We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cosy well designed rooms”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Belmont Motor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Belmont Motor Inn
Ranked #34 of 144 Hotels in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Cosy well designed rooms”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2013

Our first stop in nz arriving at 1.30am we had our keys left for us which we were so Appreciative of. The rooms are clean, roomy and had all the necessary amenities. The kitchenette was well equipped. The only fault was the damp musky smell of the room. We put it down to perhaps it been freshly painted?

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    30
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
27
36
5
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

We arrived late into Christchurch with no accommodation booking and found the Belmont. The owner was so friendly and went out of his way to help us. The room was spacious, furnished beautifully and had the most comfortable bed I've slept in during my time so far in NZ! The room had all of the amenities you need including microwave, stovetop, fridge and cooking utensils. Car parking is onsite and right at your doorstep and the location of the hotel is central and easy to get in and out of Christchurch. Excellent value for money and highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NickyG411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

Had a lovely stay in the Belmont. The room was spacious, modern, and was exceptionally clean. The bed was comfy and my room had a lovely balcony which caught the afternoon sun. Considering the great location, it was excellent value for money. I had a rental car and there was plenty of off street parking.
The hosts were very accommodating and friendly. I would recommend this motel to anyone looking for accommodation in Central Christchurch.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessica D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Level Contributor
160 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

Arrived late
David was so obliging
Had a tour of two rooms and both were lovely and well appointed
He even helped carry bags for us
We are happy and looking forward to a beautiful spa either before or after our visit to the casino for dinner
Yes we will be collected from our motel by the courtesy bus
Now that is service and all done with a smile

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deb t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wanaka, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

We recently stayed for two nights at the Belmont Motor Inn. The owners went out of their way to accommodate us in a very nice room. We enjoyed our stay and recommend this motel to anyone wanting to stay in Christcurch.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patearoa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberystwyth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

March, 2013 for 1 night. Really nice room and I was lucky to be taken in last minute as it was Easter Weekend and the whole of NZ was fully booked, do I was happy to find the room in great shape and clean! Very good TV, and firm bed but only 1 pillow per person so you may need a 2nd as mine seemed thin and very hard..I was on my own this time so I had the. 2nd this time.
The room cost $170 Per night which was steep, in my opinion, as I was expecting $ 100 ish from what I had seen the night before on the Internet, but put off booking as I was not sure if I would be able to get to Christchurch that day. Every Motel seemed to charge similar tariff's nearby although it is worth looking around. Top 10 holiday parks offer cheaper cabins / motel units although book out quickly, and most backpackers offer a private double room (some times with en suite) for 3/4 the price as a motel, despite the less glamorous surroundings. If you are here on work and work pat for everything then, fine, this place is great, but if you need Internet access24/7 then get. Double in the backpackers where they usually offer free wifi too...

So, yes... If you can afford a few nights are then you have a great place to stay but you can get cheaper elsewhere even the Ibis Hotel where free Wi-fi is available.

Fairly happy, but now I know I could have gotten more for less...

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hall5456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2013

We stayed at the Belmont when we visited Christchurch for four days in early March 2013. The rooms were clean and well furnished. We all slept well finding the beds very comfortable. Our rooms had a large balcony with ample late afternoon sun. The management were kind and efficient.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lisa8282
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.8 mi away
BreakFree on Cashel
BreakFree on Cashel
#29 of 144 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,498 reviews
1.6 mi away
Ashleigh Court Motel
Ashleigh Court Motel
#30 of 144 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
0.7 mi away
Milano Motor Lodge
Milano Motor Lodge
#50 of 144 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Admiral Motel
Admiral Motel
#25 of 144 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tuscana Motor Lodge
Tuscana Motor Lodge
#24 of 144 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
0.1 mi away
City Centre Motel
City Centre Motel
#28 of 144 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmont Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmont Motor Inn

Property: Belmont Motor Inn
Address: 172 Bealey Avenue, Christchurch 8013, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Luxury Hotel in Christchurch
#36 Romantic Hotel in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Belmont Motor Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Belmont Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Christchurch
Christchurch Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing