does not provide breakfast but there is a grocery store around the corner. The room is fully furnished so there is china and cutlery to use for breakfast, as well as coffee.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lanxlad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2012

Our room was spotlessly clean and very spacious - a benefit of an older building. Delightful managers who couldn't do enough to help us. It's just across the road from Hagely park and there are great restaurant just around the corner. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jules P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 27, 2012

This hotel has everything you need - the rooms are like apartments with separate bedrooms and kitchen and living area- there is heating if u get cold and over 50 tv channels to keep u entertained if you decide to stay in! (it was cold when we went) They have an enclosed spa and barbecue facilities. The hotel is very close to the city centre - under 10 mins walk and Riccarton centre is just around the corner. Also the proprietor Bruce is awesome - happy to help u with any questions u may have. Loved our stay in Jan 2012. Thanks Bruce!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Greendayfan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.2 mi away
Chateau on the Park - Christchurch, a DoubleTree by Hilton
0.4 mi away
Ashleigh Court Motel
Ashleigh Court Motel
#35 of 144 in Christchurch
263 reviews
1.3 mi away
Quest Christchurch
Quest Christchurch
#16 of 144 in Christchurch
396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Merivale Manor
Merivale Manor
#3 of 144 in Christchurch
612 reviews
0.1 mi away
Parkview on Hagley
Parkview on Hagley
#58 of 144 in Christchurch
141 reviews
1.1 mi away
Amross Court Motor Lodge
Amross Court Motor Lodge
#2 of 144 in Christchurch
698 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Argyle on the Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Argyle on the Park

Property: Argyle on the Park
Address: 145 Deans Avenue | Riccarton, Christchurch 8011, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#13 Best Value Hotel in Christchurch
#32 Romantic Hotel in Christchurch
#38 Family Hotel in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Argyle on the Park 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Argyle on the Park motel. With its unique location right across Hagley Park in the middle of the City, it makes it ideal for travelers wanting to explore Christchurch. For those who wish to catch TranzAlpine or Coastal Pacific trains we provide Free Transfer to and from Christchurch Railway Station. The motel has twelve fully self-contained units. Each unit has full Kitchens, Heat Pumps, Double glazing, Sky TV and Free WiFi. Riccarton Westfield Shopping Mall, many restaurants and cafes are within walking distance. It is also just few minutes' drive from Christchurch famous HornCastle Arena and Addington Raceway & Events Centre. If you are looking for stay in Christchurch then look no further! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Argyle on the Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Argyle On The Park Hotel Christchurch
Argyle On The Park Christchurch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing